We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price hotel in downtown location but lively bars and clubs attached” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Strathcona Hotel to your Saves list
The Strathcona Hotel
919 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 2C2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good price hotel in downtown location but lively bars and clubs attached”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are fitted out well but left you feeling like they are cleaned in a rush. Windows are thin and at the weekend there is a fair bit of street noise for the attached entertainment.
WIFI claimed in rooms is terrible...got to meet other guests at the lift looking for a signal!
Staff were very helpful and welcoming at all times.
2 mins walk to harbour and shops from right outside...great place to base from or go out at night from...not the best to stay in and relax at

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    70
    62
    27
    29
See reviews for
30
81
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for three nights. It does NOT have air conditioning. There was a warm spell and so it was not comfortable sleeping in the room. However, housekeeping brought in a fan and that helped a little. The staff informed me that most of the year the weather is such that AC is not needed.
My room and most of my friends rooms were pretty small...perhaps a tradeoff with cost. Since I was by myself it was not an issue but had I been with my wife, it would have been tight. Also, the room was dowdy...definitely needs a face lift with brighter colors.
The best thing about the hotel was the bar....The Sticky Wicket. Even if you don't play cricket its a great bar with good ambiance ( a little loud however). The rooftop bar was also fun.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Hotel itself is pretty subpar, but you are staying there for everything else. Rooftop sand vball courts out the window of our room was fun to see. The hotel is also adjoining 3 restaurants, bars and clubs. We were there on a weekday night and there was no noise to speak of. If you want a nice hotel, this probably isn't the one, being everything is still straight out of the 70's, but if you want to be around the action, give it a shot. Staff wasn't incredibly helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the volleyball courts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

The hotel is well located in downtown Victoria, a short walk away for the bus station and with most of the interesting places within walking distance. Room was very basic, no closet or minibar, but the bed was decent and the bathroom very clean. The main problem was the noise: noise from the club and pub located downstairs, from the next room (they were communicated through locked doors and you can hear everything your neighbours do) and from the guests arriving late at night (most of them laughing and talking, and even when they were silent, doors made noise when being closed). All of that noise made difficult to sleep until late, and guarantee you an early wake-up, so I recommend avoiding this hotel on weekends, unless you're planning to party all night long.
Girls at reception were nice and efficient. Breakfast was average, toasts, cereals and so.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

A friend and I stayed one night in the Strathcona Hotel. We booked it online and were looking for less expensive lodging. I was happily surprised they have a small parking lot for guests. Our room was clean, quite small and unimpressive. The beds were very hard and we both has trouble sleeping. Other guests decided to by very loud going to their rooms at midnight and woke us up. The continental breakfast was basic. The best part was the location. Walking distance to most anything in downtown Victoria. Next time I'll pay more and stay somewhere with comfy beds. Staff was nice.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tholen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located downtown Victoria with all the interesting places within walking distance. We arrived on a Saturday during the Busker Festival so many activities in and around the harbour area. The rooms where small and we could see the neighboring beach volleyball courts from the room. When we returned from dinner around 10PM there was a line of people trying to get in the “Rooftop Surfclub. Turned out that his place was producing a lot of noise even hearable with the window closed which lasted until 2AM. OK it Saturday night so let’s get over it, unfortunately Sunday night was the same but only until 1AM we actually woke up because the music stopped but then the sound turned into a murmuring which kept us awake again. When we checked out other people try checked in and they we’re offered a renovated room on the quite side, so you can have a nice stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Strath over the ska fest. The hotel was in the perfect location for us as it happened to be right next to the venue that half the gigs were at and about a 5 minute walk from the other main venue. We spent very little time here in the rooms. Having said that, rooms were simple, there was a connecting door to the room next door to us.
The walls are very very thin. you can hear everything in the room next to you. We were on the third floor and could still hear the party revellers on the street.
When we got back from the gig on the second night our neighbour knocked the wall, assumedly telling us to shut up, we only just got in, it was late, we were already going to sleep. This is the first time I have ever experienced anything like this passive aggressiveness in the 30+ hotels I've been in. And I've been in a lot of thinned walled hotels. Que 6.30am we get more knocks on the door. The joining door. 10 minutes later more knocks. Another 10 minutes more knocks. Their radio is playing. When we do get out of bed at 8am their radio is still blaring and its obvious no one is in there. We notify the front desk about it and they tell us that our neighbours had checked out. Once again I have never experienced such a thing. Be aware that if you expect to have a quiet night's sleep without interruption the Strath is not the place you should be staying, and if you want a place to crash after a night of partying you may be met with some passive aggressive human rash for a neighbour who failed to read any reviews or even look at the location of the hotel before booking and thus ruin any hope you may have had for a decent sleep yourself.

Moving on. Breakfast is simple, toast, cereal, bagels, terrible orange juice, everything you come to expect from Canadian hotels. Always 3 dirty bowls before you find the elusive clean one. Breakfast is in the pub next to the hotel, however accessed through the lobby.

The staff are friendly and helpful. We were met with one totally useless girl who couldn't give us directions, well, she gave directions, just not in a way that any normal person would be able to understand. The rest of the staff - great. Couldn't fault them. They tried their best.

Tourist attractions are an easy walk from the hotel. Everything that is listed in the tourist guides are fairly close. The bus for the ferry is two blocks away. There is an elevator that runs incredibly slow. The lobby can get packed at any time of the day and on the weekend can be home to injured party goers and ambulance staff.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Strathcona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathcona Hotel

Address: 919 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 2C2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Strathcona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathcona Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Strathcona Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.