We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Huntingdon Manor

Save Saved
You added Huntingdon Manor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Huntingdon Manor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   330 Quebec Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W3, Canada (Formerly Huntingdon Hotel & Suites) (James Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 57 hotels in Victoria
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Value for Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Huntingdon Hotel on 3 occassions during our visit to Vancouver Island in August and September. First impressions on arrival were "dated" but very clean and staff were friendly and helpful. The location was excellent on the Inner Harbour and walking distance to downtown Victoria. Gardens to relax in and free internet access. We really enjoyed our stay here and would have no hestitation in recommending to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Huntingdon Manor, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for taking the time and posting your comments, we do appreciate your feedback.
I behalf of all of our employees we thank you for choosing our hotel on your visit to Victoria.
We are looking forward to your next visit in the hopefully near future and remain
With best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    36
    32
    12
    16
See reviews for
42
34
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lillooet, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Good retro 80's decor feel.This hotel needs an update and fresh look. Neat and tidy otherwise. Noisy aircon, sweaky fan, broken oven door - does not close properly. Incomplete cutlery and utensils for 4 guests, no wine glasses or cork screw. Front desk had a bad unfriendly attitude upon requesting these.

Good location.

Room Tip: Choose room with a balcony for good flow of fresh air. Room 337 has one king bed in loft and a doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Huntingdon Manor, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time and posting your comments, we appreciate your feedback.
In behalf of all our employees, I do apologize for the inconveniences you encountered while staying with us. It is our goal to improve the physical appreance of the property and the service levels in all departments.
The new ownership is committed to renovating the property within the next few months
We sincerely hope you will be returning and staying with us in the future.
With best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon BC Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The property is reasonable for the price we paid. Good location, walking distance to everything in and around the harbor. A bit of the old world charm, but dated. Beds were decent, no safe though and TV was not working the day we were there. Careful of the strong water pressure and spray. The property is located directly behind the Gatsby House on a quiet street. Had a nice breakfast looking out on the Gatsby house with a tiny glimpse of the water on the harbor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Huntingdon Manor, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for taking the time and posting your comments, we do appreciate your feedback.
I behalf of all of our employees we thank you for choosing our hotel on your visit to Victoria.
We are looking forward to your next visit in the hopefully near future and remain
With best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Central location, reasonably clean, no view on our side, ok kitchen, weird interior decor and odd one bedroom suite layout with loft. However the worst attribute here was noise from the hall and rooms on both sides..... Party animals and a crying baby.....all night long. It was a last-minute reservation + cheap. Now we know why!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Huntingdon Manor, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying with us and we do appreciate you posting your comments.
We do apologize for the inconveniences you encountered while being our guest and sincelerly hope these will not deter you from staying with is again on your next visit to Victoria.
With best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Very helpful/responsive staff. We lucked out and got their 2 queen bed room (or maybe 2 fulls but plenty of room for us) on the first floor near the lobby for a price around 2/3 of others for such a desirable part of the city. Maybe the price was the result of the room being quite warm compared to the hallways and outside air. We opened our door to the hallway and ran the fan to get cross ventilation which took care of that. The pillows are very slight such that you have to ball them up to elevate your head. I had an inflatable pillow to supplement so that was okay. Everything was clean though the decor needed updating. I suppose if it had all that, the price would not have been so good!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Huntingdon Manor, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Guest
We sincerely thank you for posting your comments, as we do appreciate your feedback.
Thank you very much for staying with us while visiting Victoria.
In behalf of our staff, I do apologize for the inconveniences you encountered and I can assure you that your operational concerns will be addressed with the appropriate departments.
We are looking forward to your next visit in the hopefully not too distant future.
With best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

When I checked in there was another guest complaining to the front desk clerk about his room. That should have been my first clue! The room has never been updated since the late 70's or early 80's. I noticed right away that the carpet was dirty. There were even nail clippings on the carpet by the bed and a plastic tag from a recent purchase from the previous guest of the room. The TV was an old fashioned tube TV. Of course the remote did not work. Speaking of not working, neither did the wireless internet. The bed was so soft it was more like sleeping in a hammock. I would have been more comfortable sleeping on the floor, were it not disgustingly dirty! Some one need to either gut this place or shut it down. I could not believe that expedia had given it four stars! Do yourself a favour and sleep in your car. I did feel sorry for the clerk when I checked out, he foolishly asked how I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: The hotel across the street looked good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Huntingdon Manor, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time and posting your comments, we appreciate your feedback.
In behalf of all our employees, I do apologize for the inconveniences you encountered while staying with us. It is our goal to improve the physical appreance of the property and the service levels in all departments.
The new ownership is committed to renovating the property within the next few months
We sincerely hope you will be returning and staying with us in the future.
With best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Huntingdon Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntingdon Manor

Address: 330 Quebec Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W3, Canada (Formerly Huntingdon Hotel & Suites)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 57 hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Huntingdon Manor 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the warm ambiance of this classic Victoria hotel. Corporate rooms, bi-level gallery suites, pet-friendly rooms, and a wide range of amenities and services are available to help make your stay a memorable one. The main hotel of Huntingdon Manor, it is only a short walk into downtown and directly across the street from the Coho and Victoria Clipper ferries. Featuring 115 non-smoking guest rooms varying in layout and dimensions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Huntingdon Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntingdon Hotel And Suites
Huntingdon Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huntingdon Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.