We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome; warmer au revoir” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Save Saved
You added Magnolia Hotel And Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save 30%
Ranked #3 of 57 hotels in Victoria
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Warm welcome; warmer au revoir”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

It is something special, out of the ordinary, that inspires this posting.

Other posts rightly exclaim the virtues of this lovely hotel - staff, service, rooms, food and location. But it was the response the Front Desk staff and General Manager to our unexpected early departure (made necessary by emergency) that elevates status to the highest levels and distinguishes them from other high end venues. Specifically, we neither expected nor sought refund on nights not used, but we received that courtesy quickly and with ease.

Whenever service is "off the grid," not in the rule book, but in the highest interests of relationship building, focused entirely on the customer, this is when I know a hotel, its leadership, management and staff are extraordinary.

They will have our repeat business with thanks and gratitude.

Room Tip: Worth the extra cost for harbour view. While still very pleasant, our room overlooked roofs of other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Peter,

Thank you sincerely for your kind review of The Magnolia.
It was a truly a pleasure to have you with us at the hotel, and I am sorry that your stay was unexpectedly cut short.

I am pleased you appreciated our service. We have a wonderful team of professionals who care passionately about our business. As you correctly noted, it is indeed far more important for us to have a long term & satisfied guest than to enforce a penalty on what was an unexpected departure.

We all look forward to your return visit on your next trip West to Victoria,

Best Wishes,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Email: gm@magnoliahotel.com
Direct Tel: 250 412 8480
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    806
    182
    44
    16
    5
See reviews for
168
559
54
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Best location in Victoria. Close to the water, shopping, restaurants and museums. Felt safe walking around at night. Hotel room had a view of the waterfront on the 6th floor. Room was nicely decorated and very comfortable. We were given complimentary continental breakfast for the attached restaurant and that was also good. We did not use the Spa.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My sister and I had the privilege of staying in this wonderful spot this last weekend. What a great hotel. It is close to everything in downtown Victoria. We found excellent dinner places within a block. Shopping and the water are a block away. The hotel has just been renovated and the rooms a beautiful. Ours had a lovely gas fireplace, the in-room amenities were Aveda, and wonderful plush robes to wear. We also tried out the Magnolia Spa next door, which was also lovely. The restaurant in the hotel Catalona was delicious for dinner.

My only reason for not giving 5 stars was for 2 reasons: 1. Parking is an additional $24 per day, which is steep. There was on street parking free overnight but because it is in a great dining location, it was difficult to find parking which was free after 6 pm M-Sat, and Free Sunday, so if you are hanging around the hotel to enjoy the close by things to do, you had to either pay the $24 or plug the meter on a regular basis
2. A wonderful breakfast served downstairs in the restaurant was lovely, however they didn't seem prepared for morning crowds as we had to wait both mornings for waffles and/or omelettes to be placed into the warming dish. They were delicious if you happened to time it right and get some, but felt they could have been better prepared.

OverLl, a great experience and highly recommend. We would return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed at this hotel the first week of July for one night after spending two nights in Vancouver. I wish I had spent my entire trip here. The room was amazing. The bed was super comfortable. The staff bent over backwards to help with anything I needed. As a solo female traveller I felt safe in the hotel itself and down by the waterfront and parliament buildings. Two days and one night was not enough time.

I didn't have time to visit the spa but heard other travellers speak to how fabulous it was.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Rose from Toronto,

Thank you so much for the kind review of your stay with us in July.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the room, and the location to the harbour and shops.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again to The Magnolia on your next journey to Victoria,

Best Wishes,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Email: gm@magnoliahotel.com
Direct Tel: 250 412 8480
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, NJ
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

After staying at the Magnolia in Denver on a previous vacation I decided to book again at a Magnolia on our recent 12 day road trip through Canada. One of our nights was to spend time in Victoria. People brag about the Fairmount (of which is beautiful), but the prices are way too high. We decided to stay at the Magnolia, which was just around the corner from the Fairmount. It would be hard to believe that they would get better service than we did. The staff at the Magnolia Hotel and Spa in Victoria was top shelf! From the front desk to the valet service, we could not have asked for more. The rooms were comfortable, clean, plenty large enough and the location was perfect, being no more than one block from the harbor. I will continue to search for a Magnolia on every trip we may take in the future. You can't go wrong. Just a hint. We were upgraded to a corner room that had a perfect view. Ask for one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Maxnsimon,

Thank you for the kind words following your visit with us.

