We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky character yet down-to-earth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zed

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Zed to your Saves list
Hotel Zed
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3110 Douglas Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8Z 3K4, Canada (Burnside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Funky character yet down-to-earth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We happened upon Hotel Zed while researching Victoria on the COHO ferry website (between Port Angeles and Victoria) and are glad we gave it a chance! All of your basic needs and comforts are taken care of, but done with a retro style that’s vibrant and cheerful. You’ve got to love colors after living in the Pacific Northwest for a while! In the lounge a real record player and typewriters are available, and we enjoyed the novelty of traveling back in time by using them. The room’s rotary dial phone and alarm clocks gave us the same nostalgia for a bygone era. We also loved the bikes and enjoyed our bike ride on the Galloping Goose trail- highly suggest carving a bit of time out of your stay to bike around or shorten your walking time to downtown by riding in style. It opened in early May so we saw a game room and other features in progress.
Dana and Thom at the front desk were so friendly and helpful and really made us feel welcome. We had a great anniversary weekend in Victoria and look forward to returning when their VW bus is used as a shuttle!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    58
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
56
35
10
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cloverdale, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Thought the hotel was funky and was impressed with how clean it was. Beds are comfortable. Bathrooms are clean, but not very luxurious. Was a happy camper until the construction started at 7:30 in the morning. It's loud - trucks, saws, metal bouncing off concrete. I thought it might be limited to a short time but a call to the front desk has informed me it'll be all day. Would have been nice to know this last night. Oh and the cleaning staff have a radio playing right outside our room door and have been talking loudly for the past 45 minutes. Do not stay here if you want to sleep!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelzed, General Manager at Hotel Zed, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Tasmin R

I am sorry to hear the construction noise affected you. We are doing our best to limit noise disturbances prior to 10am and to end by 4pm. Luckily we are down to our last week or so of construction. I do apologize for the staff talking loudly but am pleased you enjoyed the Hotel Zed concept! We are very excited to be finishing up our renovations in the next week or 2 and everyone can enjoy the full experience!

Chris Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at hotel ZED! Super friendly and helpful stuff. Super mattrasses and pilows. Clean and comfy by all means.Great location, 1min walk to Mayfair mall,10mins to Uptown shopping centre and Wallmart and 30 mins to the lovely downtown. Free bike rides and a grand variety of free coffees and tea. Cheerful colors everywhere at the newly renovated hotel.Cozy ambiance at the lobby.We left hotel ZED with the best impressions. Highly recommend to everybody!

Room Tip: We had all we needed! Thank you guys-great job! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The staff were super friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean with very fun decor!
I really loved that you can sign out a bicycle complete with helmet and lock to explore the city on!
All in all a great experience and I would go back!

Room Tip: The rooms in the back of the hotel are further from Douglas street and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelzed, General Manager at Hotel Zed, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear TCon_68

Thanks for choosing to stay at Hotel Zed. We appreciate your feedback as we complete our renovation. We do apologize for the construction noise and I am sorry you were mislead to believe it would be painting only. Luckily we will be done very soon.
Thank you for mentioning the storage space for clothing. The filing cabinet is indeed meant to act as a dresser, a fun twist to otherwise boring hotel dresser! We will be adding a place to hang clothes in those rooms very soon.
We will definitely look into the inconsistency of the housekeeping service you experienced. It is definitely not the norm here at Hotel Zed.
I hope you will come back and try us again soon. We believe we have a great hotel and would love to prove to you how great we can be!

Chris Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

When I booked this room, I was not told renovations were being done and that the pool was not available during the day. they put me in the back right beside where there is banging drilling and sawing going on all day. I had a strange Man unlock and enter my room. There is no coffee or tea pot in the room. This is my holiday and it is being ruined. I was so tired from driving here today and have gotten no rest because of the noise. Can't wait to leave. Thanks for nothing. No discount was offered and I am paying 100.00 a day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelzed, General Manager at Hotel Zed, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Judyva2

I am sorry you were not told about the construction upon check in. We are doing our very best to minimize any noise, avoiding early mornings and evenings. As our new waterslide and hotub are being installed, we unfortunately have to shutdown our pool during the day time hours. A wide variety of coffees and teas are available in our brand new lobby, far exceeding what we could offer in room. I would love for you to offer us a second chance to prove what a fabulous place Hotel Zed is to stay. Please contact me directly to discuss further.

