We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Scot Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Scot Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 Quebec St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W7, Canada   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Royal Scot is an older but well-maintained building in a quiet location 1/2 block from the Parliament Buildings, 1 block from the Inner Harbour and within easy walking distance of Victoria's other main attractions.

Our room was large and well-appointed with a 32" flat screen TV, walk-in closet, 2 sitting chairs, table and desk, bath robes, microwave and fridge. There is a pool and restaurant which we did not use. The Queen size bed was comfortable.

Negatives: our room was directly above the Lobby entrance and some of the arriving guests were noisy, next time will aslk for a different location. There is a $15.00 charge for parking which is annoying but typical for the area. The toilet is very close to the wall and bathroom counter. I am 6" and 220 lbs, and found the width very cramped. A larger person could have trouble sitting there.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing Quebec Street, away from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    317
    44
    9
    7
See reviews for
256
372
31
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wheeling, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

we stayed at the royal scot shortly before christmas. so wonderful to arrive from winterland, and find flowers in bloom in the gardens around our hotel. this hotel is small and old-fashioned...not a boutique hotel. but lovely in every way...very clean, comfortable, with many amenities. beautiful indoor pool, game room. we enjoyed the restaurant....affordable and delicious breakfasts two mornings in a row, with attentive friendly staff. we chose this hotel for all of the above qualities, which we had read about online, and we were completely satisfied they also have a free shuttle to anywhere you want to go downtown, for those who need help. if you are looking for friendly, helpful staff, affordable, comfortable, clean and quiet accommodation, within easy walking distance of downtown, this is a wonderful choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Royal Scot and found it quiet and comfortable. The suite had a kitchen with table and chairs. The living room was roomy. The billiards and shuffle board were fun.
It has everything for a short or long stay and the staff was friendly. I would have breakfast down the street. All in all a good value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel with our young family. The hotel is a good value with their full kitchens, and indoor pool and hot tub amenities. Great location downtown so we could walk everywhere we wanted to go. The staff were also very friendly and helpful and the check-in lady was wise to put us in a ground floor suite so other guests didn't have to listen to our children running around above them. It would have been nice if the gift shop had longer hours but this is a small quibble. Thanks to the Royal Scot for an excellent stay - we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is the second time that family and I have stayed at the Royal Scot over the Christmas holidays. The rooms are spacious and the hotel supplies you with a tin of cookies as a "house warming". The pool is quite good and the weight room will do. They have a very nice pool and shuffle board room, as well as a "games room". This room is ideal for when the weather isn't the greatest (which is often in December). The room has an electric piano, a TV, a library and several jigsaw puzzles. The staff are very friendly and are always cleaning. The decor is a little dated, but all of the important things are top notch. The staff at the restaurant are also very courteous. Best thing of all is that this hotel is one of the quietest that I've ever been in.

Room Tip: They have some really good 2 bedroom suites, which is ideal for a family with older kids. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Brought my mother for the weekend (her holiday gift). The hotel is a bit 'tired'--but clean, orderly and conveniently located. The staff is friendly and professional. Service is top notch. Not the most famous place to stay, nor the most posh. But dollar for dollar, I think you get more value for your money here than other hotels I frequented in the past.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

I went on a weekend trip from Seattle and would definitely stay here again. Everyone from the shuttle driver, concierge/front desk, and maid service was very friendly and accommodating. Also the activities we wanted to do were in walking distance of the hotel. We came slightly before our original room was ready, but they immediately gave us an alternate room to meet our needs. They also gave us a late check out. My wife and I were both very pleased with our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Scot Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Scot Hotel & Suites

Address: 425 Quebec St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria
#12 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#14 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Scot Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See why so many people return to the Royal Scot time and time again! Immaculately clean, the Royal Scot is a service oriented hotel, ideal for couples and families alike. Make yourself at home in a Studio or One Bedroom Suite. Both offer a fully equipped kitchen and living room area. Just steps from Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour, the Royal Scot offers free wi-fi as well as an indoor pool & hot tub, games room, gift shop and free downtown shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Royal Scot Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Scot Hotel And Suites
Royal Scot Victoria
Royal Scot Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Scot Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.