We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great loaction, only one lift,” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Victoria On The Harbour

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Victoria On The Harbour to your Saves list
Days Inn Victoria On The Harbour
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   427 Belleville St., Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada (James Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Westport, Ireland
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“great loaction, only one lift,”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

the loaction of the hotel is great, overlooking the harbour and near the museum. The hotel was busy and only one lift was a bit of a bother. the hotel could do with a face lift as it was well used, but clean. i would not recommend eating breakfast at teh hotel. it was disorganised, slow and not the best grub. the problem appears to be that it is near a ferry terminal and lots of peopke pop in for breakfast while wiating for the ferry. the wifi connection was very week

Room Tip: a room overliooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDaysInnVic, General Manager at Days Inn Victoria On The Harbour, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Thank you very much for your comments and we’re happy you enjoyed the downtown location – it is something we are definitely known for. We hope to see you again and we hope you will choose to give us an opportunity to better serve you in our onsite restaurant in the future. Thank you again, we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    260
    165
    75
    32
See reviews for
184
251
64
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

This is a perfectly located hotel for a city break. Kitchens are small and not greatly equipped, but adequate for purpose. My husband thinks it was the best pool ever as it is lovely and warm!! Reception staff friendly and helpful, and room not noisy despite close proximity of bar. Location is its selling point...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDaysInnVic, General Manager at Days Inn Victoria On The Harbour, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all the feedback from our guests. Our seasonal outdoor heated pool and whirlpool is a prefect break for adults and children alike. With the pool being open from April to October - it helps everyone cool off for the summer...while the whirlpool is yearround of course...Our location is ideal for walking to pretty much everything, including the Parliament Buildings, Royal BC Museum and shopping. and we're happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful Garden City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

This is part of our road trip destination. We started from San Francisco driving 101N all the way to Vancouver. Unlike the usual, we decided not to make any reservation in this trip due to low season.

After getting off the ferry, we came to this hotel which is literally across the pier. First we weren't sure. So we decided to head towards town.

But just after walking a block, we realized that Victoria is really big. Unfortunately we didn't have our rental car because we left it at Port Angeles in Washington. So we turned around and went back to the hotel.

The room was small but comfortable. Yes, like mentioned in previous reviews, the maids did spray lots of air freshener to disguise old carpet smell. It was noticeable but didn't bother us.

We walked around the harbor in the evening. It was beautiful.

The next morning we were torn between visiting the garden or a bike tour. We decided to go for the bikes because we had been on the road for 4 days straight and needed some real exercise.

So we rented bikes and we did a tour crossing town to the east and down to Beacon Hill. It was nice but definitely exhausting.

On the way, we stopped by chinatown. It was interesting to know that it was the first chinatown in North America but sad to see that it was so small - just a short block - in proportion to the size of the city.

In the afternoon, we took the ferry back to Port Angeles.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDaysInnVic, General Manager at Days Inn Victoria On The Harbour, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We do have an ideal location within walking distance of the heart of downtown, shopping, sightseeing, the Convention Centre and of course both the Clipper Ferry to Seattle and the Black Ball Coho Ferry going to Port Angeles. Thank you again for taking the time to post this review and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We spent one night at this hotel as a stop between Vancouver and Ucluelet. The hotel was clean and the main areas were tidy. Beware of the lift though; it tends to stop with a large jerk. The room itself smelt very musky but we opened the windows when we arrived and this soon cleared it. We had a room at the front of the hotel which was lovely as it over looked Victoria bay. It was about a 15 minute walk in to the main centre of Victoria. The room had a large bed and was very comfortable. It was very hot in the room so we had the windows open which meant we were awoken quite early by the boats and the traffic but we needed an early start for our journey anyway. We did not eat at the Hotel or use any of the facilities it was literally just a stopover. The hotel was good value for the money we paid and was ideal just for one night but I probably wouldn’t stay for longer than that.

