We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it keeps getting better and better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Save Saved
You added Magnolia Hotel And Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer & Save More
Ranked #3 of 57 hotels in Victoria
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“it keeps getting better and better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

we stay at the Magnolia every time we want the perfect run away and once again they have surpassed what we expect. The room design is gorgeous and the level of service and attention is surpassed!
We had what always stayed in what we thought was the best room in the hotel until we tried one of the rooms that has the opening windows that looks over the Parliament buildings. Stunning is all I can say!! The room was gorgeous and the view spectacular. We were hoping for the 7th floor but were on the 6th but not disappointed as we heard no one else during our stay! We are frequent guests and the fact that we were remembered and acknowledged for that made it all more special.
If you have not stayed here do yourself a favour and spoil yourself and ruin yourself for all other hotels
Thank you to Blair and the rest of the staff!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you so much Jane for the kind words about your recent visit.

We truly appreciate the loyal following you have to the hotel, and the personal connection you make with us on your visits. Blair was very pleased to be mentioned by name as he prides himself in leading the front line of our Magnolia team.

I am glad you enjoyed the Signature Diamond room and the stunning view. Thank you also for the engagement you have with us on our Facebook page! It is always fun to stay connected with our guests between stays.

We hope to see you back again soon,

If I can be of assistance at any time, please let me know.

Best Wishes,

Bill

Bill Lewis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    761
    167
    42
    16
    5
See reviews for
156
523
53
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Nice big rooms, central location, and the spa is a convenient well-priced option. The mints and turn down service were nice additions! The mini bar was very reasonably priced as well. Quick, efficient check in and check out.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Lovely boutique hotel located in the heart of the city. My 6th floor corner room had a view of the inner harbour. Staff were very welcoming. The chocolates, apples, and Aveda toiletries were appreciated after a long day of meetings. The continental breakfast had a limited selection, but was an adequate start to the day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We just spent three nights at the Magnolia and were thoroughly impressed. We stayed in a 7th floor room which had a fireplace and beautiful views of the harbour. We enjoyed watching the sunset each night! The bed and pillows were beyond comfortable.

The breakfast was free and fabulous...much better than a typical continental...included basic omelettes, very delicious muffins, fruit smoothies, waffles with many toppings, etc.

The service was always great...from the valet parking, the front desk and housekeeping. They did little things like one staff person saw we were about to walk up to the elevator and she was walking by so she pressed the button.

There were a couple of glitches...housekeeping missed us one day and then on another day we didn't receive turndown service but we called the front desk and they sent housekeeping immediately and when we told them about turndown they gave us a handful of chocolates that you usually receive at turndown.

I enjoyed a facial at the spa which was great. As for the new hotel restaurant, the menu looked great but we already had reservations other places. We did order the flourless chocolate cake one night and it was absolutely delicious.

The location of the hotel is outstanding...right downtown but on a very quiet street.

Overall a great experience!

Room Tip: 7th floor includes fireplaces...get one facing the harbour for a wonderful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VANCOUVER BC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location, service, and breakfast is included with your stay. Comfortable rooms and walking distance to central harbour. Also close to some good restaurants in the area. Central but away from the noisy crowded tourist area. They recently upgraded the rooms as well. A little more expensive than others but well worth it!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We (couple) came up from the U.S. for a couple of nights, and were looking to stay in a fairly nice location. The Magnolia had a deal going on for some of their recently redone rooms - and considering what we got for the price, I'd say it was a steal. The rooms are immaculately well-designed, and the amenities are excellent. Not to mention the beds were beyond comfortable, and we had a view over downtown all the way to the bay. The front desk staff were extremely kind and helpful, and detailed a bunch of exciting things to do in Victoria during our stay. The breakfast was delicious as well. Honestly, I have no complaints whatsoever about this place. My only regret is that we didn't have the time to get some spa treatment next door - I would recommend treating yourself if you stay here! But the hotel is a pretty nice treat itself.

Room Tip: The refresh deal going on has rooms for about 50 dollars cheaper than normal - a great value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear "MountainTopSeaFloor",

Thanks you so much for the kind review following your recent visit with us.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed our Introductory offer to experience our newly renovated "refreshed" rooms. We are very pleased with the new product, and it is rewarding to hear your great feedback.

I do hope your next visit can include a Spa Magnolia treatment as well,

If I can be of personal assistance at any time, please contact me at gm@magnoliahotel.com

Best Wishes,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here back in March. Have to say you can't get a better location. Right from when we checked in literally every staff member we encountered was friendly and courteous. The rooms were nice and clean. It was nice that breakfast was included but it wasn't anything special. Either way great place to stay, highly recommended and there are apples everywhere!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Magnolia Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Address: 623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Victoria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#3 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#4 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Magnolia Hotel And Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Victoria’s Favourite Boutique Hotel.Beautifully refreshed new guest rooms with plush textures, elegant patterns and raw-silk inspired walls. Outstanding location, just 2 blocks from Victoria’s picturesque Inner Harbour and in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment. Tranquil Spa Magnolia and the exciting new Catalano Restaurant & Cicchetti Bar. The kind of undistracted attention you can only receive in a boutique hotel with just 64 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tablet Hotels, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Magnolia Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel And Victoria
Magnolia Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Hotel And Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.