We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Magnolia Hotel And Spa to your Saves list
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Saver
Ranked #2 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“High class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Magnolia. The location was superb, and the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, both during our stay and after with coordinating return of items we accidentally left in the room. The room decor mixes modern with old world, and was exquisite. We would absolutely stay here again!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,077
    233
    47
    16
    5
See reviews for
216
729
63
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Very lovely spot, convenient to center of town and restaurants. Nice room and business center. Staff extremely helpful. I would highly recommend this nice little hotel. Has a nice continental breakfast, wifi for each room. Valet parking for car.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for our first anniversary and considering it was #2 hotel in Victoria I expected more. The hotel is decent, but not spectacular. The staff were great, very friendly and professional. The location was perfect for us. We checked our car into valet and walked where we needed to go. Right in the middle of the tourist area of downtown. Our city view room looked out at a parkade on one side and the neighbours roof on the other, the view definitely wasn't worth paying extra for. The Room was comfortable and clean but for the price I expected more.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Jimb,

Thank you for your review and your business with our hotel. We truly appreciate your choosing our property for your 1st anniversary.

I appreciate and thank you for the many kind comments in your review. Specifically, the location, warm & friendly service, the cleanliness - all of which appear as though they had a positive impact on your visit with us.

I was very sorry to hear that you were underwhelmed overall based on the price, and with the view to the room. I have reached out via private message and hope we can make this up to you in some way.

The Magnolia Hotel prides itself in being a small luxury boutique hotel, with exceptional standards and service. While we would appear to have met this expectation on some levels, clearly we fell short in some respects during your August stay.

Thank you again for your business and your review,

I hope we can be in touch and welcome you back again,

Best Wishes,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Email: GM@Magnoliahotel.com
Direct Tel: 250-412-8480
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

This luxury boutique hotel us just 2 blocks from the harbor and has all amenities you could ask for. The most outstanding thing, however, is the friendly and welcoming staff. They were always such a joy to be around and so helpful. Lovely, comfortable rooms...coffee in the lobby all day...so many nice touches! Great location for everything. (Parking is extra, but you don't need a car really).

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Chinana

Thank you for the lovely review following your recent visit. I am so pleased that you found our small boutique hotel lovely and luxurious. Our "friendly and welcoming staff" team is also thankful for the lovely praise about their service. It is a pleasure to work along side our team of professionals every day, and feedback such as yours truly inspires us to welcome every guest through our doors with this same level of service.

I truly hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Sincerely,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Email: GM@Magnoliahotel.com
Direct Tel: 250 412 8480
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This is truly a gem in downtown Victoria! The service is personalized and staff are incredible. Great for business or leisure. The rooms are very comfortable and quite spacious. It's a definite favourite!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Great service, nice accommodations, professional staff. Perfect boutique hotel in downtown Victoria. Expect to pay though. Liked the coffee and baked goods in the lobby for breakfast. Very quiet, ask for the harbor views and enjoy the planes!

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you Vintage for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your review.

I am so pleased to hear you found the boutique hotel "Terrific" and enjoyed many of the little touches in the hotel, The early morning pastries in the lobby has been a well received quick bite since we added this earlier this year.

Thank you again for choosing the Magnolia, and for taking the time to share you feedback,

Best Wishes,


Sincerely,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Email: GM@Magnoliahotel.com
Direct Tel: 250 412 8480
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bc canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We got a deal for this great hotel on Hotwire. The location is fantastic for visiting downtown Victoria. Just a block from the harbour, shopping, restaurants, the Parliament building. Our room was large, decorated in restful tones of grey, silver and blues. Valet parking is reasonable $24/day. Check in was fast and pleasant. I didn't use the Spa services but they provide Aveda soaps and shampoos in the rooms. The bathroom was large, with an awesome soaker tub and separate shower, marble floors and very clean. Fresh apples, water and chocolates were made available every day in the room. In house coffee is served all day in the lobby and there is a Keurig Coffee maker serving Starbucks Coffee or tea in the room. For a fee, there is wine, liquor and treats available in the in room fridge. The only downside to the room is there is no pay per view movies available but for us, that was not a concern at all. There is a restaurant attached to the hotel which we didn't dine in but we ordered room service and the meat and cheese plate was very nice. I will definately be staying here again the next time we're in Victoria.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Canucknurse,

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your lovely and detailed review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and plan on returning again with us.

If I can be of personal assistance at any time in booking a return trip please let me know.

Best Wishes,


Sincerely,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Email: GM@Magnoliahotel.com
Direct Tel: 250 412 8480
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnolia Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Address: 623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#1 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#1 Business Hotel in Victoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#2 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Magnolia Hotel And Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Victoria’s Favourite Boutique Hotel.Beautifully refreshed new guest rooms with plush textures, elegant patterns and raw-silk inspired walls. Outstanding location, just 2 blocks from Victoria’s picturesque Inner Harbour and in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment. Tranquil Spa Magnolia and the exciting new Catalano Restaurant & Cicchetti Bar. The kind of undistracted attention you can only receive in a boutique hotel with just 64 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Magnolia Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel And Victoria
Magnolia Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Hotel And Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.