We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Victoria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria Regent Hotel to your Saves list
Victoria Regent Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1234 Wharf Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 3H9, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Spring Sale - 15-20% Off!
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Port Orchard, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Victoria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We have stayed at the Victoria Regent about four times and we've never been disappointed. The rooms are all large with all the amenities one could ask for. We had a luxurious two room suite this time with a lovely view of the harbor. Access to the town is wonderful from the hotel and the staff gave us recommendations for great restaurants. While it was warm in Victoria the rooms were comfortable with the fans provided. A great all around experience.

Room Tip: We've stayed in other rooms but now we prefer the rooms facing the harbor. Lovely view! Though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earlwilde, General Manager at Victoria Regent Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Carol,

It’s great to hear that you’ve enjoyed each of your stays with us at Victoria Regent Hotel! We love to provide our visitors with everything they need, including the lovely views you mentioned.

I’ll be sure to let the staff know that you appreciated their restaurant recommendations. Since you’ve stayed with us 4 times, you’ll know that there are many great restaurants and cafes (not to mention shops) within walking distance of the hotel, and I’m happy you enjoy this access.

We can’t wait to host you for a fifth time and hopefully many more.

Earl Wilde
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    122
    23
    8
    3
See reviews for
100
169
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We were upgraded to a one-bedroom suite with a view of the harbor and drawbridge. It was spacious, clean, and comfortably furnished. The room was not air-conditioned, but fans were supplied, and kept the room comfortable. The property is a short walk from anywhere in the city center of Victoria; you can park your car in the underground garage and not worry about it. They provide a simple breakfast overlooking the harbor with good strong coffee. The staff are helpful and friendly, with quick attention to your needs.

Room Tip: Room 501 lets in a lot of early morning light and a bit of night time street noise, but it didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel through TA and it was superb! Well situated, totally accessible to all parts of the beautiful Victoria! The ultimate was been upgraded to a twin room suite, with possibly the best view of the city! With the sun shining there was no need to go anywhere... We did visit the town but bee lined back to to the hotel to enjoy a bottle of wine on the deck! Superb! We'll be back!!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earlwilde, General Manager at Victoria Regent Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Chris,

Thank you for the rave review!

I’m glad you were so comfortable staying with us and that you enjoyed your room upgrade and your view. Being that you were in the heart of the city centre with access to so much that Victoria has to offer, it’s quite a compliment to hear that you considered our balcony the place to be.

We look forward to seeing your family again.

All the best,

Earl Wilde
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We had the very pleasant experience of booking a suite at this wonderfully situated hotel on Canada Day (July 1). The 2 bedroom suite was very clean, updated, well equipped and spacious - with a gorgeous wrap around deck. It had a full kitchen and lots of room for the guests we expected. The staff, including a young man named Aneil, provided excellent service - going above and beyond. I would highly recommend this hotel for any occasion given the excellent location, prime updated rooms and for the great service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earlwilde, General Manager at Victoria Regent Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Surinder,

I’m delighted to hear you had such a great stay with us on Canada Day. Hopefully you and your friends were able to enjoy the celebrations and fireworks in the Inner Harbour while you were staying with us.

I’m glad you loved your 2 bedroom suite and wrap-around deck and that you also felt we went above and beyond in our level of service. We hope all of our guests leave feeling the same way.

We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review and hope to see you again.

Earl Wilde
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Victoria Regent is a very nice converted apartment house with mostly one and two bedroom suites overlooking the beautiful Victoria Inner Harbour. Unfortunately there are two stacks of rooms to be avoided at all costs! Units 01 (201, 301, etc) and 15 (215, 315, etc.) are above the lobby and face straight out to the street, consequently they have no views. But far worse is the fact they face a busy urban street with car traffic and a busy 'bar scene' that goes till 2:00 AM! Sleep is impossible and when we complained all they could do is offer us earplugs. Not a good situation.

Room Tip: Avoid 01 & 15 rooms, noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earlwilde, General Manager at Victoria Regent Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
It’s great to hear that you loved our location on the harbour, as well as the quality of our suites.

With that being said, I am sorry to hear you didn’t get as much sleep as you’d hoped. Being located downtown does have the convenience of shops, restaurants, tours, and attractions right outside the door, but of course, also means there is more urban activity, too.

Some of our rooms and suites face the Inner Harbour and Parliament Buildings while others, as you mentioned, look out over the quirky and historic buildings of Victoria’s “Old Towne.” Our room rates are based on view and location and, as such, rooms and suites are assigned according to which room type you chose to reserve.

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. I do hope you’ll give Victoria Regent Hotel a second chance…perhaps on the harbour side next time.

Earl Wilde
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This 1-bedroom suite was very great for our family! Very spacious living room/dining area with comfortable furnishings and beds. Kitchen was nice too. Great view of the harbor! Free Continental Breakfast was perfect for us and is served in a room overlooking the harbor-- great view! Very friendly and accommodating staff! Great location -- within walking distance to shops/restaurants and everything to do in the Victoria harbor area!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

These condos are HUGE, clean, modern, the best views and a super great valve!
We stayed June 28/14 to July 2/14 with our two children 14 and 11 in a two bedroom waterfront. We couldn't have been happier with it. We have stayed in many Luxury Hotels and this is the first I've felt compiled to write a review about and share this gem with everyone.

We had the best view of the Canada Day fireworks and harbour not to mention the harbour seal right outside our window. The condo has all you need just add your food, drink and enjoy.

We have also stayed at The Embassy, which is spectacular but if you are looking for space for a family vacation this is it. We will 100% be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront and you wont be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Regent Hotel

Address: 1234 Wharf Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 3H9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Victoria
#6 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#14 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#21 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted one of the top 20 hotels in Canada by Conde Nast readers, this exclusive downtown waterfront hotel offers discerning guests the luxurious comfort of spacious suites overlooking Victoria’s vibrant Inner Harbor. Our location is second to none and the suites are perfect for a romantic getaway or the mini vacation you so richly deserve. Relax with an in-suite spa treatment, play a round of golf or explore the many elegant shops, superb restaurants and the Royal BC Museum, all within easy walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Victoria Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Victoria
Victoria Regent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Regent Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.