On behalf of our entire team we truly appreciate the kind comments about the perfect location, guest rooms with a perfect view and exceptional service.

With respect to your wonderful stays with the Magnolia hotels in the USA, I did want to point out for clarity that the Magnolia Hotel & Spa is not affiliated in any way to the chain in the USA. I do understand however that the Magnolia hotel group in the USA runs a exceptional collection of hotels, and am certain they are equally as worthy of your kind feedback.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel,

Warm Regards,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Email: gm@magnoliahotel.com
Direct Tel: 250 412 8480
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithia, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is our second time staying at the Magnolia Hotel and Spa. We stayed three nights in a corner room on the 6th floor with a fireplace. We stayed last year and were surprised that they have upgraded the rooms. It is obvious that they upgrade before it looks like it needs it. What a clean, cozy, beautiful hotel. The lobby has a two sided fireplace so that you can also enjoy it in the breakfast area on chilly mornings. Victoria is known for the flowers. In the hotel lobby they have a huge fresh flower arrangement that is frequently changed. The rooms are spacious and feel luxurious. The bed is very comfortable. You feel like you are in a really nice private apartment when you enter the hotel. Location is right next to the Empress on the shopping side of town. You really can't get a better location. This hotel has is all. Great location, really, really nice rooms and bathrooms, great service, and a good continental breakfast with smoothies. They have single serve good coffee in the rooms. I drink a lot so they gave me as many packets as I wanted. When you walk out of the lobby you can be in the heart of shopping or the harbor in 3 minutes. It is 10 minutes to Beacon Hill Park. All the staff are very nice.

Room Tip: Get a room with a fireplace. Higher floors have better views. We have had both a water view and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Cynthia,

Thank you for your recent visit with us in Victoria, and returning for another lovely stay.

Thank you also for the kind comments about our 2013 room renovation. We did indeed plan our renovation to occur prior to the hotel's standards ever being allowed to decline. I am thrilled that you enjoyed this stay as much as your last in our luxe new rooms.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed the luxurious rooms, the location, and the intimate feeling of our lobby.

I truly hope we see you back for many more visits with us,

If I can be of personal assistance at any time, please let me know

Sincerely,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Email: gm@magnoliahotel.com
Direct Tel: 250 412 8480
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a review for a stay that occurred from August 25-31, 2013

This visit was partially business (conference) and personal family travel. The locate is conveniently located near the Victoria Convention Centre and all of the tourist destinations within the core of Victoria, more importantly it is located a small side street (a very nice safe sidestreet) that is very quiet in the evenings.

We arrived early so our room was not ready, they happily stored our bags and offered to call our cellphone when the room was ready. They also indicated that they would have the cleaning staff tend to the room immediately. We left our bags and went in search of lunch. No sooner did we order than the hotel called indicating the room is ready. We wandered back after a great meal and formally checked in. The room was immaculate, beautifully decorated, east facing (not the greatest view but we had a window that opened), and spotless -- not marks on the walls or furniture. It was evident that this hotel maintains their facilities on a regular basis.

Our luggage was already in the room, sitting on luggage racks. Our small groceries had been put into the fridge (there is also a mini-bar, the prices almost compared to what you can buy in the stores around the hotel). I imagine they would have unpacked for us if we requested.

**They had turn down service and chocolates on the bed side tables every evening** Nice touch.

Decent, but not great continental breakfast. Service at the concierge's desk was excellent, tech support for a wifi issue was prompt and efficient. All in all the staff took the time to be professional and friendly.

I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in Victoria.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you Christopher for the kind and detailed comments about your visit with us.

I am so pleased that our service levels and attention to detail had such a positive impact on your visit with us in Victoria.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again with us. If I can be of personal assistance in any way in the future please let me know.

Best Regards,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Email: gm@magnoliahotel.com
Direct Tel: 250 412 8480
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnolia Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Address: 623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Victoria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#3 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#4 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Magnolia Hotel And Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Victoria’s Favourite Boutique Hotel.Beautifully refreshed new guest rooms with plush textures, elegant patterns and raw-silk inspired walls. Outstanding location, just 2 blocks from Victoria’s picturesque Inner Harbour and in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment. Tranquil Spa Magnolia and the exciting new Catalano Restaurant & Cicchetti Bar. The kind of undistracted attention you can only receive in a boutique hotel with just 64 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Magnolia Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel And Victoria
Magnolia Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Hotel And Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.