We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel EVER” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Huntingdon Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Huntingdon Manor to your Saves list
Huntingdon Manor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   330 Quebec Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W3, Canada (Formerly Huntingdon Hotel & Suites) (James Bay)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worst hotel EVER”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have travelled in various countries and stayed in many hotels, but this was by far the worst I've ever encountered, including third world. The cigarette smell in the rooms was so bad, it made me ill. The room was extremely old, falling apart, and totally dirty. The parking was atrocious and the handicap parking stall were so small, you could not pull into them and get a wheelchair out. The front desk had difficulty understanding our requests and answering them. However, after seeing our room and being so disgusted, we decided to leave and they didn't charge us. Thank goodness for the hotel across the street - they went out of their way to assist us in our time of need.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Huntingdon Manor, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time and submitting your comments, we appreciate your input.
Please allow me to express our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered while staying with us.
As the hotel is under new ownership, all our employees are doing their very best to ensure our guests do enjoy their stay with us.
It is particularly disturbing for me to hear that it seems you did not.
I can assure you your observations will be communicated and discussed to ensure this will not happen again.
With very best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    49
    44
    15
    17
See reviews for
54
46
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were extremely dissatisfied with this hole. We booked through Expedia based upon reviews on the Internet, and their own advertising.
The parking stalls are few and very narrow. The only handicap stall is narrow, underground and costs 9.00$.
The clerk at the front desk did not communicate well. It was difficult to get any answers to our questions and the answers changed. Her first language was English by the way, as is mine.
There was a group of loud teens and another group of drunken and loud middle aged women roaming the hallways at 9:00 PM. We didn't stay long enough to see if this continued into the night.
The rooms were filthy and stunk of cigarettes even though we requested non smoking. The beds sank down in the middle.
We phoned around and were able to find alternative accommodation. The Huntingdon was gracious enough to waive any sort of penalty and Expedia gave us our money back in full. I am grateful to Huntingdon for that.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Huntingdon Manor, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time and submitting your comments, we appreciate your input.
Please allow me to express our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered while staying with us.
As the hotel is new ownership, all our employees are doing their very best to ensure our guests do enjoy their stay with us.
It is particularly disturbing for me to hear that it seems you did not.
I can assure you your observations will be communicated to ensure this will not happen again.
With very best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Nothing fancy, but a good value, Rooms were clean comfortable and quiet, the staff was friendly and helpful. The location was very good, especially considering we were leaving on the Port Angeles ferry which departs directly across the street. it is an easy walk from the hotel to the shops and restaurants of Victoria. The weather while we were there in late July was unbelievable low to mid eighties and unfortunately the hotel is not prepared for that warm of weather, Only providing a small fan to cool the room which copped the afternoon sun. But all things considered we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Huntingdon Manor, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to post your comments, we do appreciate your feedback.
We are happy yo hear you did enjoy your visit to Victoria and your stay with us.
As the property is in the process to acquire new ownership, we are committed to extensively renovate the interior and exterior, hopefully within the next months, and do look forward to your next visit.
With best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at the beginning of June for four nights. Maybe the hotel is getting older but the staff made up for it. We had better service there by far than our stay at Bear Mountain. When I called to book the room the front desk person was wonderful and we were very happy with the rate and what it included. Maybe only a two star hotel but the staff conduct themselves and treat you as if it was a four star! Will go back every time we are in Victoria.

Benita

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Huntingdon Manor, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for staying with us and we certainly appreciate your comments - thank you.
In behalf of all our employees, we are looking forward to be welcoming you back in the hopefully near future.
With best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanaway, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife and my sister stayed, the night of the 15th, July. No air, alarm clock radio, was so old that the alarm option, did no longer exist. The TV, was very old, but worked. The pillows, were min., and totally flattened out, when you put your head on them. One set of towels short, should have been 3 sets, was two. the 2 chairs, by the table would sink in, and felt like you were, sitting on a toilet. We had to have window open, for fresh air, and cooling down at night, could close the curtain, over the right half, of window, or it would have cut off the air from the window. The bed was very firm, the only good part, and the room appeared to be clean. The computer, down stairs, was outdated, very old, small old CRT monitor, mouse is almost wore out, and the software, is Windows XP. i was shown a room that had air, but was a loft, with steep stairs, my sister would not have been able to climb, not to mention, the burden of carrying our stuff, up the stairs. the whole room decor furnishings were so old that, all looked dinghy. The staff tried to help, where possible (extra pillows/towel set) said that the privious ownership, had never put any upgrades, or money into the place, since, when new, 30 years ago. I have only been in a very bad hotel/motel, and this was by far the worst! The cost of the room, is way over priced for the crappy, conditions/maintence, or lack of.

Room Tip: Just stay away! The pictures lie!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Huntingdon Manor, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time and posting your comments, we appreciate your feedback.
In behalf of all our employees, I do apologize for the inconveniences you encountered while staying with us. It is our goal to improve the physical appreance of the property and the service levels in all departments.
The new ownership is committed to renovating the property within the next few months
We sincerely hope you will be returning and staying with us in the future.
With best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the hotel in general. We were close by to everything. The hotel staff were very friendly and the price was also a big factor. It's not your big fancy hotel but the rooms are well equipped and clean. We had a lovely stay in this quant hotel and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Huntingdon Manor, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for staying with us and we certainly appreciate your comments - thank you.
In behalf of all our employees, we are looking forward to be welcoming you back in the hopefully near future.
With best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

not terrible value based on the price and location, but could be better. on the plus side, a historic building with lots of character and charm - on the negative side, it was just really really old (carpets, paint & trim, bathroom fixtures, door locks, etc). we stayed one night and that was enough. not that this was a major deal when travelling, but the TV was a 19" CRT tube TV, and despite the digital box it was hooked up to, you couldn't avoid the off-color and flickering picture quality. also, if you have a room on the ground floor, expect there to be lots of noise. also, it was interesting that as we returned from dinner one evening, we noted that a group of people from a "haunted city walking tours" group had stopped by our hotel to talk about all the ghost sightings that had occurred there in the past...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Huntingdon Manor, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time and posting your comments, we appreciate your feedback.
In behalf of all our employees, I do apologize for the inconveniences you encountered while staying with us. It is our goal to improve the physical appreance of the property and the service levels in all departments.
The new ownership is committed to renovating the property within the next few months
We sincerely hope you will be returning and staying with us in the future.
With best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Huntingdon Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntingdon Manor

Address: 330 Quebec Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W3, Canada (Formerly Huntingdon Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Huntingdon Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the warm ambiance of this classic Victoria hotel. Corporate rooms, bi-level gallery suites, pet-friendly rooms, and a wide range of amenities and services are available to help make your stay a memorable one. The main hotel of Huntingdon Manor, it is only a short walk into downtown and directly across the street from the Coho and Victoria Clipper ferries. Featuring 115 non-smoking guest rooms varying in layout and dimensions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Huntingdon Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntingdon Hotel And Suites
Huntingdon Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huntingdon Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.