We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay in Victoria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1028 Bewdley Avenue, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 6S9, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 110 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Maryville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
“Wonderful Place to Stay in Victoria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Hemmingways-By-The-Sea in August and enjoyed it thoroughly. We had the Hemmingway Suite, which is large and well decorated. But what we enjoyed the most was the wonderful atmosphere created by our hostess, Ilona. She is a delightful person, very helpful, and an excellent cook. Each morning she prepared a filling and elegant meal, served with casual formality, all different and delicious - what a way to start the day! She provided us with sight seeing hints, maps, called for reservations, etc. And we felt relaxed enough to sit and talk with her and the other guests in the evening before going to bed. This was the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciate what we do to try and help our guests. Your comments make me feel great and it gives me energy to get back to work after a long day. Thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    16
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
47
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This B & B was a wonderful place for our family to come together in Victoria. Each of the three rooms we booked were clean, beautifully decorated and perfectly suited for each family member; grandparents, parents and children. The common spaces, both in the house and garden were lovely and perfect for family gatherings. Seeing the seals, sea otters, and the herons at the cove only a short walk away was very special. And our caring hostess Iiona, where to begin! She took care of all of our needs from where to park in the city, what sights to see, carefully prepared and delicious breakfasts, and even a special suprise of ice cream for our daughter upon arriving "home" one day. You will certainly feel the comfort of a wonderful home at Hemingways By the Sea! We do not hesitate to recommend this B & B to other travellers.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments. They made our day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in the Serengetti suite, with two adults and a 14 year old son. Very comfortable family room withy plkenty of space.

Easy drive into Victoria for the day and evening and a lovely home. Ilona has a wonderfull personality and looks after you well, without being imposing, and breakfast was excellent and different - lots of choice and flexibility.

Thoroughly recommended and we would stay again with no issues

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Wow, glad you enjoyed your stay so much. We love to hear comments back like this. It makes our day. Come back soon...it was a pleasure to have you in our house!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The B&B is lovely, spacious and clean. The hostess is so pleasant, warm and inviting, you can't help but feel like a cherished guest. To top it off we enjoyed a delicious French toast breakfast with fresh fruit, eggs, croissants and raisin bread. Definitely a B&B I would go back again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Seeing that you feel cherished makes us feel wonderful. We are so glad that we could make your trip a bit better and would love to have you back again real soon. We love happy guests! Glad you enjoyed the breakfast! Ilona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This was a charming place. Just a block to two from the sound with a pleasant park to picnic in. It was about 4 blocks from the bus line to downtown Victoria. This was a boon for someone who drove route 3 across BC. Madame Ilona went out of her way to make our stay comfortable and relaxing. If you miss Hemmingway's by the Sea you miss the best part of Victoria, BC.
Bonnie & Leo-Chicago

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you Bonnie and Leo for the nice comments about our B&B. We are so glad that we were able to make your stay in Victoria memorable. We work hard to make sure our guests thoroughly enjoy themselves, so when guests take time to respond, we really appreciate it. Thanks. Ilona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Falls, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Love this place, Ilona was a great hostess and made the most wonderful breakfast. It was easy to find and quite. Would recommend to everyone, couples and families, Ilona was very accommodating to our needs and we had a family of four. Ilona was very knowledgeable about the area and had a lot of great ideas for day trips while there. I recommend you call her first to help you plan your vacation to Victoria, she can help you plan everything out.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilona154945, Public Relations Manager at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really enjoyed your company too! It is so nice to hear such supportive comments as we do try very hard to look after our guests. It is most appreciative when guests take time to let us know. Thanks, Ilona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My experience at Hemmingway’s By the Sea was comfortable, warm and restful.
Our hostess provided us with a large clean suite, tastefully decorated in period style and a large balcony. The view was breathtaking of the sea, large trees and a beautiful garden. Ilona provided us with Interesting historical facts of the house and adjoining buildings. We had an abundant, healthy breakfast in the elegant dining room. The food, china, crystal and cotton embroidered napkins made the experience feel as if we were in 19th century England.
Our hostess was generous, thoughtful and a pleasure to be with. She exhibited an excellent example of customer service and professionalism in the hospitality business.
For a quiet, clean and comfortable stay I highly recommend this delightful Inn.

Room Tip: The Hemmingway suite was lovely. The entire Inn was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Recommending our Inn to other people is the best compliment we can get. Many thanks! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Ilona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 1028 Bewdley Avenue, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 6S9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hemingway's By the Sea is a beautiful B&B in supernatural Victoria British Columbia Canada on Vancouver Island. Hemingway's is an elegant Victorian Tudor-Style B&B filled with charm, comfort, romance and warm hospitality. We are only 3.8 km (2.36 miles & 7 minutes from downtown), 2 blocks from the ocean (Fleming Beach) and just 1.6 km (1 mile) to spectacular Saxe Point Park with stunning views of Juan de Fuca Strait and the majestic Olympic Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.