We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location...Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   850 Blanshard St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 2H2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 57 hotels in Victoria
Chatham, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Perfect Location...Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located within walking distance of the majority of attractions in Victoria. The front desk staff are friendly and their service was much appreciated including having extra umbrellas on hand.

On our first stay the front desk person recommended the rear of the hotel facing the courtyard. It was a nice quiet room with a small balcony that the door could be opened to allow fresh air to come in. On our second stay, they gave us a corner suite that while bright, tended to be quite noisy, especially from passing motorcycles (which were often). The light switch for the bathroom was also in an awkward place, outside of the bathroom, by the bed????

The pool is quite small and on the last day a little cloudy. Enjoyed have a steam room though.
The only real negative is the attached restaurant which while the service is good, they really need to hire a chef (or at least a cook). The breakfast was absolutely terrible. When you can't cook something that simple, it's time to get a real cook!

However, we would definitely stay here again, just eat elsewhere until they get the cooking straightened around.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter stay, choose the courtyard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, General Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear MikeV57,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we are always happy to see Top Contributors like yourself leaving comments.

Our location and staff service are by far the two things we get the most comments on. I am sorry we could not accommodate you in an inside room like your first visit with us we do try to put guests in the area of the hotel that they prefer though it is not always possible due to the size and popularity of our hotel.

I have also passed your comments on the management of the restaurant as your input is very important. Though we do not operate the restaurant of coarse many of our guests do eat there.

I am happy to see that you will defiantly stay with us again and we look forward to your next visit.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Sincerely
Jamie Lewis,
General Manager
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    121
    38
    14
    4
See reviews for
82
72
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Check-in went smoothly, we were given a parking discount for a 6 night stay. Staff very polite and helpful. Parking is tight if you have one of those big trucks and they don't have enough spots as once we had to park on the street. We had a nice large room with kitchenette on the top floor with a balcony over looking a lovely little courtyard with a fountain which helped to drown out some of the city noise. We were also fortunate to get some sun in the afternoon on our little balcony. The hotel is showing signs of wear and tear, the beds are very comfortable and everything is very clean. Be warned no air conditioning which is fine in April but could get rather hot in August, they do supply a fan though. One of the best locations I was able to walk to all of the major downtown attractions. Make sure you get a voucher for eating at the Argyle Attic the hotels restaurant. We ate there twice, breakfast and dinner both times great food and not too busy

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, General Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear JLG154927

Thank you for your review here on Trip Advisor, I am glad that overall your stay was a good one and you enjoyed the location, the friendliness of the staff and our new beds we do get a lot of similar comments.

I would like to clarify a couple of your points we do have a Central Air Conditioning System which can be controlled by the wall vent in every room.
As far as parking goes we do have overflow parking at the city library right across the street from the hotel and we have unlimited parking so there is enough secure underground parking for everyone. If a vehicle is too tall for our hotel parking we will have guests park at the library as it has less of a height restriction.

I have also passed on your comments onto the staff of the Argyle Attic as they always enjoy getting some praise for their efforts.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely
Jamie
General Manager
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

It's near harbour, just 10 minutes by walking. When you are walking to harbour, you will pass through several restaurants which customers' reviews are good. The price of the hotel is really good, based on the location. And the room is really big, modern and clean! The receptionist was nice. She gave me a map of Victoria and showed me where I should go to have a look.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, General Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Ivy Tang

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel here on Trip Advisor. We were happy that you had a good stay with us and you appreciated just how close we are to almost everything Victoria has to offer.

I was also happy that you commented on the size and cleanliness of our rooms the staff work very hard to make sure all of our guests have a great stay.

I have passed on your review to the staff as they always appreciate when our guests have had a good stay.

We hope we have the opportunity in the future to accommodate you once again.

Sincerely
Jamie
General Manager
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas NV
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Really friendly AND helpful front desk personnel; when asked for info about bus to Butchart Gardens, they swiftly printed the schedule and told us how to get to the stop - without having to prod them. Our room (interior courtyard with kitchenette and small balcony) was quiet and well-serviced by housekeeping throughout our 6 day stay. Only downsides: no grab bar in bath tub (surprisingly common in far too many hotels) which is a nasty fall waiting to happen - but they said they're getting around to it. And the mobility- challenged should know that there are several steps up from lobby to elevator, making this hotel problematic for them. One last thought: wouldn't hurt to put in a few more dishes, plates,silverware, pots, etc. in the kitchenette.

