We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No surprises. Pleasant stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Victoria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Victoria to your Saves list
Ramada Victoria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Gorge Road East, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 1L1, Canada (Burnside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #34 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No surprises. Pleasant stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Good enough: Quiet sleeps, clean environment, low costs, easy access to HWYs.

Was looking for a low cost, no frill place to sleep for a recent 3 night stay and found it at Ramada. Nothing impressive but not disappointing either. The clean lobby and courteous staff gave off a good vibe. The room was clean, well made. The bathroom felt comfortably clean. I appreciate the labels inviting me to be green and reuse the towels rather than having them washed between evenings. I'm happy to support businesses that try to be green.

We slept without problems on a comfortable, stiff-ish, well-made bed.
The location was convenient as our trip wasn't downtown-centred. I appreciate that because actually getting downtown was at times a slow crawl through Douglas St. traffic. Easy access to HWY 1 and Safeway at Tillcum Mall, while at the same time within an easy 45-min walk to downtown. Even though there is a liquor store right next door (which I was quite discouraged by initially), there wasn't any noise or disturbances to speak of.

The on-site restaurant had an appealing menu but there never seemed to be a person there so we decided to take a pass. A continental breakfast of any sort would have been much welcomed.

Overall though, for the low cost/night, I was quite content with the services and would use again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager123, General Manager at Ramada Victoria, responded to this review, June 25, 2011
Thank you very much for the great compliments given to our property and location! I'm glad that you enjoyed a nice quiet and comfortable room during your stay.

A great thing about our property is that we are only a few minutes away from downtown, and yet, we're nestled in a quiet area so that you can have a sound sleep and still be close to the busy scene! We are known in our area to be the "one stop shop" place because we not only provide great accommodations, but also have a full-service restaurant in our lobby, a full Sports Pub, Liquor Store, barber shop and much more!

Have a great summer and we hope to accommodate you on your next visit to Victoria! We are for the environment and will continue to stay "green" and environmentally friendly!

Sean Lalji
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    194
    131
    32
    23
See reviews for
177
131
44
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Well, I stayed at the hotel. It was nice and clean. Had a outdoor BBQ and a pretty decent outdoor pool too. I didn't really talk to the houskeeping staff cause I was working all day. But after work I would talk to the front desk staff. They were really nice, and not bad looking either if I do say so myself :p I lost my cell phone while I was there and I was emailed immediately when it was found. They sent it out to me express overnight delivery. They went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure I got it and that I was happy. I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for the best room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager123, General Manager at Ramada Victoria, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Thank you very much for your great review of our hotel! It was a pleasure having you stay with us and I'm glad we got your cell phone back to you right away!

I'm pleased we got to provide you with the stellar customer service that we're known for and we all look forward to continue providing this service on your next trip to the Upper Harbour - Victoria area!

Have a great summer!

Sean Lalji
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

cera young and roxie fehr who work on the front desk are true professionals ..their dedication to their work and their warm friendly personalities made our stay very special

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager123, General Manager at Ramada Victoria, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Thank you very much for your great review of our hotel! It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward in seeing again very soon!

I'm glad we got to provide you with the stellar customer service that we're known for and the great amenities we provide at our property!

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we'll see you again soon!

Sean Lalji
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed for a week at this hotel. We chose a room with a kitchenette so we could do some cooking on our own. The hotel restaurant had a really interesting menu and the food we had there was really tasty (french-trained chef!). We hadn't expected that. What made it really great, though, was the friendly staff. We were warmly greeted when we arrived and we felt like we were old friends in a totally non-cheesy way. By the time we left, we got hugs from the staff! Of particular note were Roxie and Monica. They were both really great. Roxie offered us a lawn chair for watching the Victoria Day parade and Monica stored our ice-cream for us after check out so we could come back for it later in the day! They really went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. One night our neighbour's noise level got out of control and within moments of bringing it to Roxie's attention, she was there dealing with it very professionally! We really appreciated that, too. Thanks for a great week! The only issue was that they had put some weird-smelling fertilizer on the flower beds outside that smelled horrible.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager123, General Manager at Ramada Victoria, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review! I'm so glad that we provided you with excellent customer service and "a home away from home" during your stay with us. We appreciate your kind words and look forward in seeing you again in the near future!

We've been having great reviews on our new Flavour Bistro restaurant which is located right in our lobby! I'm glad you got to enjoy the restaurant and the wonderful menu!

