We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Save Saved
You added Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   867 Humboldt Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2Z6, Canada (Fairfield)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
CAD169 (CAD)
Ranked #14 of 110 Victoria B&B and Inns
Essen, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

After 4 days on the Juan de Fuca trail it felt like heaven to enter Edward´s Room and see the lovely interior and the jacuzzi. Hunboldt House is located in walking distance to Victoria downtown and offers off road parking. David and his family were very friendly and helped out with everything we needed. The in-room breakfast was extraordinairy (try the crepes).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    19
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
111
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

What can I say? The Humboldt House B&B is much more than a B&B..it is a home away from home (but with better service and much better breakfasts!) David and his wife are the key to this amazing nook of old world charm and service. Booking was a dream and David went out of his way to accomodate my needs on business (2 nights) as well as personally with my family.(3 nights) The suites are amazing c/w fireplaces, jacuzzi's and Victorian furnishings. The rooms were VERY quiet and private as this B&B is situated on a quiet street yet close to the harbour (10 minute walk) and all shopping (5-10 minutes walk.)
David has a wonderful breakfast menu which can change daily. Not the "continental" stuff of other establishments but eggs benedict with croissants, fresh fruit, orange juice (to go with your complimentary champagne), coffee/tea or his signature seafood and smoked salmon crepes .... all ending with a hand-made and exquisite truffle. This is by far the best kept secret in Victoria....but not for long!!!

Room Tip: The Edwards room is wonderful (for a couple) as is the floral room (for a family). The upper floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Can't say enough good things about this B&B. A bit pricey but the manager there, Dave, sure delivered it. So it's worth every penny. He welcomed us with tasty truffle and wine. He even let us choose which room to stay at and we picked a bigger one but in the end all the rooms are equipped with jacuzzi tub and very mood soothing music. The location is great. Will return for sure! Oh and Buchart Garden tickets are cheaper here too ;)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitecourt, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

This was a very good bed and breakfast, with a central location. The breakfasts were large and delicious. My only complaint is breakfast is served to each separately to ensure quality and freshness, so you have to sign up early, or you have to wait until later in the morning to have breakfast. The room was smaller, but clean. I would definitely return, and recommend this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Loved it, will always come back...

We stayed Mikado room, very romantic (with a jacuzzi tub) but maybe a little dated.

Truffles and roses were a nice touch. Great breakfast, with four choices. Close to downtown and in a quiet area.

Awesome! Great job.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The hotel I had originally booked bungled my reservation. My parents were staying at the Humboldt, where I met them. When David learnt of my situation, he graciously found a way to accommodate me on very short notice. The rooms are spacious, the beds comfortable, and the breakfasts delicious. What impressed me the most was their helpfulness. They went out of their way to make our stay with them a special experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. All have tubs but not all have a stand up shower. I was able to get one w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great location. I loved having both a fireplace and jacuzzi tub in the room. Breakfast was wonderful. Our whole stay was very indulgent.

My only suggestion is an eco-friendly service, as we would've happily opted out of having maid service for our stay and reusing our towels as well as keeping the sheets until we left.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 867 Humboldt Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2Z6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Room featuring large Jacuzzi baths & wood burning fireplaces. Gourmet in-room breakfasts, chocolates, and sparkling wine included. Located two blocks from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.