We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wannawafel

Wannawafel
560 Johnson Street | Market Square, Victoria, British Columbia V8X2Z5, Canada
+1 250-590-5300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 31 Bakeries in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: We are very proud to say that Wannawafel inspired and changed the way Canadians think about waffles after appearing on the very popular CBC show Dragons'Den. Now waffles can be an all day snack, no it doesn't always need Maple Sirup, we bake them fresh, it is fine to have a waffle without a topping. Lets try it. In our business it is all about the waffle and the people who serve them, all for you.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“OMG amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Melt in your mouth deliciousness served with a smile. I will track their smell for blocks to get myself a treat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    17
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Greatest Belgian waffles outside of Belgium”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We make it a habit of coming here for a Liege waffel at least once a month if not more often. They taste exactly like the waffels we had in Belgium and it brings back great memories every time we taste the crunchy, caramely goodness. It tastes great on its own, but my husband loves his with strawberries and whipped cream, while I prefer mine with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. We love this place, and I think the owners are starting to recognize us every time we go because we're there so often.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I wannawafel again and again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Each time I get towards Johnson Street I am drawn into Wannawafel first by the wonderful smell, then by the sight of their yummy waffels, and finally by the taste of their delicious creations.
This is a must stop place in Victoria for anyone seeking consistantly high quality and scrumptious waffels authentically prepared and served by people who are passionate about what they do!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just as Good as In Belgium”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stopped for a quick brunch on a rainy weekend. The waffles were just as we remembered them from our trip through Belgium a few years ago. Yummy!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Who'd a thought?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

A place that does waffles only, all day long. And they are absolutely amazing! I order a waffle topped with vanilla ice cream, bananas, whip cream, and slathered in chocolate. It was a delight!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wannawafel also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Wannawafel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wannawafel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.