We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fun!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Huntingdon Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Huntingdon Manor to your Saves list
Huntingdon Manor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   330 Quebec Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W3, Canada (Formerly Huntingdon Hotel & Suites) (James Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not fun!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in early June 2013. Room was small, no view, no air conditioning, moldy shower faucet. Left room at 8:00am to see the area and returned at 4:30pm to find room not made up! Had to sit in lobby to wait. No manager to talk to. This is an old hotel. Stayed there because everything else was booked...that should have told us something!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Huntingdon Manor, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for posting your honest comments, we appreciate your feedback.
I am deeply sorry for the inconveniences you and your family encountered while our guests. Your concerns and observations have been discussed with the appropriate Departments to ensure these kind of occurrences will not happen again.
Please feel free, and this if you are planning to visit Victoria again, to contact my office when making your next reservation.
With best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    43
    42
    15
    16
See reviews for
50
42
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. The staff are very friendly and tried their best to be accommodating. It's close to the wharf and downtown and is reasonable priced.This hotel has so much potential to be an unique and charming place to stay. The interior decorating is so outdated!!! Beds were hard, bedding old and pillows flat and old! Our loft room required many repairs....no plug in sink, poor wiring, outdated TV, carpeting old, probably the cause of the musty smell in the room. I really hope the owners update but maintain the uniqueness and the English charm.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Huntingdon Manor, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for having stayed with us and thank you for taking the time to post your comments, we do appreciate your feedback.
We are happy to hear you did enjoy your stay, but do understand your comments regarding the required renovations and upgrades.
The property is in the process of being aquired by a new ownership and we are very much hoping to be able to start a renovation process in the very near future.
With best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed at the Huntingdon for four nights while attending a conference in a loft suite. The first room they gave me was covered in shards of broken black plastic - obviously had not been vacuumed. The man at the front desk informed me they did not have an on-site cleaning crew (seriously? a large hotel with no cleaning crew at 4:30pm?)- so I was moved to another room. The second room was clean, and I appreciated the full kitchen and supplies provided. However, the decor was very outdated, carpets stained, the tv from before the turn of the century, and I did NOT appreciate sleeping under a painting of a fox hunt! Who actually decorates with hunting images??? The bed was hard and the pillows old and broken down.

The architecture here has such potential - if they redecorated this could be a very classy and unique hotel, but it is run down and not being maintained. Location is fantastic, and rooms are unique - but please clean this place up?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Huntingdon Manor, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for posting your comments, we do appreciate your feedback.
In behalf of our employees, and particularly here Housekeeping and the Frontdesk, I do apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay.
Your comments and concerns have been addressed with both Departments to ensure a similar experience will not occur again. Again, our aplogies.
With best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We were visiting Vancouver with some other families and decided to stay in Victoria for a night and booked 3 rooms in Huntingdon hotel. This hotel is located in the heart of Victoria with walking distance to all attractions and most of all, the parking is free which is rare these days in any downtown property. Both front desk and housekeeping staff are very professional and friendly and the only downside of thei propeerty is the rooms has very old furniture and stained carpet. Hotel needs major renovations and new amenities. Overall we enjoyed our stay for a night there and will consider staying here again.

Room Tip: If you have vehicle this might be the only place in downtown Victoria to offer free parking. Get you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Huntingdon Manor, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for having been our guests and thank you for taking the time and posting your comments, we appreciate your feedback.
We are happy to hear you did enjoy your stay and do look forward to welcoming you again in the hopefully near future.
With best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

For the price, I couldn't pick a more perfect location! Just blocks from the harbor & downtown. The beds were a little too firm for my comfort, but everything was clean & the front desk staff was friendly. Hot shower & strong water pressure. Secured underground parking for guests (usually $9/day) was great! I was excited to see they had a hot tub, but disappointed that it was being decommissioned. No free continental breakfast is offered, since the suites resort next door serves a sit-down breakfast. I may try another hotel next time, but it may be hard to beat this price.
Another review says that the property may be under new management soon, so we'll see what changes they make (hint hint: better beds, toilet paper rolls that roll & don't shred the paper, & new hot tub!)

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Huntingdon Manor, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your positive feedback, we do appreciate your comments.
In behalf of all our employees we thank you for the opportunity to have been your host and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in the hopefully near future.
With best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Step off the street into a glimmer of days gone by. Back thirty years ago this hotel was in its hay day, now it still holds its old world charm. Very reasonably priced you can be in Victoria's charming downtown core, walking distance from everything. The rooms are clean, the service was adequate as we were only there one night, I'd stay there again for $79 a night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Huntingdon Manor, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for staying with us and we certainly appreciate your comments - thank you.
In behalf of all our employees, we are looking forward to be welcoming you back in the hopefully near future.
With best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upper island
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in the Dorset suite and it was large and very nice. They paid a lot of attention in their reno to make it appear very modern and comfortable. However, they were lacking in the small but extremely important details. Like comfortable bedding and pillows. The pillows were obviously old and were lumpy and flat. The pillow cases were scratchy and the sheets were not a very high thread count. There was no privacy curtain or panels for the up stairs bath. The upper windows should have remote control darkening blinds. The towels were not soft and they need larger bath towels. Also very limited, if any, hot water. Oh, and you could hear the TV in the suite beside us and the people in the hallway as clear as if they were in your room. It still needs updating to improve in these areas.

But, the front desk was very informative and courteous. The view was outstanding and the hotel room was more like a condo than a hotel room. The price was reasonably good, the location excellent. We were impressed. Just change the few things mentioned and it would definitely be 5+ stars.

Room Tip: Always ask to view the room before taking it. Check the comfort of the bed and the cleanliness of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Huntingdon Manor, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to post your comments, we do appreciate your feedback.
We are happy yo hear you did enjoy your visit to Victoria and your stay with us.
As the property is in the process to acquire new ownership, we are committed to extensively renovate the interior and exterior, hopefully within the next months, and do look forward to your next visit.
With best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Huntingdon Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntingdon Manor

Address: 330 Quebec Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W3, Canada (Formerly Huntingdon Hotel & Suites)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Huntingdon Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the warm ambiance of this classic Victoria hotel. Corporate rooms, bi-level gallery suites, pet-friendly rooms, and a wide range of amenities and services are available to help make your stay a memorable one. The main hotel of Huntingdon Manor, it is only a short walk into downtown and directly across the street from the Coho and Victoria Clipper ferries. Featuring 115 non-smoking guest rooms varying in layout and dimensions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Huntingdon Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntingdon Hotel And Suites
Huntingdon Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huntingdon Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.