We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit run down and dirty!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson City Center to your Saves list
Howard Johnson City Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   310 Gorge Road, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 2W2, Canada (Burnside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #45 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
penticton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A bit run down and dirty!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We spent 5 nights at this hotel and our sheets weren't changed once. We called the front desk after coming back and finding that our room wasn't cleaned again. The desk clerk brought us towels and offered to bring sheets so we could make our beds ourselves. The carpet had a large stain and the walls were dirty. The hotel is in a nice location and close to town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    52
    38
    21
    27
See reviews for
45
40
17
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

From the minute of booking our room ,we were so impressed with a fast ,knowlegable and so friendly front desk staff. The price was very reasonable. But the most high light during our 2 days stay was the cleaniness, the comfort of the room and we were so delighted with the fast pace services and so friendly of Housekeeping staffs. It made us feel so welcomed and cozy as a home.Love it.
Is it possible to have a fire place in the room ? and television update ?
Other than that. We definately come back to this " Victoria sweet home "

Room Tip: We were on second floor non-kitchen room for easy access to the parking. But we would recommend on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was very impressed by the friendliness of the staff. We were very tired after a long journey but the staff welcomed us with a great smile and kindly helped us with every little thing when we needed from day 1. They treated us like we were family during our entire stay. The location was also excellent as it took only about 5 mins driving to the city centre. Free parking, free high speed internet connection, clean & cozy room... Everything was satisfiable. The only thing is that the building was old..but compared to price, it was reasonable. It was very resonable price with great service overall. I would recommend this hotel to those who are looking for quality accommodation with a low budget!

Room Tip: We stayed in executive suite and it was very spacious (2 separate bedrooms with kitchenette) that it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I chose this hotel as the rates were competitive and it is located close to downtown via the Galloping Goose trail. The room was adequate - clean and reasonably comfortable but the single pane window did allow noise from Gorge Road and the late night patrons of the hotel bar to filter in. It's an older building so there were also some plumbing noises during the night. TV fridge and microwave in room. Overall a budget facility which represents reasonably good value for money for the traveller with simple tastes.

Room Tip: Towards the back would likely be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elgin, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel provided more than enough to leave in my wallet funds to enjoy and explore everything Victoria has to offer. My stay was for the marathon, but decided to extend my visit and make it a mini holiday.
My room included two double beds, linen a little worn, but clean, a kitchenette fully equipped, cupboards needed a little wipe down, had coffee splash down the front. The room is huge, furniture dated but functional, new carpeting is needed, and the bathtub area needs to be updated, grout and tiles in need of retirement. But free wifi!!!
The staff was very helpful and quite friendly, and rooms were cleaned daily. I did not take advantage of the fitness room or pool, but my sister had no complaints.
I did not like the looks of the pub downstairs, and some of the people outside smoking were a little off putting. I feel you get what you paid for, and frankly this place is good value for money.
The location, I found was fantastic, right on galloping goose trail? And the bus was just a short walk down the street, and I didn't feel unsafe at night. Just cautious.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were unable to get a reservation at other hotels because it was the Victoria Marathon. This should have been a red flag. The room cost as much as the nicer hotels, but was not worth it. The bathtub appeared to not have been cleaned recently and the room itself was filthy. There was food splattered on the walls, the light switches were so dirty that you were afraid to touch them.

Room Tip: Plan ahead, and book well in advance at a better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The price is good. The location is fine, you get what you pay for. The hotel staff were absolutely marvellous and caring. Look, it's very adequate. It's not 5 star, but you're booking 5 star. It's within walking distance of Mayfair Mall, harbour/town bus not far away, has a bar, it's all good. Bedding clean, room not small, kind hearted people doing their best. I'd stay there again, assuming my budget was that way inclined. Fresh coffee/tea making facilities in room, good amenities, and internet and wifi. Negative comments leave me cold. People who want 5 star for 2 star prices. Thanks to everyone who made my stay easy, safe and friendly.

Room Tip: The suites look good, but even the smallest room is not small. It's great value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson City Center

Address: 310 Gorge Road, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 2W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an 80 room boutique style hotel, centrally located on the Gorge Waterway only minutes to the Inner Harbour. Our rates very competitive and we offer exceptional value for money. Our features include: Free Internet Access, Indoor Pool, Fitness Room, Kitchen Suites, Free Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson City Hotel Victoria
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Howard Johnson Victoria
Victoria Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.