We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Deal in Victoria BC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zed

Save Saved
You added Hotel Zed to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Zed
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3110 Douglas Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8Z 3K4, Canada (Formerly Blue Ridge Inn) (Burnside)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 57 hotels in Victoria
Chilliwack, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best Deal in Victoria BC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

By far this remains, year after year the single best deal in Victoria in my opinion. It is cost effective, has decent rooms and is positioned nicely in the city. Highly recommended for business travel.

Room Tip: Book on the side across from the main office. It is superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    79
    33
    7
    5
See reviews for
56
54
16
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The room that we stayed in was pleasing. Small but perfect for two for just a short stay. Ecomonical for about $55.00.

The bathroom was three separate areas. The shower was large and provided a nice bathing experience that felt like a big shower you would see in Europe.

We stayed a night here and it was fine although it is a bit noisy from the traffic on Douglas Street. The second night we decided to leave because police spent 20 minutes speaking to another unit and we weren't sure if this motel was a safe place to be in. We were told that the police often go there to see to make sure that things are fine.

The staff member was very kind and did not give us a hard time for leaving and reimbursed partly. Since then I did see a security car there again while passing in a car.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Rooms often start at 49$, for 2 beds it was under $70 w/tax. rooms are clean, on main road, across the street from the May Fair Mall, Denny's is on same block. can't beat the price, and they are clean and comfortable. Employees are nice as well

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

this is a pleasant hotel,it is very clean, great price,awesome location just across the street to mayfair shopping mall,well run hotel,very safe location<easy to get to downtown city cener only minutes away,lots of places to eat withing walking distance also,mayfair shopping center is a great mall has everything in it <

Room Tip: second floor very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, New Mexico
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Staff were pleasant, quick and helpful for check in. Economy room is a good value. The shower is nice an roomy and plenty of hot water. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. The indoor pool and sauna were a bonus. Close to shopping mall and restaurants. Loved the small window that you could open in your room for fresh air. I was by myself and usually hesitate to open a window.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed at this Motel for a week while I was waiting for my Condo to be ready. I myself is in the hospitality industry and this Motel is top notch. The Front Desk Staff were friendly and helpful and the housekeeping staff was amazing. Even though I was a weekly rental the staff treated me with the utmost respect. I highly recommend this hotel for victoria area. The rooms are also very clean and spacious.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Zed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zed

Address: 3110 Douglas Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8Z 3K4, Canada (Formerly Blue Ridge Inn)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Zed 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a ridiculously fun & eclectic hip hotel in Victoria BC that is so completely awesome your mind will be blown! Ok, slight exaggeration, but we swear it's like nothing you've ever seen before: '67 VW shuttle, typewriter station, vinyl listening station, pool & waterslide, ping pong lounge, high tech media hubs in the rooms and comic books in the bathroom ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Zed reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Ridge Hotel Victoria
Blue Ridge Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zed, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.