We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage

Save Saved
You added James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Government St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2L2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 57 hotels in Victoria
Dusseldorf
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

St James Bay Inn and neither the newest nor the most fanciest hotel in Victoria - and many people already mentioned that it can be hard to carry your luggage to the third floor. We chose it for price and location and didn't regret it. You can easily walk to the inner harbour, parliament, museum, etc.. We had a room with two double beds which was quite large and very clean.
Our recommendation for breakfast: the parliament's restaurant.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    90
    31
    18
    9
See reviews for
30
79
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I had to travel to Victoria for work and the budget was pretty tight. As a result I felt pretty constrained in choosing a hotel in Victoria. I have stayed at Paul's Motor Inn before, but found the room was completely saturated with cigarette smoke, and did not wish to take my chances there. I decided to give the James Bay Inn a try instead. I got a double room, facing the inner courtyard, for $89/night. The room was small, but fine for my needs (it had a desk and a small TV) and the bathroom was actually a fair size. The bed wasn't anything amazing, but was totally fine. The front desk staff were super friendly and I loved the heritage aspect of the hotel. It's also super close to downtown (10 minute walk). I experienced no problem with noise. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I chose the James Bay Inn because my usual place was booked. I was a bit disappointed. As someone else pointed out, it was very small, extremely basic...(no hairdryer, leaky shower, no water pressure in bathroom tap, paper thin walls...) and the place did have a general tired feeling to it. However, it is in an excellent location and it has a decent restaurant downstairs.

Room Tip: Good restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, ON
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Needed a room for the night close to the ferry docking in downtown Victoria.. with no advanced booking were able to get room for 1 night. Room was small, but enough for our needs, very quaint and clean. Front desk personnel were very friendly. Stayed there on 2 separate occasions in our visit to Victoria, as it was close to where we wanted to be; easy walking to harbor area - docks - parks. There is a lot of history in the hotel, take the time to see it...very satisfied with this hotel :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The words cheap and cheerfull do not do the James Bay Hotel justice, although it was both.
A vacation hotel room is just a launch pad for the days sightseeing, some where to sleep, bath,and store luggage. The James Bay Hotel (JBH) is perfectly adequate for this plus has an excellent Bar and Restaurant, both of which are popular with locals, always a good sign. Staff were all friendly and helpfull and the location, less than ten minutes walk from the down town waterfront, in one direction, less than five minutes to the Beacon Hill Park in another and around fifteen minutes to Fishermans Wharf in another is convienient.
Victoria its self is a faboulous city for tourists. It combines the old world charm of London with the vibrancy of Hong Kong. The harbour a cross between Sydney and Hong Kong. The back streets, ally ways and reconstructed squares have a charm of their own combining history with the desires of modern day tourists. At times we felt we were in the English Cotswolds. Stop to look at a map and a local appears to ask if you need help.. For 25 years I have been telling people about the Butchant Gardens, without ever having been there. I was not dissapointed In many ways they outshine Kew and Hagley Park, but you do need about about six hours so don't rely on the two hours allowed for on some bus tours.
Victorians are proud of their craft beers and justifyably so, with organised bus tours enabling tourists to sample many distinct local brews. The best we sampled were at Swans in Pandora Avenue. Buy the tasting tray and choose any six fom the menu, there's about 12 to choose from.
Yes Victoria has been added to our list of must return destinations,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Very small room size, with very basic amenities, good location i guess and suggest upgrading if possible., only stayed because of a good deal assuming was a good fit but at first glance not very satisfied.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

James Bay Inn was exactly what we expected. Average was what we were looking for. The location is a few blocks from Parliament and the Inner Harbor which is what we wanted. Front desk was friendly and helpful. The restaurant downstairs does great job on breakfast. The hotel is old, but has been taken care of putting it in good condition. Don't expect luxury by any means and it is definitely not a dump. We were in Victoria to see the city and were not spending much time in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage

Address: 270 Government St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 57 hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Historic district facing lush Beacon Hill Park, a green walk to the ocean and steps to the picturesque Inner Harbour and downtown's shopping and entertainment. Cozy, simple and affordable accommodation is provided in this three story Edwardian architecture with Heritage House and Cottage. Some day-dreaming cases have been reported on sunny balconies with birds tweeting and frequent horse-drawn carriages trotting by. Art-deco Café-restaurant and friendly pub.Free parking. Free Wi-Fi. Free Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage Hotel Victoria
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites And Cottage
The James Bay Hotel
James Bay Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.