Room Tip: The kichenette-balcony-inner courtyard room was quiet and pleasant, with a tinkling fountain and cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, General Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear GlobetrotterKing,

Thank you for your review of our hotel, I have already passed your comments onto the front desk staff and thanked them for doing a great job.

You have raised some very good and helpful tips and we do take all suggestions seriously and I will be looking into putting grab bars into more of our rooms some do have them already but we do not have them in all rooms.

I am glad you did have a great stay with us for 6 days and we hope to see you in the future.

Sincerely
Jamie Lewis
General Manager
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrew, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed here one night while in Victoria. Rooms were large and well done. Parking was a bit challenging to find but once accessed it was great! The location allowed us to do some great walking tours to the harbour and to various restaurants nearby. We would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, General Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear SusieQ101,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel it is always great when a Senior Contributor takes the time to reflect on their stay with us.

We appreciate you pointing out all the wonderful attributes the hotel has to offer from its great location to the convenience of the secure yet sometimes tricky underground parking and our large clean rooms. We take a great deal of pride in our staff and hotel so that every guest that stays with us walks away happy and wanting to stay with us again.

Once again thank you and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sincerely
Jamie Lewis
General Manager
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a two night stay here that we had purchased on an online discount coupon and had to use it by April 30. Fortunately we booked when the weather was perfect for a visit to Victoria. Our room was clean and reasonably spacious. It overlooked a busy downtown street so was quite noisy at night but that is to be expected in a city. We did not bring a vehicle with us and found that we really didn't need it anyhow. We ate at the adjoining Argyle Restaurant the first evening. It was cosy and comfortable. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and friendly. It is close to downtown and most of the tourist attractions and public transportation. I so not think that it has air conditioning so could be very warm in the summer.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the courtyard would likely be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, General Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Joyce D

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel here on Trip Advisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for pointing out we are in a great location and your understanding that being right downtown you are going to experience the sounds that come with it. I know for a lot of our guests that don’t live in the middle of a downtown city it can seem loud but as a rule the traffic dissipates at around 8pm and really does not pick up until about 8am.

I have passed your complements to the staff and they do appreciate hearing it, I am very lucky to have such an experienced staff with a combined 150 years working at this hotel including 3 staff members with over 30 years each.

We do have central air that can be controlled by the wall vent in the room and we are making up instructions so guests better understand our climate controls in the rooms. As it is and older property it is not as simple as just setting the temperature but still it is not that complicated. Many of the hotels in Victoria do not have air conditioning as our Island climate really never gets that high though we have been enjoying higher temperatures than we usually do for this time of the year.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely
Jamie Lewis
General Manager
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in Apr 2013 Used a living social coupon so the rate was reduced. The check in was easy and friendly . As we had an overheight 7 foot viehicle we needed to park across the street at $13.50 per night. The hotel is quite dated but very clean. As mentioned the soundproofing was poor, did hear a few kids ratteling around in hallway, but no big deal.Didn't try restaurant or pub as I generally find it good policy to avoid resraurants adjoining hotels. and there are so many good restaurants and pubs in Victoria .One dissapointment though was that they advertised a gym and a steam room , neither was open during our stay. All in all it was a good value even at the regular off season rate. Great place to sleep if you are not planning to spend the entire time in your Hotel. would possibly stay again.

Room Tip: Perhaps a higher room not facing Blanchard Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, General Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Redrock55,

Thank you for your review here on Trip Advisor it is always great to have Senior Contributor pass on their comments.

I do apologize about the Gym and Steam room we are just in the process of redoing the cedar in the steam room and we were trying to get it done a quieter time of the year but the hotel has enjoyed a very busy shoulder season thanks to its growing popularity and the Living Social promotion so it did catch us off guard. The Gym we had to use as a temporary storage room as we are updating all the lighting in the rooms and the order came in again when we were busier than expected so again my apologizes.

We are constantly updating the rooms and I am sure if you give us the opportunity and stay with us in the future you will enjoy the changes we are making.

As I and many of our guests have mentioned before we have a great location right downtown but it does make our hotel more susceptible to street noise and traffic. If you are not use to street noise which I know a lot of people are not I would recommend calling us direct and see if any of our courtyard facing rooms are available. They do not face Blanshard or Courtney streets.

Once again thank you for your review and I hope you give us the opportunity in the future to stay with us again.


Sincerely
Jamie Lewis
General Manager
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour

Address: 850 Blanshard St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 2H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three-story Hotel with Brown & green trim; located downtown victoria two blocks from Inner Harbour, tourist attractions, shopping, dining & theatres ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour Hotel Victoria
Quality Inn Victoria
Victoria Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.