We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Place to Take a Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Murchie's

Murchie's
1110 Government Street, Victoria, British Columbia BC V8W 1Y2, Canada (Downtown)
1-250-383-3112
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 1,083 Restaurants in Victoria
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Downtown
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Nice Place to Take a Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We love Murchie's! It is a great place to take a coffee break. The desserts are delicious! I recommend the brownies.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    82
    15
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“best sandwich!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stopped for a carry out sandwich for our ferry trip back to Seattle. We had the best toasted turkey, cheese, lettuce, tomato, sandwich ever! Their selections of cakes and pastries were mouth watering. I wished we had time to sit and enjoy other selections at this bakery. Will return!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Busy, but very pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We went to Murchies several times during our stay simply because it was always good. The staff although always busy were polite & helpful. The choice, especially of cakes, is exceptionally large - makes choosing very difficult!
Murchies is in the main shopping street & is perfect for when you need a break.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee but too many cakes to choose from!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Really good service and the coffee and cakes were excellent - but difficult to choose as so many available! We went for morning coffee and liked it so much we went back the same day for afternoon tea!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Pleasant break in the afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Four of us had coffee and pastries here on a recent Friday afternoon while strolling and shopping in downtown Victoria and all of us were happy to stop and visit and sit down for awhile. I had one of their white chocolate cranberry biscotti`s with a coffee and it was a perfect pick me up. This is a nice mix of a small table restaurant on one side and a coffee and tea and food and kitcheny store on the other side. Also got a bag of their ``CBC`` coffee to go and it has been very good at home.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murchie's also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Murchie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murchie's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.