We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1028 Bewdley Avenue, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 6S9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 110 Victoria B&B and Inns
Little Falls, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Love this place, Ilona was a great hostess and made the most wonderful breakfast. It was easy to find and quite. Would recommend to everyone, couples and families, Ilona was very accommodating to our needs and we had a family of four. Ilona was very knowledgeable about the area and had a lot of great ideas for day trips while there. I recommend you call her first to help you plan your vacation to Victoria, she can help you plan everything out.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilona154945, Public Relations Manager at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really enjoyed your company too! It is so nice to hear such supportive comments as we do try very hard to look after our guests. It is most appreciative when guests take time to let us know. Thanks, Ilona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    16
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
47
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grande Prairie, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My experience at Hemmingway’s By the Sea was comfortable, warm and restful.
Our hostess provided us with a large clean suite, tastefully decorated in period style and a large balcony. The view was breathtaking of the sea, large trees and a beautiful garden. Ilona provided us with Interesting historical facts of the house and adjoining buildings. We had an abundant, healthy breakfast in the elegant dining room. The food, china, crystal and cotton embroidered napkins made the experience feel as if we were in 19th century England.
Our hostess was generous, thoughtful and a pleasure to be with. She exhibited an excellent example of customer service and professionalism in the hospitality business.
For a quiet, clean and comfortable stay I highly recommend this delightful Inn.

Room Tip: The Hemmingway suite was lovely. The entire Inn was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Recommending our Inn to other people is the best compliment we can get. Many thanks! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Ilona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Hemingways by the Sea was a delightful experience. We were treated so warmly and our every need attended to. Ilona knows Vancouver Island very well and was very knowledgeable in helping us plan our travel itinerary. Hemingways was close to everything and very convenient to come and go from. The breakfasts are very good and the room cozy. I will be back!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valle Gran Rey, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

lovely location with excellent breakfast and interesting anecdotes of the past
very delightful stay
thank you

Room Tip: all seem to be at the same level
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011 via mobile

This was our last stay in Canada after à three week holiday. THE warm welcome by Ilona and her caring way of hospitality was warm and wonderfull. Her breakfast was even more surprising! She is a magigan in her kitchen!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
We are super glad we could make your visit to Canada complete. It was a pleasure to have you visit our B&B. Thanks for your most generous comments. Ilona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Oregon, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011 via mobile

Ilona was very gracious, warm and friendly. We had a wonderful time at her b&b and Victoria. Her breakfasts were tasty and delicious and She is an excellent cook. We loved to hear the seagulls. Ilona knows Victoria and was very helpful suggesting nice places to visit. We would go back to this warm, cozy Hemingways by the Sea.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hengelo, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011 via mobile

We stayed two nights in Ilona's B&B Hemingways by the Sea. We had a luxourious room with a lot of space. Ilona is a very friendly host and gives good advice where to go; a must go is Butchard Garden and a walk into town via the foot path close by the B&B. Finaly, Ilona serves an excellent breakfast. We would advice our friends to go here.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
I am so glad that you feel so good about your stay at my B&B. We try so hard to make our guests happy. It is so exciting when a guest takes time to tell us so. Thanks a million. Ilona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 1028 Bewdley Avenue, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 6S9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hemingway's By the Sea is a beautiful B&B in supernatural Victoria British Columbia Canada on Vancouver Island. Hemingway's is an elegant Victorian Tudor-Style B&B filled with charm, comfort, romance and warm hospitality. We are only 3.8 km (2.36 miles & 7 minutes from downtown), 2 blocks from the ocean (Fleming Beach) and just 1.6 km (1 mile) to spectacular Saxe Point Park with stunning views of Juan de Fuca Strait and the majestic Olympic Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.