We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Craigmyle

Save Saved
You added The Craigmyle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Craigmyle
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   1037 Craigdarroch Rd, Victoria, British Columbia V8S-2A5, Canada (Rockland)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% OFF BOOK DIRECT
Ranked #16 of 110 Victoria B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Charming Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was our first trip to Victoria and I came across the Craigmyle while searching for hotels. It is an interesting mix of old and new, the remodeled with the charm of an old inn. The main level has a large sitting room complete with sofas and tables, and another section for breakfast seating and breakfast serving. The inn offers guests complementary use of the telephone for calls to the US and Canada, along with use of the washers/dryers. There is no daily maid service, but extra sheets and towels are available on a self-serve basis. Our room was one of the suites, including a small living area with sofa bed (perfect for our kids), a bedroom with queen bed, a huge bathroom with shower and separate tub, and a small, recently remodeled very modern kitchenette. The owners or the innkeepers are available during the day to answer questions and are most friendly. The breakfast included healthy cold cereals, fresh fruits, nondairy options of almond milk :-), and healthy breads from Silver Hills Bakery, as well as croissants and pastries. And it is situated directly in front of the Craigdarroch Castle. We toured the Castle the afternoon we arrived.

Room Tip: The inn has several wifi networks so that guests will have excellent service throughout the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    16
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
21
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I loved our stay at the Craigmyle. It is in a nice quiet neighborhood and right next to the Craigdarroch castle which was a fun place to check out. Our room had recently been renovated and it was beautiful! The shower was a bit small, but the shower head made up for it!! The breakfast was fresh and delicious and the innkeepers were very friendly. We would definitely stay here again! It was less expensive than the hotels in downtown Victoria and much cuter in my opinion. I loved it!

Room Tip: We had room 105 and it was great! It was very quiet and if you stuck your head out the window, you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Wow! Just amazing! Next to the castle the Craigmyle is a great find. We were minutes away from Downtown in a very quiet friendly neighborhood area. At arrival we were pleasantly surprised by the charm this old house has. Grand cozy living room makes us feel at home upon entering the front door. We both felt welcome. Our room was charming and clean. The innkeepers were friendly and very helpful. The breakfast offered lots of variety. We loved having use of the guest kitchen. We will be back.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

The mini suite is just with everything you need. Everyone is helpful and nice too. And you can enjoy the beauty of the Craigdaroch Castle every moment, during breakfast, leave home and back home or during your walk after meal cuz it's just behind you. I enjoyed a lot. Thanks for everything. Will definitely back again ;)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

First the good news ... We were very excited when we pulled into the neighborhood of Victoria where this B&B is located. The entrance was welcoming and the living room area is inviting. The innkeepers have done a great job of having some beverages and snacks available for purchase in the living room. Our keys were waiting for us in the mailbox.

Here's where the good part starts to go bad, from my perspective. I was assigned room 106 and my father had a room down the hall. Fortunately there was someone in the B&B who was able to tell me that the door with a number '8' on top was actually room 106. I'm guessing someone may not always be there when you check in. The room was a great size and has a view out the back window of Craigdarroch Castle. We essentially dropped our stuff in the room, went to the bathroom and left. It really wasn't until the next morning that I noticed all the grungy bits about this space.

They advertise soaking tubs or jetted tubs. I suppose room 106 has a "soaking tub" though with a metal shower door attached it wasn't inviting at all. As I shut the shower door that morning, look up to aim the shower head I notice the ceiling covered in mold and mildew. The sink is in the middle of the bedroom. The sink itself was fine; however, you have to either be 6-feet tall to actually use the mirror over the sink or you litterally have to straddle the toilet to use the mirror in the bathroom. There is a vanity with a very dirty bench, but no mirror. There is no lighting over the sink so even if you are 6-ft tall you still can't see anything. There are no electrical outlets anywhere near a mirror so if you use a hair dryer or curling iron ... good luck. The carpeting in front of the sink is really disgusting and I felt compelled to put a towel on the floor before standing there to brush my teeth. Wasn't much point in doing anything else in front of the sink as I am not 6-ft tall.

I will not stay here again nor will I recoommend this place to anyone I know. I love staying in old B&B's and I don't need anything fancy ... I DO need it to be clean.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our weekend stay at the Craigmyle was wonderful. The bedroom was well appointed and the bathroom was recently renovated. The house has a wonderful old world vibe with a formal livingroom with quiet music playing in the background. The breakfast room is sunny and welcoming. The breakfast is very generous, considering it's listed as continental. Lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, breads and other bakery items. Lots of good coffee and juices. Best of all, the kitchen is open for guests' use the rest of the day. The location can't be beat. The back yard basically runs right up to Craigdarroch Castle, which is well worth a visit. The neighborhood is very quiet at night so we could get a good night's sleep. Our hosts were very helpful and friendly. Parking is free in front of the house. We will definitely stay here again. Thank you!

Room Tip: Our corner room was very quiet and light filled. Ask for Room 201.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A charming B AND B...We loved our room, small yet so tastefully furnished in a French theme .Our view was out to downtown Victoria with a lovely Garry Oak tree to shelter us.Very quiet for sleeping. The breakfast was just right with a wide assortment of cereals, greek yogurt,and fresh berries...,. We biked into Victoria along the Lochside and Galloping Goose trails from Swartz Bay. We were allowed to store our bikes in the basement for the night.which we appreciated.We certainly recommend this property to anyone who enjoys a clean , friendly and quiet place to spend a nite or longer.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room #202 as it. had been recently renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Craigmyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craigmyle

Address: 1037 Craigdarroch Rd, Victoria, British Columbia V8S-2A5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Rockland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craigmyle 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Maclure Heritage Guest House, minutes from downtown set in peaceful garden setting facing The Grand Craigdarroch Castle! Walk to downtown, Cook Street Village, Oak Bay Village and also Jubilee hospital. The Craigmyle Guest House offers suites/rooms and fully contained apartments with all the luxuries of your home! You will be provided daily continental breakfast from 7-10 am with gluten free options and organic selections! Our guests have complimentary access to a business centre with Mac Computers & e-printer, phone for free local & Canada/USA calls, fully equipped guest kitchen, full access to laundry facility. Guests enjoy the peaceful setting of a grand living room and dining room facing the Craigdarroch Castle where they can enjoy complimentary use of WI-FI for their personal computer or may use the Mac computers and printers available to them. Both common living spaces are set up with multiple quaint tables and wing chairs where guests can work, relax, read or enjoy meals that they may prepare in the guest kitchen. In a private garden setting, guests may also enjoy the south facing patio table and chairs. Bike rental and car rental available on site. This is truly your home away from home offered to you at an all inclusive price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The Craigmyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Craigmyle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.