We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, poor room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bedford Regency Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bedford Regency Hotel to your Saves list
Bedford Regency Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1140 Government St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1Y2, Canada (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, poor room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stayed here for three nights and four days in the Standard room. The location was amazing, as my fiance and I could walk most of the places that we wanted to go. It is definitely noisy, as there is a pub really close by, so sleep was a little tough in our room. Entering the hotel, the building looks pretty cool with a lot of character.

The service was average. No complaints.

The standard room was too small for my fiance and I. The sink was in the main living space instead of the bathroom, which I found to be a little weird. The shower area was really narrow, so if you're a couple who likes to shower together, this definitely would not work for the two of you, as it only fits one person. If you're traveling alone though, the standard room I feel would do. If I go back to Victoria, I would definitely spend more money on a better room.

The building itself is old, but it has it's charm.

Overall, I think I would have enjoyed my stay here more if I was in a better room. I think what makes this hotel great is the location. It definitely played a big part on our little vacation. Super convenient.

Room Tip: If you are sharing a room, I do not recommend the standard room. I would go with the next biggest op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T T, Front Office Manager at Bedford Regency Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for providing feedback on your stay with us. We do apologize for the inconvenience regarding the room facility . We will definitely review with our team and improve our service. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Bedford Regency Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    56
    38
    29
    18
See reviews for
20
68
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
friday harbor
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

we got a nice suite on the top floor which was romantically perfect! A real wood burning fireplace,, not a fake one like more expensive hotels. 2 big bay windows to sit in with a view of downtown/harbor. super cozy room, comfortable bed, and everything very clean. There is truth in what some reviews say, but do you really care if the lobby is under construction but your room is fine no phone, actually I couldn't tell you as we carry cells. We heard some street noise and strains of the musicians on corner, who we then went down and tipped as we enjoyed their music. If you stay in a hotel in a busy city on the 1st to 4th floor you are going to hear noise, part of the package! we had a fridge, champagne, coffee maker and all we needed in room. Yes there was a few funky things, but you are staying in a very old building with character, look at it that way! We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: request top floor with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T T, Front Office Manager at Bedford Regency Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Bedford Regency Hotel. It is our pleasure to have you stay here and providing a great feedback for us. We are looking forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We picked this hotel due to location and price. The room was nothing special, showing its age but still felt sanitary. No phones in the rooms by the way.

The issue comes with the noise. There are two very happening pubs, one in the first floor of the hotel and the other just across the narrow alley that are quite noisy. That can be manageable depending on what room you are in. Our issue was with the PAPER THIN WALLS. We had some drunken women return to their room adjacent to ours at 1am and proceeded to drink and talk obnoxiously loud until past 2am. We asked them to lower their voices and when that had no effect I reported it to the front desk. He said he would take care of it right away however that was apparently just lip service as he never showed. Trust me, we would have heard his knock and their conversation had he arrived.

We had intended to stay 2 more nights at this hotel but instead explained what happened to the new person at the front desk and asked to check out. The worker was apologetic and complied immediately. We moved to the best western a couple streets up, had an enormous room complete with sofa, coffee table, kitchenette, and dining table for what ended up being LESS $$ thanks to a discount I found. Wish we had just stayed here in the first place!!

Room Tip: Higher floors to get away from street and bar noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T T, Front Office Manager at Bedford Regency Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for providing feedback on your stay with us. We do apologize for the inconvenience regarding the room facility . We will definitely review with our team and improve our service. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Bedford Regency Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

