We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Binners' Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Binners' Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Binners' Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
58 Linden Avenue, Victoria, British Columbia V8V4C8, Canada (Fairfield)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 110 Victoria B&B and Inns
Sequim
1 review
“Relaxing...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful visit to Victoria, it was very relaxing. Too bad we couldn't have stayed longer. Edward & Binners are wonderful non-intrusive hosts.

Room Tip: Binners is located in a great neighborhood to explore and near the ocean walk. I live in a rural are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
97
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Just got back from my trip to Canada and I stayed at Binners' Bed and Breakfast for three nights with a dear friend from Los Angeles. First of all the hosts, Binners and Edward are not only a delightful couple but they helped with so much information before I even arrived in Canada. They go well above and beyond typical B&B hosts. Edward did not just recommend what to see and do - he made our reservations as well. Our studio H room was immaculate with luxury towels and linens, very spacious bathroom and loved how the "closet" served as our own little kitchen for coffee and drinks - plus a microwave - nice touch! In addition, there was a small balcony with table and chairs. Breakfast was so delicious and served in a wonderful setting with the matching china, tablecloths and flowers or plants as centerpiece, each day different. A three course breakfast each day accompanied by Edwards personalized juices! My favorite - homemade lavender scones! To quote another review: "Truly divine. I would definitely stay at this bed and breakfast again! A jewel in Victoria!" This is the kind of exceptional service and room you might get a a 5 star luxury hotel but this wonderful B&B is very affordable!!

Room Tip: I think any room here would be delightful. There is no street noise and they are all decorated beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011 via mobile

Beautiful rooms, friendly and very helpful owners, very comfortable bed, and spectacular breakfast. We highly recommend them!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B&BHost, Owner at Binners' Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you Vinceipp for taking the time to write a review about us on TripAdvisor. It is satisfying to know that our efforts prompted you to say Simply Outstanding and that you cannot wait to return. We look forward to seeing you back here too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Stayed at Binners' Bed and Breakfast during a short business trip to Victoria. The hosts Binners and Edward are the most delightful couple! Very informative about places to go and see in the city. The bed and breakfast is located close to the water and a short convenient walk to restaurants and downtown where my meetings were held. I stayed at he Fairfield suite which was beautiful with many amenities one would find in a hotel. Very clean with luxury towels and linen. Breakfast was served in the dining room on exquisite china. They served a Mexican fritatta and caprese salad duing my stay accompanied by homemade lavendar scones and fresh baked bread. Truly devine. I would definitely stay at this bed and breakfast again! A jewel in Victoria!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B&BHost, Manager at Binners' Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear Elizabeth B,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. How heartfelt! And how observant and detail-minded you are to notice and remember the china, the food, and the suite's details too.
If you are ever back this way, we would look forward to playing hosts again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Binner's is a delightful, homey and welcoming experience. The food at breakfast errs on the side of beyond need and expectation. The table settings are but a hint of what is to come. Home made and local jams and jellies accompany artisan or just baked breads from the kitchen steps away. The rooms are spotlessly clean, roomy and totally comfortable with options for touches of seabreeze available to suit your pleasure. The neighborhood and location has it's own merit with a "locals" feel but close enough to stroll to the more tourist oriented attractions that make Victoria such a special city. Finally, the hosts alone are almost worth the price of admission. Binners is happy to discuss your day and destinations, offer her favorites, discuss recipes from the kitchen, or what is growing in her garden. Edward, ever the witty punster, is just as enjoyable. We await our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B&BHost, Owner at Binners' Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear Jerry K, We remember you well and smile at the sideways humour in your review and your sweet comments about us, our rooms, our offerings, and our B&B. We are thoroughly flattered, and yes, smiling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed in the Fairfield Suite which was luckily on the first floor. The suite was larger than expected and nicely furnished.
We had spent a long day driving and just wanted to relax. The host however had other ideas. We had about 30 minutes of being shown around the room and were given an in depth explanation of how every gadget worked.
Breakfasts were interesting and tasty, but again full of explanations of what we were eating.
The B&B is in a great location for exploring Victoria. We walked it into town along the coast road and through the Beacon Hill Park.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B&BHost, Owner at Binners' Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
We are pleased that our guests, DevonTravellers_11, found the Fairfield Suite larger than expected and nicely furnished, our breakfasts interesting and tasty, and our location great for exploring Victoria.

However, we do apologize to DevonTravellers_11. They had spent a long day driving and just wanted to relax, and didn’t like that we took up their time orienting them to our B&B and their room’s features.

Our welcoming process usually takes about 10 or 15 minutes, in which our incoming guests can get ideas of events happening in town that night, and throughout their stay if they wish, and ask any questions.

We provide guests a very useful map of the area and share insider info about nearby shopping, attractions, nature spots, and dining places, if they wish. We are happy to make our guests’ stay in Victoria even more than they expected.

After the welcoming chat, our room orientation usually takes about 10 minutes. This helps the guests to understand how all their room’s features work, and to know where to find certain extra amenities and refreshments.

We ourselves have stayed at B&Bs and hotels where there was absolutely no information about the room’s features, much less any help from the service staff.

So we realize the importance of our own guests receiving information about their room, and we prefer to do this personally, rather that posting many little instruction sheets all around.

For instance, we show our guests how to use their thermostatically controlled or remote controlled fireplaces, how to use the multi-function detachable shower-heads and jetted tubs, where the WiFi info is located, how to use their room phone, where the library of CDs and DVDs is located, etc., and where to find the extra amenities and refreshments that we tuck in here and there for their added comfort.

As for breakfast descriptions, we quickly name each of the breakfast dishes and their ingredients, as each course is served, believing that our guests prefer to be informed. Again, rather than posting a printed menu, we’d rather do this personally, and we regret that these guests didn’t appreciate that.

When requested, we are amenable to doing extensive advance research before our guests’ arrival, on a variety of interests. That willingness, along with an extensive knowledge of the area, combine to make our concierge services topnotch.

With so many guests coming and going over the years, we’ve developed what we believe to be a pleasant way to be informative and helpful.

But we will take DevonTravellers_11 suggestion that we check the fatigue level and interest of incoming guests before doing so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We enjoyed our stay in the Fairfield Suite, the good hospitality and the amazing food! We hope to be back to this great location!

Room Tip: Fairfield Suite very accessible from front entrance (there are stairs outside), and close to breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B&BHost, Owner at Binners' Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear Angela_and_Bill
It was our pleasure absolutely, to help make your honeymoon memorable and special.
We hope you are back here for each and every anniversary (at least in spirit).
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor and for saying A Lovely Spot to Honeymoon.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Binners' Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Binners' Bed and Breakfast

Address: 58 Linden Avenue, Victoria, British Columbia V8V4C8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Binners' Bed and Breakfast is located in Victoria's most tranquil, close-to-downtown, residential, seaside neighbourhood, yet a 1/2 block to Victoria's ocean side, with breathtaking sunrise and sunset views of the Olympic Mountains along the water's edge pathways. Yet an easy walk to Victoria's vibrant Inner Harbor and City Centre. The beautiful one-bedroom suites and rooms are done in palettes of relaxing muted earth tones, bathed in natural light, are luxuriously furnished and thoughtfully outfitted with paintings and other works by local artists and artisans. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Binners' Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.