We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B Experience In Recent Memory” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbeymoore Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbeymoore Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn
Save Saved
You added Abbeymoore Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
1470 Rockland Avenue, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 1W2, Canada (Rockland)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 110 Victoria B&B and Inns
Orinda, California
1 review
“Best B&B Experience In Recent Memory”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We have typically stayed in hotels when we travel generally avoiding B&Bs because of mediocre experiences and accommodations. If all B&Bs were half as good as the Abbeymore we'd be total converts. This is a wonderful place. The innkeepers exude an easy, unforced friendliness and couldn't be more welcoming. We felt as if we were leaving friends when we checked out. The food is fabulous. We stayed for four nights and each breakfast was unique and excellent - and the house made baked goods were second to none. The house is located in a beautiful, tree-lined residential neighborhood that is within reasonable walking distance to downtown Victoria. Our hosts had many recommendations for restaurants enjoyed by the locals and steered us away from the tourist traps. They helped us with tickets for Victoria attractions and helped with car rental and suggestions for scenic drives. All in all this was our best B&B experience and we look forward to another visit to the Abbeymore in the hopefully not too distant future.

Room Tip: The garden suites are great and give you the feel of a private apartment with private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    953
    25
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
77
567
22
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sechelt, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at Abbeymoore Manor while attending a nearby conference. We're regular users of Trip Advisor and Abbeymoore Manor scores at the top of the places we've stayed. The location is ideal - a quiet, stately neighbourhood, yet just minutes away from the downtown area. Ian and Anne are wonderful hosts, knowledgeable of the area and quick to help with anything we needed. Abbeymoore Manor is a beautifully restored heritage house, very clean with well appointed rooms. Anne's breakfasts are remarkable and she was very generous in her sharing of recipes and tips. Each morning we received a personalized printed menu, offering unique, creative breakfasts that were a wonderful start to the day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berthoud, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Abbeymoore is so much more than a B & B! It is a place of refuge, & peace. It feels like you are coming home to meet family or friends. They are generous, kind & some of the most hospitable people we have ever met! They were gracious with our late arrival & welcomed us with a spirit of hospitality that is hard to find. Our room, was beautiful, CLEAN, quiet, & spacious. It was updated in just the right ways to meet our needs, yet stayed true to the decor & integrity of this beautiful Inn. It is in a beautiful area, we even saw a deer running down the street at breakfast. As for breakfast......I am not ashamed to admitt I am a foodie, & a bit of a critic when it comes to food. You will find this is one of the most delicious breakfasts you will ever have. Perfectly prepared with an attention to detail. This was one of the best travel experiences we have ever had. We had come from a 5 star hotel in Seattle on our journey & the Abbeymoore honestly ranked much higher than that! This is rumored to be the best B & B in Victoria....the rumors are true! Ian, Anne, & Semonia made us wish we had more time to just spend there with them! We celebrated an anniversary with them & hope to celebrate more with them in the future. THANK YOU for being a reall B & B. THis is not just a house with extra rooms to share. This is a glimpse at simpler times & one of the finest B & B's we have ever stayed at. We WILL be back someday! Thank you for all you did for us to make our trip special!

Room Tip: The Master sweet is worth every penny! Treat yourself & relax in this amazing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I have been to Victoria many times and have stayed in most of the generic downtown hotels. I took my wife along on a recent business trip and decided to try this B&B for something different. We were very happy with our choice and only regret that we were not able to spend more time at the Abbeymoore Manor. We will return - hopefully for a longer stay.
The photos on the company website accurately depict the beauty of the house and rooms. We stayed in the Primrose room. There are no photos of our bathroom on the web site - but it was clean and very nicely updated.
The location of this B&B will appeal to anyone who enjoys walking and who would like to experience life in one of Victoria's nicer residential areas. We loved wandering around the vicinity looking at the historic homes and lush gardens.The Lieutenant Governor's mansion (called Government House) is a short walk away. The grounds are open to the public and feature spectacular examples of local vegitation. We were delighted to see numerous deer in the neighbourhood.
The service at Abbemoore was first rate - from the time I called to reserve to the time we checked out. Ian, Anne and Michelle were very welcoming and made it clear that they were happy and available to help. We enjoyed our breakfast and could see that this B&B was set up so that travellers could mingle if they wanted to chat with other guests.
I heartily recommend Abbeymoore Manor to anyone looking to sample Victoria's many charms.

Room Tip: Next time I am going to try for a room with a balcony on front of the house or a garden suite - just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Abbeymoore exceeded our expectations due in large part to Anne, Ian and Michelle. They did so much for us; arranged and reserved ferries, made dinner arrangements, suggested destinations and printed itinerary and directions. The Manor is in such a nice area of Victoria. Our room was so spacious, well decorated and comfy. The bed sheets were so comfortable that we bought a set which Ian had shipped to our home. We're not big breakfast eaters but we had to make an exception here because breakfasts at the manor are so unique and well presented. Our only regret was not staying longer.

Suzi & Danny

Room Tip: The Master suite is large and has a deck with a view. We loved the Rose suite because it was large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Great atmosphere, great rooms, great hospitality and a 3 Michelin-star breakfast service. A great location to start your ventures off into Victoria. Ian, Anne and Michelle really offer the best of B&B service, rumoured to be the best in all of Canada. A very memorable stay.

Room Tip: Shared a suite with our son who slept on the couch and even that was good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We recently spent a lovely few days at Abbeymoore Manor in Victoria. We chose this place due to its central location in Victoria but were pleasantly surprised to find Abbeymoore Manor not your typical B&B. Ian and Anne are wonderful hosts and truly made us feel like we were visiting old friends. The breakfast were excellent both in variety and in taste. I learned a few cooking tips from Anne which I have already tried with success.
Ian was very helpful in aiding us in finding good restaurants for dinner with a selection of gourmet and inexpensive local eateries.
If you want to enhance your visit in Victoria, book a room at Abbeymoore Manor; there are also suites equipped with a good kitchen if you want to cook in rather than eat out.

Room Tip: We loved the suite since we were traveling with my sister and we had a nice private place to gather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbeymoore Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeymoore Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 1470 Rockland Avenue, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 1W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Rockland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind and relax in the historic Rockland district of Victoria, British Columbia, Canada. Abbeymoore Manor offers romantic heritage bed and breakfast accommodation in a quiet residential setting. We offer B and B rooms or self-contained suites at ground level and a penthouse suite with ocean and mountain views. Located across the street from the Governors mansion, near Craigdarroch Castle and the Art Gallery, we are a five minute drive to all downtown Victoria's attractions, US ferries and four blocks to the ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbeymoore Manor b&b Inn
Abbeymoore Manor Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbeymoore Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.