We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbeymoore Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Abbeymoore Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Abbeymoore Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn
1470 Rockland Avenue, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 1W2, Canada (Rockland)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 110 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Canmore, Canada
1 review
“Absolutely wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband and I chose Abbeymoore Manor because we were tired of the cold, impersonal hotel experiences we had in the past when we travelled to Victoria to visit our daughter. Abbeymoore Manor had an atmosphere similar to staying in the home of a close family member. When we came in the door, Ian welcomed us into the common areas and somehow made us feel as safe and as cozy as if we were in our own home. Our room and the inn itself were quaintly equipped with everything we could possibly want, with extra special touches like the gluten-free macarons on the bedside table, and a bottle of port in the living room. We were impressed with the beautiful gourmet breakfasts both mornings we stayed, and also with how well my food sensitivities were catered to within the fabulous menu! We were first-timers to the B&B stay, and this experience has left us wishing we didn't have to go home. We will definitely come back to Abbeymoore Manor, and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Victoria.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,011
    32
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
88
616
23
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We had our second romantic getaway at Abbeymoore and it was amazing, as always. The staff are welcoming, friendly and able to cater to your every need. The first thing I noticed when we got there were the homemade white chocolate macadamia nut cookies for guests (my favourite kind). We stayed in the adorable Primrose room with its huge bed, comfy sitting area and the deepest bathtub I've ever been in! As per usual, we walked around the gardens of nearby Government House and also attended an event at the Art Gallery. Innkeeper Ian knows what we like and suggested that we check out trendy new bar Little Jumbo, which we did, and it was awesome!
The evening of our second day at Abbeymoore, my boyfriend proposed while we were out at the breakwater. When we came back to our room, it had been tidied for us and there was champagne and chocolate on the bed. The next morning, there was an adorable congratulatory note at the bottom of the breakfast menu (which we will definitely be framing).
Our breakfasts were gourmet and delicious, keeping us full for many hours. Even though we don't have any dietary issues, I thought it was nice that they offered gluten-free options for guests that do.
We will definitely keep coming back to Abbeymoore. If you're reading this, you need to stay here!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We have typically stayed in hotels when we travel generally avoiding B&Bs because of mediocre experiences and accommodations. If all B&Bs were half as good as the Abbeymore we'd be total converts. This is a wonderful place. The innkeepers exude an easy, unforced friendliness and couldn't be more welcoming. We felt as if we were leaving friends when we checked out. The food is fabulous. We stayed for four nights and each breakfast was unique and excellent - and the house made baked goods were second to none. The house is located in a beautiful, tree-lined residential neighborhood that is within reasonable walking distance to downtown Victoria. Our hosts had many recommendations for restaurants enjoyed by the locals and steered us away from the tourist traps. They helped us with tickets for Victoria attractions and helped with car rental and suggestions for scenic drives. All in all this was our best B&B experience and we look forward to another visit to the Abbeymore in the hopefully not too distant future.

Room Tip: The garden suites are great and give you the feel of a private apartment with private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at Abbeymoore Manor while attending a nearby conference. We're regular users of Trip Advisor and Abbeymoore Manor scores at the top of the places we've stayed. The location is ideal - a quiet, stately neighbourhood, yet just minutes away from the downtown area. Ian and Anne are wonderful hosts, knowledgeable of the area and quick to help with anything we needed. Abbeymoore Manor is a beautifully restored heritage house, very clean with well appointed rooms. Anne's breakfasts are remarkable and she was very generous in her sharing of recipes and tips. Each morning we received a personalized printed menu, offering unique, creative breakfasts that were a wonderful start to the day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berthoud, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Abbeymoore is so much more than a B & B! It is a place of refuge, & peace. It feels like you are coming home to meet family or friends. They are generous, kind & some of the most hospitable people we have ever met! They were gracious with our late arrival & welcomed us with a spirit of hospitality that is hard to find. Our room, was beautiful, CLEAN, quiet, & spacious. It was updated in just the right ways to meet our needs, yet stayed true to the decor & integrity of this beautiful Inn. It is in a beautiful area, we even saw a deer running down the street at breakfast. As for breakfast......I am not ashamed to admitt I am a foodie, & a bit of a critic when it comes to food. You will find this is one of the most delicious breakfasts you will ever have. Perfectly prepared with an attention to detail. This was one of the best travel experiences we have ever had. We had come from a 5 star hotel in Seattle on our journey & the Abbeymoore honestly ranked much higher than that! This is rumored to be the best B & B in Victoria....the rumors are true! Ian, Anne, & Semonia made us wish we had more time to just spend there with them! We celebrated an anniversary with them & hope to celebrate more with them in the future. THANK YOU for being a reall B & B. THis is not just a house with extra rooms to share. This is a glimpse at simpler times & one of the finest B & B's we have ever stayed at. We WILL be back someday! Thank you for all you did for us to make our trip special!

Room Tip: The Master sweet is worth every penny! Treat yourself & relax in this amazing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I have been to Victoria many times and have stayed in most of the generic downtown hotels. I took my wife along on a recent business trip and decided to try this B&B for something different. We were very happy with our choice and only regret that we were not able to spend more time at the Abbeymoore Manor. We will return - hopefully for a longer stay.
The photos on the company website accurately depict the beauty of the house and rooms. We stayed in the Primrose room. There are no photos of our bathroom on the web site - but it was clean and very nicely updated.
The location of this B&B will appeal to anyone who enjoys walking and who would like to experience life in one of Victoria's nicer residential areas. We loved wandering around the vicinity looking at the historic homes and lush gardens.The Lieutenant Governor's mansion (called Government House) is a short walk away. The grounds are open to the public and feature spectacular examples of local vegitation. We were delighted to see numerous deer in the neighbourhood.
The service at Abbemoore was first rate - from the time I called to reserve to the time we checked out. Ian, Anne and Michelle were very welcoming and made it clear that they were happy and available to help. We enjoyed our breakfast and could see that this B&B was set up so that travellers could mingle if they wanted to chat with other guests.
I heartily recommend Abbeymoore Manor to anyone looking to sample Victoria's many charms.

Room Tip: Next time I am going to try for a room with a balcony on front of the house or a garden suite - just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Abbeymoore exceeded our expectations due in large part to Anne, Ian and Michelle. They did so much for us; arranged and reserved ferries, made dinner arrangements, suggested destinations and printed itinerary and directions. The Manor is in such a nice area of Victoria. Our room was so spacious, well decorated and comfy. The bed sheets were so comfortable that we bought a set which Ian had shipped to our home. We're not big breakfast eaters but we had to make an exception here because breakfasts at the manor are so unique and well presented. Our only regret was not staying longer.

Suzi & Danny

Room Tip: The Master suite is large and has a deck with a view. We loved the Rose suite because it was large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbeymoore Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeymoore Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 1470 Rockland Avenue, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 1W2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Rockland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind and relax in the historic Rockland district of Victoria, British Columbia, Canada. Abbeymoore Manor offers romantic heritage bed and breakfast accommodation in a quiet residential setting. We offer B and B rooms or self-contained suites at ground level and a penthouse suite with ocean and mountain views. Located across the street from the Governors mansion, near Craigdarroch Castle and the Art Gallery, we are a five minute drive to all downtown Victoria's attractions, US ferries and four blocks to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Abbeymoore Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeymoore Manor b&b Inn
Abbeymoore Manor Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbeymoore Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.