Chris Knight
General Manager
cknight@hotelzed.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The Hotel Zed website is well done and sells the property well.

The rooms are much as described -- clean with new, fun furnishings. The bikes are new and nice, the motel sign and colors are cool, and the flower baskets add to curb appeal. Free, screaming-fast wi-fi.

What's not clear, however, is that the property is a bargain-rate motel (previously called the Blue Ridge Inn) that is in the process of being renovated. And that's a big part of the problem that is not going to be overcome by good marketing and desire to be hip.

• The walls are extremely thin, which all the creative furnishings in the world won't fix.
• The bathroom door didn't close. Original door, tub, tile.
• Zed is on a very busy road across from a large mall. We were in the back and our view was of the Toyota dealership next door. There's a Kentucky Fried Chicken in the parking lot. It, a Denny's and the mall food court are the only available eating places nearby.

And that leads to the real issues with our stay: Zed is under construction. There is an oblique mention on the website to "some amenities" not being available until June 2014. We were there the last week in May and they were a long way off from available.

No restaurant. No pool. No hot tub. No sauna. No ping-pong room. No rotary-dial phones in the rooms.

The construction was the worst part -- it started early in the morning and there was plenty of construction mess and dust. Our stay was during the week, so it was particularly bad.

We tried to connect with a manager on our final day to express concerns about the experience, versus what the website offered. We were told that the construction was why the rooms were only $85 per night and would be $149 a night when the work was complete.

We asked to speak to a manager and were told the associate manager would be in at 8 a.m. We waited until 8:30 and checked back: He was running late because of the rain.

We left full contact information (email, cell, address) with the very polite, very young desk clear. We have not been contacted.

If you want a clean, decent room in a fun, funky motel for $85 a night, this is the place. But think twice before paying $149.

Room Tip: Be sure that you room is on the second floor, toward the back and away from the housecleaning statio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelzed, General Manager at Hotel Zed, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Susan
Thank you for taking the time to respond. I am sorry we did not meet your expectation in some of the areas you noted. We have tried our very best to minimize the construction disturbance to our guests. Luckily our pool has been back up and running for a few weeks now in the evenings and on weekends. We have received our last delivery of rotary phones just this week so all rooms have them now. I do apologize that no manager was available to talk to when you checked out. I would be happy to discuss any of these issues with you to earn your trust for your next visit to Victoria. I can be reached at cknight@hotelzed.com

Chris Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukie, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I spent the memorial weekend here at Hotel Zed. Booked through the ferry company with added on ziplining tour. I picked this hotel for the free bike rental, price, and experience of staying in a non chain hotel. The bikes were great and I used them for the whole weekend! I would recommend test riding the bike to guarantee proper adjustment for seat height. This hotel did not have the shuttle running yet from downtown by the ferry to the location ($12) taxi ride. I would recommend this place for bike enthusiasts, people looking for a cheap vacation, or someone who wants a no fuss place. The rooms were clean, bright, and convenient with a mini kitchen inside. I was given an upgraded room with two separate bedrooms. Definitely a place to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelzed, General Manager at Hotel Zed, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hi Kari, thank you for the great review! We are having a blast transforming this motel into the cool, hip place to stay in Victoria. You will be happy to know this week we have opened our ping pong lounge and our 1967 VW shuttle bus will be up and running. We hope you have a chance to come back and stay with us again.

Chris Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#37 of 58 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 stars 580 reviews
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#29 of 58 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites
#39 of 58 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelodge Victoria
#30 of 58 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 stars 549 reviews
Harbour Towers
#22 of 58 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 stars 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zed

Address: 3110 Douglas Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8Z 3K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#22 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Zed 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a ridiculously fun & eclectic hip hotel in Victoria BC that is so completely awesome your mind will be blown! Ok, slight exaggeration, but we swear it's like nothing you've ever seen before: '67 VW shuttle, typewriter station, vinyl listening station, pool & waterslide, ping pong lounge, high tech media hubs in the rooms and comic books in the bathroom ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Zed reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Ridge Hotel Victoria
Blue Ridge Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zed, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.