We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value walking distance to beautiful downtown Victoria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Craigmyle

Save Saved
You added The Craigmyle to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Craigmyle
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   1037 Craigdarroch Rd, Victoria, British Columbia V8S-2A5, Canada (Rockland)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 110 Victoria B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Great value walking distance to beautiful downtown Victoria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at the Craigmyle B&B, we could walk just about everywhere we wanted to go from there. Our room was great but I would definitely advise beinging a laptop as we didn't and there is not tv in the rooms. Overall the Craigmyle was fantastic! We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigmyle1037, Owner at The Craigmyle, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the to post your review! We truly appreciate it! Thanks for mentioning to bring a laptop as there are no TVs here. The Craigmyle is 100 years old this August and has never had TVs in the suites throughout those 100 years! It's interesting how it has made it through all those years without them and now laptops, ipads and tablets will likely replace them all together! We have made WI-FI a must for all rooms so our guest would not have any connection issues. Wi-FI is our main technology priority at the Craigmyle. That is why we also added a Mac computer and a PC laptop for our guests to use in the main living.
THANK YOU FOR CHOOSING TO STAY WITH US! HOPE WE SEE YOU AGAIN!
Mireille, Denis & Chanel,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    28
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
43
23
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed for a month at this B and B. The atmosphere of B and B was really classic, quite and good for relaxing! When I stayed there, I met a famous painter. He also liked this B and B and he said the B and B has a good effect to draw a picture and help him to imagine. I also totally agree it. You also can see Craigdarroch Castle! It's just next to the B and B!
According to the new owner, this B and B was builted over 100 years ago. And the location was perfect! You can go down town by walking!! Also I really liked their morning! You can choose a lot of kind of food and drink!
If I visit Victoria again, I would love to stay this B and B!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigmyle1037, Owner at The Craigmyle, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to send in your review! WE really appreciate now that we are new owners and that we have made so many changes to our B&B, we really want all potential visitors to know about our place.

You are right, the Castle is so impressing. It's so close to us that is sometimes seems unreal to have just outside our window! Thanks for your comments about the breakfast!

Many thanks for your review and for choosing to stay with us!

Regards
Mireille, Denis & Chanel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysore, Karnataka, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I have been to Victoria BC for academic purposes. Before travelling was in search of good accommodation that fits in my economy. The University of Victoria suggested Craigmyle bed and Breakfast inn (Victoria Homestay). Mireille, Denis & Chanel were wonderful hosts. I can assure that one will feel you are away from home. The location is also fascinating, right in front of the Craigdarroch Castle. Very friendly neigbourhood, with deer checking out if someone has planted tulips in the garden.

The Communication facilities are good, with wifi network keeping you connected with rest of the work. its spacious and calm. Sumptuous continental breakfast will keep you energetic all day.

Downtown is just 10 minutes scenic walk. University of Victoria is about 10 minutes on the bus.

Calm and peaceful environment. "A HOME AWAY FROM HOME"

V Govindankutty

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.621338924560338.1073741825.100000527082517&type=3

Room Tip: the rooms with window to castle will be Exquisite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigmyle1037, Owner at The Craigmyle, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to send in your review! We are so happy you got to experience Victoria for all its beauty and that you got see deers wondering around in our yard and streets!

We are happy that you got to discover downtown and attend your conference at UVIC during your stay. Most guests find the location ideal as we are only 10-15 from UVIC by bus and then your can walk and enjoy downtown by night and weekends!

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us! WE hope to see you again!

Warm regards

Mireille, Denis & Chanel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for approx. 3 months. Our initial interaction with the owners was great, and throughout our stay, things were made pretty easy on us--great view of the castle and great location to access pretty much all areas of the city. Also, when we left, the owners gave us some old furniture from a new B&B they had recently bought, which was obviously greatly appreciated!

One of the downfalls is that the guest kitchen is quite small and is shared with all other guests who do not have their own private kitchen in their rooms. Also frequent tours were given to prospective guests while cooking. My personal biggest problem was that we were told to use the basement storage room for some extra luggage and my $400 (super great) sleeping bag and a brand new (still in the box) kettle were both stolen from this room. When my husband told this to the owners, their response was very nonchalant and they claimed they "never intended for that room to be used for storage."--which was not what they had said in the beginning.

Overall, the stay was good, but I feel it important to mention these downfalls (don't put anything in the "storage room"!!)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigmyle1037, Owner at The Craigmyle, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We do appreciate the feedback. We have since posted on the luggage storage door that no personal items are to be left in the storage area other than empty luggage that guests prefer not to have in their room to create extra space. That was always the intention of the storage room, for luggage, as we had specified to you as well. If you recall, we provided you with a larger room to accommodate your extra belongings. We did not expect that you would place your personal belongings in the common storage area.