This is a hard review to write as I am very much in two minds about this hotel. Upon check in we were greeted by a building site, something that we hadn't been informed about. The whole reception was a mess and the receptionist seemed a little slow to get us checked in. We were given our keys and also advised where we can park. If you drive they have a convenient 10 minute stopping space out the front, the long stay parking is a couple of blocks away at $11 a day. Which we didn't think was too bad. We had a room on the top floor, for some reason we had a twin room when we booked as a couple, this wasn't a problem just a bit strange. The room was lovely and big with huge windows with a view of the high street below. The decor however was in desperate need of a make over, the blinds are thin and worn looking, the bathroom tap had most of the paint chipped off, the chair in the room was very worn. For a couple of nights it was fine, the cleanliness and location made up for it. The pub attached to the hotel was great for a beer with friendly service, the food wasn't the best but it depends if you love lots of fried food. Don't think I would stay again unless it undergoes a make over.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T T, Front Office Manager at Bedford Regency Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for providing feedback on your stay with us. We do apologize for the inconvenience regarding the room facility you had. We will definitely review with our team and improve our service. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Bedford Regency Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I hate to beat them up too bad. They tried. and failed. No Hotel check in parking Taxi sitting there, I parked up the street. Check in good and easy. Parking? Down the block and over a street. Even had a picture hand out with directions and map. Good Idea. But down the block? Elevator small. Room for 4 people. Wife, me, big suitcase, backpacks. Trudged from parking garage up the street to hotel. Just fit in elevator. Enter on one side exit other side. Good wall mounted directions to room. At room door. Card key works well first try. Handle down handle pinches finger on lwr wood frame of door.. Every time. Door. Push open. Bottom of door rubs hard on carpet good football shoulder practice. Into room. Good look and colors. Strange layout.. In the door. Sink and small refer on the floor with door to fridge open. on left side Right side desk with light and room service menu and Victoria visitor book. No Bedford info?? Ahead a window with AC unit and opening windows with roman shade type window type shade.. Room looked nice and clean. Room long and narrow. Middle of room had a closet/TV holder. TV inside walk by side to bed. Only able to see TV if in chairs in front of TV. pull out shelf with TV turned towards bed Half of tv blocked. Good cable menu. US and Canada local tv. Bed was good. AC unit remote had a dead battery Clerk went out and got a new one. It worked. Thanks to the clerk!!.
Problem was the AC unit plug was controlled by door switch so at night turned off light and AC went off. No notice AC was controlled by switch. Room had coffee maker. But no outlet for it!! Had to use bathroom outlet first day Used desk outlet second day unplugged AC. Electric outlets are a challenge at this place. Too few.
Bathroom is a separate issue. Nice idea all messed up, Great whirlpool tub. Controlled out side the bathroom by bed? Bathtub water controls on one side of tub water spout 3 feet away at front of tub. Stretch across the tub. Hand shower is side with water control. at mid tub area. so try to set water temp reach off too spout to pull up shower control. Then into deep tub with no grab bars. Several positions for hand shower but none at a useable height.. Bath room closed up with an accordion folding door? One light control for whole bath area. Toilet in separate room. Door opens part way turn sideways to get in.
Ice is obtained from the pub next door. No ice before 11 am What!! Lobby under remodel to add a new pub.
Internet did not work first day. Told clerk he said". Mine works I don't know what is your problem:\". They did try and had good plans. ! Returned again Mine still works. I don't know the routers. I will call the tech guy. Still no work. Next morning internet worked. It worked the rest of the stay. Cell phone never was able to link. Liked the location. Parking and taxes were all separate. They had good ideas they just failed. Location is good. Lots of stuff near by. Chinatown 3 blocks away.

Room Tip: Skip room 22. Too many problems. Was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T T, Front Office Manager at Bedford Regency Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for providing feedback on your stay with us. We do apologize for the inconvenience regarding the room facility you had. We will definitely review with our team and improve our service. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Bedford Regency Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I recently stayed at The Bedford Regency with my sister. Our room was a decent size, clean comfortable. Front Desk was average, There was a mixup with our payment but was corrected on check in. The Location is great, lots and lots of shops and Restaurants/pubs close by and we had no trouble with noise during our stay. Overall good experience and would stay again! Thank You.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T T, Front Office Manager at Bedford Regency Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Bedford Regency Hotel. It is our pleasure to have you stay here and providing a great feedback for us. We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We had a Living Social coupon for $99 for 2 nights. Plus received 2 dining credits for their Pub. Really good deal. Room was nice. A bit old and not much room in the bathroom to place things on. Was actually afraid of using the hairdryer so close to the shower. Bed was comfortable. Loud at night as the hotel is right above 2 Pubs. Plenty of room in the hotel room. Appreciate the free paper in the morning. They were also very accommodating when we had to leave our luggage and bikes there for storage until out boat left. Don't know if we'll stay here again just because of the closeness of the loud pubs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T T, Front Office Manager at Bedford Regency Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Bedford Regency Hotel. It is our pleasure to have you stay here and providing a great feedback for us. We are looking forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 58 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 932 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#37 of 58 in Victoria
3.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#17 of 58 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 stars 2,384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#15 of 58 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Regency Hotel

Address: 1140 Government St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1Y2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bedford Regency Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Regency Hotel is located in the heart of downtown Victoria, bordered by beautiful Government Street and Bastion Square. This location is within walking distance to major local attractions including the Inner Harbour, the Royal BC Museum, Craigdarroch Castle, Beacon Hill Park, China Town, and the Royal London Wax Museum.We owned 40 classic European style guests rooms. Each of our guest room are furnished with work desks and refrigerators. We also include cable TV and complimentary high speed Internet access.The Garrick's Head Pub is the on site sport pub for guests to enjoy. Nowadays, our business have up to 30 employees as full-time and part-time to provide our best service in Victoria BC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bedford Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Regency Hotel Victoria
Regency Hotel Victoria
Regency Hotel Bedford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bedford Regency Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.