We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorite B&B's, location can't be beat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   867 Humboldt Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2Z6, Canada (Fairfield)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Chocolate Truffles!
Ranked #10 of 110 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“One of our favorite B&B's, location can't be beat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

First and foremost, the location this B&B can't be beat. Just a short walk from the empress building and all the fun of downtown. It's far enough away though to feel private and away from the hustle and bustle. The innkeepers are very friendly and helpful. We loved our room (we stayed in the Oriental room) which was very large, peaceful and comfortable. Our favorite features of the Inn is that they deliver your homemade breakfast right to your room via a 2 way cubby - they actually slide a basket of your food, coffee, orange juice, croissants etc in a little cubby/locker area that they access via a locked door in the hallway. Then you can simply open the other side from the room and enjoy - soooo cool! Secondly, we loved the big whirlpool bathtub. I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    23
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
122
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warwick
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This B&B is within easy walking distance to harbour and evening dinning. There is a welcoming sparkling wine and truffles and sherry in the lounge for guests. The room we had was spacious and well appointed. Your choice of breakfast is brought to you in your room. This is different but works well. We would recommend the eggs benedict which come with fruit and croissants.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

What an amazing B&B! We are from the area and just needed a quick get-away and the Humboldt House was the perfect spot! The rooms were beautifully decorated and very clean. The truffles upon arrival were delcious. The breakfast was delievered to our door at our requested time and could not have tasted better. We will be back again and again!

Room Tip: Windsor Room was on ground floor so we weren't concerned about people below us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed 3 nights here and it was such a pleasure. Breakfast is a special treat not only because it is so delicious but it's delivered directly to your room though a pass through. It was the perfect refuge from the city. Birds signing in the morning, soft sounds of church bells in a Japanese themed room. Such a different experience froom a hotel and we throughouly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

The room was romantic and lovely (surprised at no shower, but the jacuzi tub was what we really wanted anyway...). The food was fantastic, and delivered via a dumbwaiter so no need to greet someone at the door for room service. Delicious and cozy. Since we eloped, the owners and other guests became our wittnesses and added to the impromtu wedding so beautifully. Will have to go back for anniversaries and other visits to Victoria. Love it!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be an excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This was a great location as we were close to everything and enjoyed beautiful walks downtown. Our room was breathtaking and made this into the whole old Canada experience. The wood burning fireplace had the aromatic cedar wood to burn in it and relaxing in the jacuzzi tub made this an excellent place to unwind, relax and leave your stress behind. The breakfast was another experience and I still miss them. Beautiful breakfast which I won't go into detail and ruin the surprise. Discreet and great proprieter as he was always there when we needed something but otherwise invisible.
I would highly recommend this as a romantic getwaway or a place to unwind from the daily grind. I left my troubles behind in about 15 min. We were able to walk every where and only needed transportation to and from the airport. We were witnesses for a couple who had there wedding ceremony in the parlour - it was a beautiful place to do this.
I can't think of anything I would want different about my stay at Humboldt House.
Darlene P

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

My husband and I spent this past Christmas as guests at Humboldt house b&B and it exceeded our expectations. Our first time staying at Humboldt House, we decided to stay in the Gazebo room and it was just beautiful. The house was peaceful, festive and the hosts were warm and inviting. We felt at home and relaxed and loved the opportunity to have our own little cocoon with a comfy bed, crackling fireplace and jacuzzi tub. The idea of breakfast being passed into our room in a basket was perfect as we could lay in bed and wait for the little knock at the door...what a treat. You can select your breakfast the night before and choose the time you would like them to deliver it to your room. We loved just getting out of bed and eating in our pyjamas in the privacy of our room. We now consider this place our little get away and can't wait to return. I'm going back for mother's day with my daughter and some lady friends and would recommend it to anyone looking for a heavenly hideaway.

Room Tip: The Gazebo room was very spacious but we sneaked a peek into some of the other rooms and they all se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 867 Humboldt Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2Z6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Room featuring large Jacuzzi baths & wood burning fireplaces. Gourmet in-room breakfasts, chocolates, and sparkling wine included. Located two blocks from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.