We have also made a note that guests should not hang their clothes in the laundry room to dry but to take them to their room that we are not responsible if they find them missing.

We have created a beautiful space for people to live while they travel and live in Victoria for any amount of time, whether they are here to study, work, visit family or friends or discover our beautiful city. WE welcome them to our B&B. We offer usual services, such as guest kitchen, complimentary laundry facility, storage for luggage, business centre with computers, printers and phones. All of these are complimentary. However, all these facilities need to be shared by all guests and cannot be monopolized by just a few. If a guest prefers to have their own kitchen, own storage, laundry room, then they should rent a fully contained apartment or suite. (which are also available at THE CRAIGMYLE)

Thank you for your comments. We have added new rules and signs to avoid any future misunderstandings.

I hope you are enjoying all the furniture that we gave you.

Regards,
Mireille, Denis & Chanel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merville, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed for 5 weeks at this very comfortable and central B and B.. Denis and Mireille were wonderful hosts making us welcome, helping us with our computer and communications to settle us in and making the place a friendly local. The breakfast bar always had a sufficient variety of fruits, cereals,breads, toast and croissants, teas and coffee to enjoy in the morning and you could be as social as you wanted with an interesting variety of fellow guests.We walked almost everywhere as Craigmyle is centrally located but there is a well served bus stop about 2 blocks away that gives easy access to U. Vic. and downtown. We had a wonderful family visit and am looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigmyle1037, Owner at The Craigmyle, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR YOUR REVIEW!! It's greatly appreciated. We was fun having you both in our B&B. We are so happy you enjoyed our location! and that you had the time to do so given the reason for your visit!

We hope to see you again!

Thanks for your choosing to stay with us!

Regards,
Mireille, Denis & Chanel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed for 2 months, February and March 2013 and absolutely loved it. The only thing better than the beautiful rooms, the scrumptious breakfast and the brilliant location are your hosts, Denis and Mireille. They go out of their way to make you feel welcome and special with their effortless charm. You can be as social as you like with the other guests or retreat into your own private and cozy world. You decide. Walk into town or down to the ocean, have a coffee with the locals at the neighbourhood bakery or a round of darts at the pub. It's all just minutes away. Don't miss this delightful Inn!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigmyle1037, Owner at The Craigmyle, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR YOUR WONDERFUL REVIEW! It was so great and cheerful to have you stay with us! So happy that you enjoyed the area and that you took advantage of our location to walk everywhere!

Thanks for choosing to stay with us!
Mireille, Denis & Chanel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Hello, my name is nick and i just want to tell everyone how awesome the Craigmyle b and b is perfect for a student just moving to Vic. They have everything you need and Denis and Mereille Iare awesome host. They are very accomadating and go out of there way for you. Plus you could even make a friend or two.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigmyle1037, Owner at The Craigmyle, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank YOU SO MUCH FOR YOUR REVIEW! We really appreciate it! It was really nice to have you stay with us! And thanks for letting future guests know that our place is an amazing place to meet great people. We are always so happy with guests make friends with others guests and end up doing things together.

THANKS FOR CHOOSING TO STAY WITH US!!!! Hope to see you again!

Mireille, Denis & Chanel,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Craigmyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craigmyle

Address: 1037 Craigdarroch Rd, Victoria, British Columbia V8S-2A5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Rockland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craigmyle 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Maclure Heritage Guest House, minutes from downtown set in peaceful garden setting facing The Grand Craigdarroch Castle! Walk to downtown, Cook Street Village, Oak Bay Village and also Jubilee hospital. The Craigmyle Guest House offers suites/rooms and fully contained apartments with all the luxuries of your home! You will be provided daily continental breakfast from 7-10 am with gluten free options and organic selections! Our guests have complimentary access to a business centre with Mac Computers & e-printer, phone for free local & Canada/USA calls, fully equipped guest kitchen, full access to laundry facility. Guests enjoy the peaceful setting of a grand living room and dining room facing the Craigdarroch Castle where they can enjoy complimentary use of WI-FI for their personal computer or may use the Mac computers and printers available to them. Both common living spaces are set up with multiple quaint tables and wing chairs where guests can work, relax, read or enjoy meals that they may prepare in the guest kitchen. In a private garden setting, guests may also enjoy the south facing patio table and chairs. Bike rental and car rental available on site. This is truly your home away from home offered to you at an all inclusive price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Craigmyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Craigmyle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;