Room Tip: Ask for a Bay view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDaysInnVic, General Manager at Days Inn Victoria On The Harbour, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We are lucky that our ideal location allows our guests to be downtown along the Inner Harbour; close to everything and offering our guests harbor view guest rooms. Thank you again for taking the time to post this review and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

The hotel was a better value than most hotels in the area. It was located right on the harbor, close to the ferry terminal. This is both a plus and a negative. The plus was the nice view and proximity to downtown attractions, shopping, dining and museums. The negative was the location. The hotel was poorly ventilated so it was necessary to open the window to cool the room down. When the window was open, as it was most of the time, noise from the seaplane docks and from the ferry docks was annoying during the day and the street noises until late at night made sleeping difficult, even on the fourth floor.
The room was small and lacked microwave or fridge. During the 3 nights of our stay, we were forced to find parking on the street because the small hotel parking lot was full, not with cars of hotel patrons, but with patrons of the bar, restaurant and package store located on the hotel grounds. I feel that hotel patrons should have been given priority in the parking lot. Lastly, the hotel elevator was tiny and accommodated a luggage trolley only with a lot of jockeying about. To be fair, the staff was friendly and helpful and while the facility had seen better days, was clean and in good repair. But given the ventilation and parking issues, I would not stay there again, no matter how good the price was.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDaysInnVic, General Manager at Days Inn Victoria On The Harbour, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Thank you very much for your comments and we’re glad you liked the downtown location – it is something we are known for. For our noise sensitive guests we usually recommend our city view rooms rather than the harbourview. We also do have kitchenettes available for guests that are looking for extended amenities. Thank you again for your comments, and staff compliments, and I hope you will choose to give us an opportunity to better serve you in the future. Should you wish to provide additional feedback please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

We really were looking forward to our stay in Victoria, everything about Victoria and the Swiftsure weekend was great with the exception of the hotel. We arrived on Friday afternoon and the hotel checked us in an hour and forty five minutes late because they did not get the room cleaned in time. We missed our first check in with the crew due to this unfortunate delay, the staff was not friendly and did not apologize for the delay, we asked them to come get us in the bar and she said she was too busy and we would need to check back to see if it was ready so we spent the next hour and forty five minutes checking with her every 20-30 minutes. We saw other people getting checked in ahead of us but somehow they still could not get our room clean and again did not even think we were owed an apology. When I asked for a manager they said there was not a manager on duty. When we did get checked in the room was dirty and thrown together, i was really disappointed but since we were running late we did not bother complaining, after the first night we had asked that our room not be cleaned due to the amount of sailing gear but they came in and cleaned and moved around all our gear, I called the front desk to ask why they came in when there was a do not disturb and she said she would make a note to not have them come the next day, again I asked for a manager and they said there was not a manager on duty. The final issue was that the coffee pot did not work and when i called to get a new one they told me I could purchase coffee in the hotel restaurant, again I was disappointed that they made no effort to make our stay comfortable and no apologies for the poor service. I think for the issues we experienced we would not stay here again.
The only good points are the location is pretty good but for the poor service we will choose something else on our next trip to Victoria

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDaysInnVic, General Manager at Days Inn Victoria On The Harbour, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Thank you very much for your comments. Please know that I will look into this matter and do apologize. We pride ourselves in maintaining the highest level of standards for cleanliness and service. However, unfortunately these standards were not met for you and for that I am sorry. If you don't mind contacting me directly at the Hotel so I can investigate this further it would be much appreciated. We would like the opportunity to better serve you in the future and hope that you will give us that chance. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

If you're looking for a fantastic harbour view, service that is more 'bed & breakfast' or 'country inn' than hotel, plus good dollar value, then this should be your choice of stay while in Victoria. The restaurant was fantastic. As a solo traveler and a senior, I was always made to feel comfortable here,. Thanks again to the staff!

Virginia K.,
Saskatoon, SK

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDaysInnVic, General Manager at Days Inn Victoria On The Harbour, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. We are lucky to have a fabulous restaurant onsite that enables us to do meal packages – and a view from both the room and the patio of the restaurant is great too! Thank you again for taking the time to post this review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Garden City again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Victoria On The Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Victoria On The Harbour

Address: 427 Belleville St., Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Victoria On The Harbour 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located on Victoria’s downtown Inner Harbour, walking distance to Convention Centre, Parliament Buildings, restaurants, shopping, attractions and more. Clean, comfortable guest rooms and an onsite restaurant/lounge, seasonal outdoor heated pool, year-round whirlpool, parking, complimentary high-speed Internet access, local calls, coffee/tea/bottled water. Harbourview, Pet-friendly, and Kitchenette rooms available. Come and visit our beautiful Garden City, and we’ll take care of the rest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Days Inn Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Victoria On The Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Victoria On The Harbour Hotel Victoria
Victoria Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Victoria On The Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.