We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Most Enjoyable Week!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage to your Saves list
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Government St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2L2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
CAD10 off room rate
Ranked #27 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Burlington, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A Most Enjoyable Week!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed solo at this delightful inn and always felt safe and secure. My room was cosy with a comfortable bed. I loved being able to leave the window open (without a screen) and enjoy the fresh air. I fell in love with the 3rd floor balcony and spent time there reading or enjoying a glass of wine. Very helpful staff, good restaurant. Great location! I could walk to the Inner Harbour, downtown, Beacon Hill Park, and Dallas Road in record time. Well-worth the money; I would highly recommend the James Bay Inn and look forward to returning there!

Room Tip: Third floor room (if you can navigate the stairs) is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    120
    35
    18
    11
See reviews for
38
107
42
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We could not have chosen better! The Inn is a gem, it has kept it's elegant charm from when it was built. The hotel staff are very helpful and knowledgeable about their home town. It is only a short walk to town and the harbor area. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Country, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just spent 3 nights at the James Bay Inn - so convenient to walking to downtown Victoria. This is an older inn but very clean with helpful staff. The slope of the bedroom floor was entertainment in itself. Very comfortable beds, clean bathroom, blow dryer available on request. Bonus was having a little fridge in the room and coffee in the lobby in the mornings. We received a discount for the restaurant which we used for the first breakfast but were quite disappointed in the food - not very warm and quite slow to arrive. Loved being able to park the car and just walk.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed at this place 2 nites in mid August. Thanks to the young attendant who was informative and pleasant, we had a very nice time in Victoria. Our room was spacious and comfortable. We were in a residential place. Therefore, the place was quiet. If it matters, would recommend that coffee be available throughout the day and not limited to the morning.

Room Tip: Walkable to tourist area and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, CA
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
67 hotel reviews
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

James Bay Inn - service 3*, Cleanliness - 4, price - 4, but was included as part of the package. Location - 4. Minuses: no AC, small bathroom counter - literally 14" x 20", no hairdryers in room - have to check them out down below & not completely functional. No screens on the windows. To help cool the room, one has to leave the windows open, and with no screens, who knows what will fly in. Biggest minus - no elevator!! Fortunately we arrived while the young man whose job it is to carry bags up stairs, was on duty.
Bottom line - ok for a night, but be aware of the drawbacks. Front desk was helpful. The pub was ok for a brew & snack.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I had been on holiday for the previous 2 weeks through Oregon and Seattle. Accommodations there were quite adequate. The accommodations at the James Bay Inn were superb. The bedding in particular was magnificent. In fact, I don't think I have slept as well in years.

I will certainly recommend this Inn to anyone visiting Victoria. The safe, most comfortable respite was an intricate part of the enjoyment I had visiting Victoria. I will hope to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The room was a bit tired, the hotel was characterful and on a lovely street. Good value for money and only a short walk to the harbor. Plenty of restaurants just down the street near the harbor. There is a pub underneath the hotel, but unfortunately we never tried it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage

Address: 270 Government St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Historic district facing lush Beacon Hill Park, a green walk to the ocean and steps to the picturesque Inner Harbour and downtown's shopping and entertainment. Cozy, simple and affordable accommodation is provided in this three story Edwardian architecture with Heritage House and Cottage. Some day-dreaming cases have been reported on sunny balconies with birds tweeting and frequent horse-drawn carriages trotting by. Art-deco Café-restaurant and friendly pub.Free parking. Free Wi-Fi. Free Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage Hotel Victoria
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites And Cottage
The James Bay Hotel
James Bay Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.