We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK if you just need a bed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Island Travel Inn

Save Saved
You added Island Travel Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island Travel Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 Douglas Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4K6, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn Downtown) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 57 hotels in Victoria
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“OK if you just need a bed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We just needed a bed for 8 hours until the early ferry. This place was economic (~$100) so we took it sight unseen while transiting to Victoria from Sea Kayaking up in the Broken Islands. The bed was the best part. Clean, firm with good pillows. The A/C didn't work and the front desk was clueless as to how to fix it. Though to their credit they were friendly and there are several very good restaurants within a 3 block walk. They recommended a couple which we also had spotted on Yelp. The hotel wasn't very clean but after camping out on uninhabited islands ... well at least there wasn't sand in the bed so relatively speaking I was happy. There are only a few outside parking stalls with the rest being height limited in the basement. We were fortunate to get the last outside stall as our kayaks wouldn't have cleared the basement entrance. If your vehicle is over 6ft 2 in be sure they save you an outside stall. I'd have been hesitant to park on the street. It seemed safe but who knows. The location is downtown and actually pretty good. The ferry to Port Angeles is a 5 minute drive away (at 5:30 am).

Room Tip: Get a room that doesn't front the main street to minimize noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    9
    2
    21
See reviews for
10
14
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great location and friendly front desk people. But the microwave in the room didn't work, and the hairdryer burnt out, we got another after two requests. We were awoken at 5.00am by the front door man entering our room, never did find out why that happened. The other thing was that our rubbish wasn't emptied for 3 days and we ended up dumping it ourselves in an empty room with the door open.
On the plus side, there's a good underground parking facility if you've a car with you and it's in a great place, only 10 minutes from the seafront. And 2 diners on either side for eating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

As many of the other reviews have horror stories-- I believe everything everyone has to say. We stayed for a few nights at this location and decided to cancel our last few nights

Lacks service. When you leave for the day and come back to an unmade bed, beer bottles still in your room that were near the door, counters that werent wiped down from the last hotel guest along with sticky floors and all that was they gave you a new towel you can see the negligence of the staff. It makes you wonder if the sheets on your bed were even changed after the previous guest.

We did get refunded back all our money from Expedia, so that was a good thing

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Good: The location - about 1 km from Victoria's inner harbour. Parking is close to the entrance. Liked the king size beds with good mattresses. Room has a microwave, fridge and coffee maker. Good wifi. The staff at the front desk is friendly and very helpful. The room rates are competitive.

Not so good: The overall cleanliness leaves a bit to be desired. Rooms/hallways could use a vacuum. Table top in room had not been cleaned. The bedspreads are grungy. The outside of the hotel looks neglected. The A/C in the first room didn't work. There is a coffee maker but guests have to ask for coffee supplies (cups, coffee, milk/sugar) at the front desk. The 2nd night we were moved to another room. The A/C worked there but the coffee maker did not. The coffee maker was replaced but it didn't work either. Not enough washcloths - no hand towels. No water glasses. When we asked the staff for supplies, etc. they were very accommodating and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for (extra) towels and coffee/tea supplies at the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Under new management this hotel was awful. The rolm had not been prepared, there were no towels and when some eventually arrived they were fill of holes and torn. There were no coffee making facilities in the room and at one point were unable to supply any tea. This hotel should be avoided at all costs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in May for a friends birthday and will never make the mistake of staying here again. When we first arrived it was dirty, did not have towels or any soap in the bathroom, and the furniture was falling apart. We barely were in our hotel at all and when we left my visa got charged a $150 fine for damage that we did not do and the hotel never even called me to let me know that my visa would be charged or ask us about the damage. I have now called the hotel and tried to get a hold of the manager three times and have left my number as he is not there. This was in May and he has still not got back to me. This hotel is a scam and not worth the price. There are much better options of the price such as the Strathcona hotel or Paul's Motor Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Worst hotel we have ever stayed in, and we travel as a family a lot and are not picky by any means. Our room had ants everywhere....not just a couple...I mean tons of them! Crawling on the dirty bedspreads, on the furnishings, on the walls. The carpets were absolutely filthy and we decided to keep our shoes on. Toilet did not flush properly, sink was clogged, bathtub was grungy and had hair in it. Asked to speak to the manager, we were told no...then told he wasn't there. We left our phone number for the manager to give us a call, he never called. Why didnt we leave immediately?? We had been driving for 10 hours with small children, didnt know our way around victoria, and we had a late checkin. An absolute nightmare!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Travel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Travel Inn

Address: 1850 Douglas Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4K6, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn Downtown)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 57 hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Travel Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This downtown Victoria location features 78 rooms. Free high-speed internet access in lobby, free parking. King size beds, air-conditioning, working desks and in-room coffee/tea. Jacuzzi suites are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Island Travel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traveller`s Inn Downtown Hotel Victoria
Travellers Hotel Downtown
Travellers Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Travel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.