We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and close to the Coho” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Scot Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Scot Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 Quebec St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W7, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
seattle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable and close to the Coho”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Royal Scot and found it quiet and comfortable. The suite had a kitchen with table and chairs. The living room was roomy. The billiards and shuffle board were fun.
It has everything for a short or long stay and the staff was friendly. I would have breakfast down the street. All in all a good value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    308
    42
    9
    6
See reviews for
248
359
30
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel with our young family. The hotel is a good value with their full kitchens, and indoor pool and hot tub amenities. Great location downtown so we could walk everywhere we wanted to go. The staff were also very friendly and helpful and the check-in lady was wise to put us in a ground floor suite so other guests didn't have to listen to our children running around above them. It would have been nice if the gift shop had longer hours but this is a small quibble. Thanks to the Royal Scot for an excellent stay - we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is the second time that family and I have stayed at the Royal Scot over the Christmas holidays. The rooms are spacious and the hotel supplies you with a tin of cookies as a "house warming". The pool is quite good and the weight room will do. They have a very nice pool and shuffle board room, as well as a "games room". This room is ideal for when the weather isn't the greatest (which is often in December). The room has an electric piano, a TV, a library and several jigsaw puzzles. The staff are very friendly and are always cleaning. The decor is a little dated, but all of the important things are top notch. The staff at the restaurant are also very courteous. Best thing of all is that this hotel is one of the quietest that I've ever been in.

Room Tip: They have some really good 2 bedroom suites, which is ideal for a family with older kids. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Brought my mother for the weekend (her holiday gift). The hotel is a bit 'tired'--but clean, orderly and conveniently located. The staff is friendly and professional. Service is top notch. Not the most famous place to stay, nor the most posh. But dollar for dollar, I think you get more value for your money here than other hotels I frequented in the past.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

I went on a weekend trip from Seattle and would definitely stay here again. Everyone from the shuttle driver, concierge/front desk, and maid service was very friendly and accommodating. Also the activities we wanted to do were in walking distance of the hotel. We came slightly before our original room was ready, but they immediately gave us an alternate room to meet our needs. They also gave us a late check out. My wife and I were both very pleased with our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We love Royal Scot - We have stayed here a few times over a period of time. Always same great friendly service and very clean. This time we came as "walk-on" passengers taking the Coho ferry from Port Angeles. Hotel is only a short walk from ferry terminal. Another great plus is that they provide courtesy shuttle service. One of the nights it was cold to walk to city so we used their shuttle service.
Had a great breakfast with excellent service by Kelly (I see another review mentioned her as well). Very friendly with recommendations on couple of sites to see. She even wrote down for me name of book to read about the Dunsmuir family. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This was my first time to take the Port Angeles ferry to Victoria. I chose this hotel based on the price but found after I arrived that even though it was one of the least expensive hotels, it was in great shape and the staff went above and beyond to be friendly and accommodating. It is a hotel that I could easily walk off the ferry with luggage and get to. I highly recommend Royal Scot!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Scot Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Scot Hotel & Suites

Address: 425 Quebec St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#12 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Scot Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See why so many people return to the Royal Scot time and time again! Immaculately clean, the Royal Scot is a service oriented hotel, ideal for couples and families alike. Make yourself at home in a Studio or One Bedroom Suite. Both offer a fully equipped kitchen and living room area. Just steps from Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour, the Royal Scot offers free wi-fi as well as an indoor pool & hot tub, games room, gift shop and free downtown shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Scot Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Scot Hotel And Suites
Royal Scot Victoria
Royal Scot Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Scot Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.