We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet Fee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Scot Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Royal Scot Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 Quebec St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W7, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Victoria
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
“Pet Fee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed for one night in Victoria before traveling on to the US. We were supposedly upgraded to a junior suite but I think it was being used to store excess furniture. The sitting room had 2 arm chairs, a hide a bed sofa AND a double bed. Pretty tight fit!
There was no air conditioning but the suite did have two very noisy fans.
BE ADVISED *******PET FEE WAS $50.00 FOR ONE NIGHT!!!!!*******ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS.
We have stayed at the Grand Pacific across the street (a much nicer hotel) and paid $30.00 for our little dog.
This dog fee should perhaps be revisited. We will not be back until the fee has been reduced!

Room Tip: I would ask for a newer part of the hotel if given a choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    295
    42
    9
    5
See reviews for
241
342
27
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Perfect in every way - location was outstanding, staff were highly professional and friendly, room was excellent in amenities, cleanliness, furnishings, view, quietness. We felt welcomed as guests and even though this was only for one night as a stopover, we felt so relaxed and at home it felt way longer. Well done Royal Scot!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night waiting for vacation rental. Front desk staff and reservation agent were extremely helpful and pleasant. Room was nice but no A/C and noisy. Lots of noise from room above as well as from outside parking lot. Hotel is very well located to inner harbour and tourist attractions. We will return but request a quit room

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed 3 nights while on a tour. This is a lovely, well cared for property that is convenient to many attractions.
Our room-actually a suite- consisted of a small but well equipped kitchen, living room, bedroom with queen bed and good-sized bathroom. We felt very comfortable and enjoyed having the option of watching the TV in the living room or the TV in the bedroom. However, the wall separating the bedroom & living room did not reach the ceiling and there was no door in the doorway between the living room & bedroom. This was fine for us, but might not work for you.

Room Tip: Before you book, check configuration on the suite to make sure it is right for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

In toured and out in three days ... this hotel is perfect as it is all about the location... right down town in the midst of all the attactions that Victoria has to offer... walking to everthing .. it was perfect .. bonus it was clean and a pleasure to come back to with weary feet to soak and put up! Front desk staff were pleasant and had the answers for our requests ... provided a great florist so I could bring an elderly aunt a beautiful bouquet and were helpful guiding us on sightseeing choices! I will definatly stay here when visiting this city and have already verbally recommended to my friends/co-workers!

Room Tip: They upgraded us from a regular room with double beds to a suite ... was on the back side of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We needed a suite in Victoria and the Royal Scot was the best option. The hotel is steps way from the Coho ferry but on relatively quiet street and the staff is attentive. The suite was well equipped with a full kitchen, a balcony and a bathroom accessible from both sleeping areas. Quibbles (with counterpoints): Parking is $15 a night extra (though we were comped for 1 of 3 nights), there is no in-room air conditioning (though we had fans and screen windows open), the sofa bed was uncomfortable even for a sofa bed (though the note ameliorated the discomfort with extra mattress pads, the morning coffee is mediocre (but free) and the elevator is bizarre in that you cannot tell if it is going up or down (though with only 4 floors you cannot go too far in the wrong direction)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is a centrally located hotel and a great value. We had a one bedroom suite, where my daughter and mother took the twin beds in the bedroom, and I had the pull out sofa. It allowed us each our own personal sleeping space. The kitchenette was stocked with all the essentials, so it wasn't necessary to eat out every meal.

The hotel shuttle was very accomadating and took me to and back from a bank to switch currency (their suggestion, as it is free to exchange up to a certain amount, unlike currency exchangers who charge a %).

I would highly recommend this hotel for families!

Room Tip: If you want one with a bedroom, choose or specify that when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Scot Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Scot Hotel & Suites

Address: 425 Quebec St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria
#11 Family Hotel in Victoria
#12 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Scot Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See why so many people return to the Royal Scot time and time again! Immaculately clean, the Royal Scot is a service oriented hotel, ideal for couples and families alike. Make yourself at home in a Studio or One Bedroom Suite. Both offer a fully equipped kitchen and living room area. Just steps from Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour, the Royal Scot offers free wi-fi as well as an indoor pool & hot tub, games room, gift shop and free downtown shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Royal Scot Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Scot Hotel And Suites
Royal Scot Victoria
Royal Scot Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Scot Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.