Please come back soon and you'll see many changes. We are currently going thru light renovations and will be opening up our new "Movie Lounge", which will be available for our guests and will feature nightly movies and a game room!

We look forward in providing you with our excellent customer service upon your next visit in the Upper Harbour Victoria area. Have a great summer!

Sean Lalji
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

After taking a look at rooms at a few of the hotels in victoria, This was by far the best we came accross! Clean, fairly quiet (We are used to the country, so quietness was a huge factor to us as we arent used to the sounds of the city), and the staff was amazing. Upon Arrival Cera helped us find a wonderfuly quiet room at a great rate and made sure everything was perfectly to our liking. But all the staff were great.. We run our own business, and look for staff of this quality. a real asset to any company and deffinatley made our stay that much better.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager123, General Manager at Ramada Victoria, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Thank you very much for the great compliments given to our staff and property! I'm glad we got to provide you with the stellar customer service that we're known for and that you also got to enjoy a nice quiet and comfortable room during your stay.

A great thing about our property is that we are only a few minutes away from downtown, and yet, we're nestled in a quiet area so that you can have a sound sleep and still be close to the busy scene!

Have a great summer and hope to accommodate you on your next visit to Victoria!

Sean Lalji
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

I recently stayed at the Ramada Hotel in Victoria and had an excellent stay. I took a three night package that came out to just over $50.00/night, which is amazing in Victoria. The room was clean the bed super comfy, and coffee machine, mini fridge and microwave really helped cut the costs of my visit. The one thing that really stuck out in my mind was the quality of the service. The young ladies who work the check-in desk were extremely friendly and helpful. One employee in particular, Roxie, really went the extra mile in making my stay as comfortable as possible.
Secure parking and restaurant in house was another great bonus. Thank you Ramada.

Room Tip: Just ask?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager123, General Manager at Ramada Victoria, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Thank you very much for your great review of our hotel! It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward in seeing again very soon!

I'm glad we got to provide you with the stellar customer service that we're known for and that you also got to enjoy our nicely sized rooms with great amenities!

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we'll see you again soon!

Sean Lalji
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, BC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

The apartment suite is great for a large family; can't beat the pricing, especially with the manager's special which included meal coupons for the new bistro. There was some confusion with both check-in and check-out procedures, which was a bit of a hassle. Other than that, the beds were very comfortable and the cleaning ladies were charming. The waitress in the bistro was accommodating to my younger children and the food was excellent; it was very much appreciated that side dishes were available that youngsters can enjoy along with more adult-orientated dining. There seems to be limited hot water in the evening and the taps were difficult to adjust to get a good temperature. There was plenty of hot water in the morning. The little kitchen was great and it was nice to have it separated from the living area. The view to the Gorge was pleasant also. This hotel is easy to get to from the ferries and to downtown Victoria. A tip is to turn right on Douglas, drive through to Superior, turn right, then turn right again into the museum back parking lot. Park here and then walk throughout the Inner Harbour, Government St., the Wharf, etc.

Room Tip: Call the hotel direct
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager123, General Manager at Ramada Victoria, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
Thank you for your great review of our hotel! We're glad that you had a great overall experience with our front desk staff and our new restaurant; Flavour Bistro.

We look forward in seeing you again on your next visit to the Upper Harbour area of Victoria, and I'm sure we'll be able to provide you with great customer service, good food, great rooms, all for a great price! Enjoy the sunshine!

Sean Lalji
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Victoria

Address: 123 Gorge Road East, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 1L1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Victoria Hotel provides ideal Victoria hotel accommodation, location, and exceptional value. Our property is just a five-minute drive from downtown, the famous Inner Harbour, and its most popular attractions. Upon arrival at the 3 star Victoria Ramada's 90 room property, you will be greeted by warm smiles confirming that you have arrived somewhere special. We have recently gone through some light renovations have changed the face of our property! Please come visit and let us show you on the great new changes with our rooms, linen, carpet, 37" HD LCD televisions with a generous selection of stunning HD channels and public areas while still providing that excellent customer service! Our full service property offers large, well-appointed Victoria hotel rooms, deluxe kitchen suites, an exercise room, guest laundry, complimentary business center, plenty of free parking, an outdoor seasonal heated pool, on site restaurant, on site sports bar & grill, liquor store and a banquet hall for up to 225 people as well as other conference rooms. Please come visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Ramada Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.