We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay, Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Scot Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Royal Scot Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 Quebec St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W7, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Victoria
Sherwood Park, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed here for a week's break. This hotel is older, but in an excellent location, within walking distance of downtown. There is a complimentary shuttle service within a reasonable distance. The room we had was a studio suite which was very clean and well equipped and maintained. We really enjoyed being able to buy a few groceries and save some money by doing so.

The pool and hot tub are clean, but if anything was a bit lacking it was the exercise facilities. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: A studio suite is quite adequate for a couple, even when staying for an extended time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    292
    42
    9
    5
See reviews for
241
338
27
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Compared to other budget hotels in Victoria, the Royal Scot scores top marks. We always stay there when we visit Victoria for a week's break. The location can't be beaten and it has a wonderful relaxed retro feel about it. It's bright, roomy, comfortable, quiet and clean. We get a kitchen unit with a south facing balcony. The staff are very polite, helpful and professional. There's a free shuttle bus to anywhere in the downtown area. The restaurant is very good but slightly expensive. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Visit Victoria often on business, and normally stay at the Royal Scot, not the best hotel in Victoria perhaps but the combination of location, cleanliness, and a great inhouse restaurant made this a nice place to stay. That was until I stayed in the dreaded room 240, it sits over the driveway separating the parking lot from the main entrance. Every diesel truck that leaves and enters passes under your room, and this seems to be a popular mode of transport for the guests, creates a small earthquake effect with full sound effects. (perhaps in preparation for future, more serious events in this part of the world). Since there is no air conditioning or room fans windows have to remain open in order to get any sort of air into the room. I mentioned this to the hotel day manager who indicated that my concern was duly noted but I somehow remain unconvinced that anyone else will not suffer the same fate.
This room is also next to the elevator shaft creating a more low level but distinct vibration. And did I mention the walls in this room are paper thin and if there is nothing on TV you can be entertained by your neighbours since you can hear their every word. (or even worse)
Will I stay here again? Maybe. Will I ever agree to stay in a room facing the parking lot. Never!

Room Tip: Avoid room 240 at all costs and be very wary of any rooms facing the parking lot. The rooms facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Scot, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Scot Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that your were disappointed with your stay this time around.

We do take great pride in our cleanliness and our restaurant. You raise a good point about the noise in room 240. All of our rooms and suites should have fans in the rooms, so I will look into why there was not one in your room during your stay.

If you would like to contact me directly at ggreene@royalscot.com, I can make a note on your file to make sure you are not assigned this particular room in the future.

Sincerely,

Greg Greene
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland,oregon
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This gets top marks primarily because of the service. We were there for two nights and from the moment we arrived we were treated magnificently. We were upgraded to a manor suite which was the size of a small apartment and had a separate bedroom, a kitchen, a full size living room and a balcony.
The location is marvelous. It's a couple of blocks from the ferry landing,a block from the Parliament and maybe 3 blocks from the Empress. We didn't have a car and didn't need one. The Inner Harbour is very walkable and even more importantly, you can catch a city bus (the #75 with out changing or the 30 or 31 with a transfer) directly to Butchart Gardens for only $2.50. So, without a car, you can still get to Butchart inexpensively.
While the service was good throughout (Chris, the shuttle driver and Kelly in the restaurant deserve special mention) the best service we received actually came after we checked out. We had planned on taking a float plane to Vancouver but, due to high winds, it was canceled. Stephanie at the front desk was our hero at this point. She first found out our flight was canceled, then she checked the weather forecast and saw it was only supposed to get worse and that's when she looked into an alternate way to Vancouver. What she came up with was a bus to Swartz Bay to catch the ferry to Tsawwassen, then bus to downtown Vancouver. Chris shuttled us to the bus station and we took care of it from there. It wasn't as fun as a float plane would have been but it worked and Stephanie set it all up. Our hero!

Room Tip: If possible request an upgrade to a manor suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I booked the Royal Scot Hotel and Suites through Clipper Vacations at an extremely competitive rate compared to the other Hotels in the area.

The clipper dock is only a block and a half from the Royal Scot which allowed us to skip any taxi cab costs. We walked the 1.5 blocks and checked into the hotel at 11:00 AM (several hours before check-in time) and dropped off our bags.

We staying one of the 60 or so Guest rooms which are a minority of the rooms in the hotel (most rooms have a full kitchen, our did not). The room's view was nothing special - I think ours looked an empty lot and a parking lot. However the room was a reasonable size with a small refrigerator, a balcony, a DVD player/TV and a king size bed.

I would agree with the other reviewers that the majority of the guests were of the older crowd. I did see a few families in the hotel, however. This information does not matter to me at all when selecting a hotel - just a note for people to know.

The location of the Royal Scot is perfect for tourists. 2 blocks from the Parliament Buildings, 3 blocks from the Royal BC Museum and within walking distance of anywhere you would want to go in downtown Victoria.

Room Tip: All rooms see to be quiet/clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Had an overnighter here last week,and was very happy with the experience. It's an older hotel but very clean. The beds were comfortable enough, the pool, games room, billiard room, guest laundry were a nice touch. Exercise room was pretty weak but the crowd wasn't really the "lifting weights" type. That being said, it's definitely a good spot for kids, but it seemed the guests were mostly Seniors. Best part is the location, one block from Wharf Street, with lots of bars and restaurants to choose from. Got up nice and early and went running along the water's edge. All in all, a good spot.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C. Canada
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Royal Scot may not be as fancy or up-dated as some of the other hotels on Victoria's inner harbor. But, it is very good value. It has been our "go to" hotel for many years.

Last Christmas, our daughter & son-in-law rented a 2 bedroom suite & my husband & I rented a studio suite for a holiday season stay in Victoria. The hotel staff was professional & friendly, as always. The suites were both very comfy. My son-in-law enjoyed the use of the in-door pool & the spa.

We were walking distance to the inner harbor, downtown, & the restaurant where we had our Christmas dinner. if, the weather had been inclement, we would have used the hotel's shuttle.

I highly recommend this hotel for patrons that are looking at good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Scot Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Scot Hotel & Suites

Address: 425 Quebec St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria
#11 Family Hotel in Victoria
#12 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Scot Hotel & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See why so many people return to the Royal Scot time and time again! Immaculately clean, the Royal Scot is a service oriented hotel, ideal for couples and families alike. Make yourself at home in a Studio or One Bedroom Suite. Both offer a fully equipped kitchen and living room area. Just steps from Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour, the Royal Scot offers free wi-fi as well as an indoor pool & hot tub, games room, gift shop and free downtown shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Royal Scot Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Scot Hotel And Suites
Royal Scot Victoria
Royal Scot Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Scot Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.