We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have been more perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   867 Humboldt Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2Z6, Canada (Fairfield)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 110 Victoria B&B and Inns
Washington State, USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Could not have been more perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I spent our 28th anniversary weekend in the Celebration room at the Humboldt House. David is an excellent and welcoming host. We were greeted and shown to our room. There were truffles awaiting us, and a small bottle of champagne. The Celebration room is large and quiet. The fireplace was ready to light, and there were candles for lighting. The double jacuzzi is very comfortable, as was the bed. There was a CD player with several CDs to choose from to set whatever mood you wanted to set. We slept soundly and comfortably. The room is perfect for a romantic night. In the morning, at our requested time, our breakfast was delivered to our room via a small private cupboard. We had placed our breakfast orders the evening before. Over the two days we tried the continental breakfast, the smoked salmon and shrimp crepe, and the eggs benedict. Everything was delicious, and came with a variety of fresh fruit and fruit juice. We also enjoyed coffee and tea. The location is perfect. It is very quiet, right next to St. Ann's Academy. It's less than 10 minutes walk into downtown Victoria's shopping district, and less than 10 minutes to Beacon Hill Park. David was very helpful in recommending a restaurant for our anniversary dinner, and he made the reservation for us. It was a perfect choice, and we had a wonderful meal. We look forward to staying at Humboldt House in the future and maybe checking out one of the other rooms, although I can't see how they could be better than the Celebration room!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    21
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
119
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

After a night at a standard hotel, we cancelled our two remaining nights and opted for the Humboldt House.

We stayed in Edwards Room. This is a nice room, the least expensive, facing Humboldt but still remarkably quiet. The jetted tub for two was the highlight.

The breakfast was tasty - we tried the crepes, the Benny and the continental and all was good. I have had better breakfasts at other B&Bs but it was certainly good. The odd thing was how it is served. It arrives to your room through a pass-through box at a time predetermined by you. The sign-up sheet is in the lobby the day before and you can choose what you want and what time you want to receive it. Eating in your bedroom would be okay if you had a table or tray to eat off - but in the absence of that you are eating off your lap or sitting on the floor.

Though the tub and breakfast were good I don't think we'd stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithers, B.C.
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Nice breakfasts vary from day to day, served in one's room. Great location - close to the Royal BC museum,the Empress Hotel, the harbour and downtown. The house is on two busy streets, so the rooms are not totally quiet but this did not bother me.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

My wife and I visited the Humboldt House for our honeymoon in June. Can't say enough about how perfect of place this was for a honeymoon. From the calm ambiance and wood-burning fireplace already set up for you, to the private breakfast delivered through the small cubby in the wall and sparkling wine and truffles waiting for you upon your arrival. The location is also perfect. Just a few blocks from the harbor (all the tourist attractions), and a few blocks the other direction to the tranquil Beacon Hill Park (that is, if you want to leave the amazing rooms). David was also a terrific host. Non-obtrusive, but constantly available if you need anything or have questions about anything in town. He is calm and quiet, just like the Humboldt House, but makes for a great conversationalist when you are not busy running around Victoria. Everything was just perfect.

Room Tip: Mikado room was the only room along the main hallway of the house, but still extremely quiet and sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

First and foremost, the location this B&B can't be beat. Just a short walk from the empress building and all the fun of downtown. It's far enough away though to feel private and away from the hustle and bustle. The innkeepers are very friendly and helpful. We loved our room (we stayed in the Oriental room) which was very large, peaceful and comfortable. Our favorite features of the Inn is that they deliver your homemade breakfast right to your room via a 2 way cubby - they actually slide a basket of your food, coffee, orange juice, croissants etc in a little cubby/locker area that they access via a locked door in the hallway. Then you can simply open the other side from the room and enjoy - soooo cool! Secondly, we loved the big whirlpool bathtub. I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This B&B is within easy walking distance to harbour and evening dinning. There is a welcoming sparkling wine and truffles and sherry in the lounge for guests. The room we had was spacious and well appointed. Your choice of breakfast is brought to you in your room. This is different but works well. We would recommend the eggs benedict which come with fruit and croissants.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

What an amazing B&B! We are from the area and just needed a quick get-away and the Humboldt House was the perfect spot! The rooms were beautifully decorated and very clean. The truffles upon arrival were delcious. The breakfast was delievered to our door at our requested time and could not have tasted better. We will be back again and again!

Room Tip: Windsor Room was on ground floor so we weren't concerned about people below us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 867 Humboldt Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2Z6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Room featuring large Jacuzzi baths & wood burning fireplaces. Gourmet in-room breakfasts, chocolates, and sparkling wine included. Located two blocks from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.