We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zed

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Zed to your Saves list
Hotel Zed
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3110 Douglas Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8Z 3K4, Canada (Burnside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Upgrade
Ranked #33 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Chilliwack, Canada
1 review
“Decent Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for the night when we came from out of town for a family emergency... I was greatly surprised when I got inside... from the outside it looks a little run down and sketchy but WOW when we opened the door it was bright and clean. The staff was amazing as we never made a reservation, they were very accommodating! They even allow pets here for a small fee per night. Thank you for making a very stressful trip a little easier!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    26
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
23
19
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms were very clean and comfortable; not luxurious, but awesome for the price. The hot tub was closed when we went, which was pretty disappointing. The free rental bikes are very useful and great (downtown was a short and nice bike ride away), and the van transport to to downtown is easy, quick, and convenient. I would stay here again and recommend this place for sure!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelzed, General Manager at Hotel Zed, responded to this review, 1 week ago
NSK93. Thanks for taking the time to review Hotel Zed. Glad you enjoyed some of our amenities. We are sorry the hotub was down for servicing while you were here. Hopefully you can come back again sometime and get the chance to enjoy it.

Chris Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to zed hotel for grandsons 10 th birthday. The hotel treated him like he was a rockstar. They were so kind couldn't do enough for us. The place has been remodeled in the 50 theme so all old fun from trying to type on typewriters to games room ping pong wii board games. A nice pool with water slide and great hottub The lobby feel like a friends living room with coffee on and great music playing. Best part of Victoria being at the hotel. Going back soon.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelzed, General Manager at Hotel Zed, responded to this review, 1 week ago
WOW! What a great review! Thank you so much. I appreciate you mentioning our staff as they work so hard to create a great experience for our guests. We really hope you do come back again soon!

Chris Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pretty authentic retro motel. Loved it.
Some rooms the heaters didn't work that well...but oh well it was just for the night and we didn't really care.
We booked two rooms for our extended family vacation to victoria. Our dog loved it and so did the baby. Would go back for more.
The mall across the street has a food court that has good food selection.

Room Tip: For visitors from USA, turn on your mobiles wifi calling and make free calls back to USA. The mall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelzed, General Manager at Hotel Zed, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hey Sandy, thanks for the great review! Glad you guys and your furry friends loved Hotel Zed. Hope to see you back here again sometime soon.

Chris Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tofino, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Took my two kids (boys: 8 and 10 years old) to visit Victoria, and we stayed at the Hotel Zed. They were ecstatic over the waterslide, and the 'rumpus room' under the front desk/ lobby area had a ping pong table and Wii system where they could enjoy some entertainment while I enjoyed a few quiet moments myself. The staff were extra friendly and helpful. The hot tub unfortunately had some issue where it was too hot to use, and the VW bus had broken down, so we had to bus into town on our own. Other than that, we loved our experience. The boys had never seen a typewriter or rotary phone so that was a neat perk! The location suited our 'shopping trip' needs, being directly across from Mayfair Mall, and on the main bus route (and arguably walking distance too if you feel like it) from downtown Victoria. I recommend it particularly for families/ kids. A fun and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelzed, General Manager at Hotel Zed, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thanks Andrea for taking the time to write such an awesome review! We definitely have lots for kids to do while they are staying here and it sounds like your little ones used it all. Sorry for the "hot" hotub. We are just trying to find the sweet spot with the temperature. The VW Bus was down for some service and I apologize for that. She is a beauty but requires a lot of tender loving care for sure!

We hope you guys will come back and enjoy Hotel Zed again!

Chris Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 4 nights in December 2014. We found that the check in was very smooth and the room was clean and comfortable. There is no coffee in the rooms but there is options for coffee and hot chocolate in the main lobby area.

We only had one issue in our room which was a rattle in the door due to people walking by or pressure changes in the room. The hotel should invest in weather stripping because i believe this will be an issue when there is a strong wind in the area.

There is currently a Diner under renovation in the lobby but it was not open as of my stay.

Stay: 4 Nights left on New Years Day

Ratings Out Of Ten

Cleanliness: 8
Comfort: 8
Location: 5
Amenities: 5
Value:8
Entertainment: N/A
Food: N/A

With the competitive room rate of 75 dollars per night we felt that that value of this hotel was very good. We did however feel that there is some areas for improvement:

1) There is not enough towels in the room

2) The door needs weather stripping.

3) The shower head is too low. I would suggest that your facility look into putting in adjustable shower heads so that the user could adjust the height.

4) The window above the closet allows someone to look directly into the room. I would suggest looking at putting a shutter over each of these windows. This would allow the user to have that window open for air circulation without having someone look inside.

5) The hotel needs to clarify their frequent stay program. When we asked about it there was an issue because we had booked online through Travelocity. This somehow would have invalidated us for their frequent stay program.

Overall we felt that this hotel is worth a stay especially by those on a budget.

Room Tip: Free Shuttle Downtown is a great option. Mayfair Shopping Mall is across the road. Ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelzed, General Manager at Hotel Zed, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear GR8. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the feedback so we can improve! Sorry about the rattle in the door. Weather stripping is definitely something we are working on to help with the seal. Our standard rooms with 2 beds are equipped with 4 bath towels. Hopefully all 4 were in your room. The shower head comment is a good one. We will see if we can do something about that. All of our 2 bedded rooms have a small rolling blind to cover that window you mention so not sure why you experienced that. As for the frequent stay card, we definitely will give you a stamp regardless of the way you booked. We will go over this procedure with our staff to make sure it doesn't happen again.

Hope to see you back!

Cheers
Chris Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

Hotel Zed is a refurbished, retro motel (and cottage). near downtown Victoria, across from Mayfair Mall. We stayed in the cottage which is located behind the main building. It was quiet, clean and comfortable. Furnished with 1950's or earlier decor it has 2 bedrooms, a kitchen with dining area, living room, porch with smoking area and a bathroom complete with claw footed tub/shower. It would be a great spot for two couples or a family with children. The kitchen is well appointment with stove, frig, microwave, toaster, etc. There are free bicycles for the use of guests, a small pool complete with waterslide, and a VW van used as the hotel shuttle. And the rates are very reasonable. A small cafe is being added to the site before summer.

Room Tip: Traveling as a group or family, want to do a bit of cooking, check out the cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelzed, General Manager at Hotel Zed, responded to this review, December 17, 2014
Hi Brenda, thanks for leaving a great review of Hotel Zed. It sounds like you had a chance to experience some of the great amenities we have to offer. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Chris Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Zed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zed

Address: 3110 Douglas Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8Z 3K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Zed 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a ridiculously fun & eclectic hip hotel in Victoria BC that is so completely awesome your mind will be blown! Ok, slight exaggeration, but we swear it's like nothing you've ever seen before: '67 VW shuttle, typewriter station, vinyl listening station, pool & waterslide, ping pong lounge, high tech media hubs in the rooms and comic books in the bathroom ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Zed reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Ridge Hotel Victoria
Blue Ridge Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zed, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.