We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old-fashioned motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Robin Hood Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Robin Hood Motel to your Saves list
Robin Hood Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   136 Gorge Road East, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 1L4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Campbell River, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Old-fashioned motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had to book a motel on the Gorge on the spur of the moment and the Robin Hood was in a good location for us. I asked the front desk for the best price they could offer us - just under a hundred. Later I found on line offers that were considerably cheaper. That is irksome,but the room itself had an old fashioned charm as the entry was a comfortable lounge, there was a full kitchenette and the bedroom was down the hall and private at the back. Surprisingly quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinHoodMotel, General Manager at Robin Hood Motel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Robin Hood Motel. We are happy to hear that you had a good stay with us. Our policy is to offer the same rates in person or over the phone as we offer on line and in the future if you do see a rate better than we are quoting you, please let us know so that we can offer it to you. At times, as may have been the case over the long weekend, not all room types shown on line are still available at the property level. Our apologies.
Kind Regards,
Karen Styba, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
12
21
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We chose this property for price and availability. We found the staff very friendly and the overall atmosphere easy-going. We had a kitchenette, a sitting area and bedroom (plus bath with bright yellow tub). The sitting area faced the street which is quite busy (noisy) during the day but quiet at night. There is no airconditioning so a bit stuffy when humid - and the lock on the sliding window did not work, so security was a bit of a worry.
Unfortunately we found small insects (silverfish?) crawling on the eating table on the first morning, and a piece of dried noodle on a placemat, as well as a potato chip on the carpet in the bedroom. We don't think this is typical of the whole property but it was a bit disconcerting for us. However since accommodations in Victoria over the long weekend were tight and we didn't spend more than sleeping time in the room so we carried on.
Overall I would see this hotel on par with a holiday cabin - homey, rustic, warm and friendly.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage try to get on the main floor - or close to the stairs - there is no ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinHoodMotel, General Manager at Robin Hood Motel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send in your review of the Robin Hood Motel. We have repaired the window noted in your comments. We would like you to know that most of our rooms in the newer wing have air conditioning and that there is a ramp located off the back parking lot which accesses the second floor. Please let us know that you would like air conditioning when calling us for reservations in the future and we would be happy to reserve one of those rooms for you.
Kind Regards,
Karen Styba, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I would not hesitate to enjoy another stay. So accommodating, had to switch our stay dates, as we were on a motorcycle, and was a major rain storm on our original date, even on a busy long weekend they managed to get us a suite where we had full view of the bike..right under the awesome huge old forest tree right outside our window....friendly, clean, reasonable, we will absolutely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinHoodMotel, General Manager at Robin Hood Motel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. Your positive feedback is indeed appreciated!
Kind Regards,
Karen Styba, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Residential neighborhood, pretty quiet on weekends, lawn mowers in the morning on weekdays. Two floors, no elevator. Rooms pretty clean, equipped with kitchen, parking space somewhat limited but not too bad. Free internet, routers slightly overloaded hence a bit slow at times but overall usable. Staff helpful and responsive. No restaurant on site, but several in the vicinity. 5-10 minutes from downtown. Front desk is only open till 11 pm in the evening, but they called me shortly before 11 to check if we are coming (we were arriving late on 11 pm ferry from Port Angeles). Overall, good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinHoodMotel, General Manager at Robin Hood Motel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Robin Hood Motel. We are happy to hear that overall you felt you had good value for your dollar! We have recently upgraded and protected our free WIFI and our current guests are finding the service much improved.
Kind Regards,
Karen Styba, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed 7 nights, very clean, well equipped, comfortable bed.Quite.
Free bus into and home from the city each day 2 time frames.
Very helpful friendly staff. restuarants with in 5min walk , supermarket a short drive away.
highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinHoodMotel, General Manager at Robin Hood Motel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Robin Hood Motel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and our hospitality during your stay with us and we look forward to an opportunity to be of service again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Karen Styba, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

All in All a average motel. The parking lot and rooms could use a little work but it was clean and comfortable. The staff was passably friendly and accommodating. The location was far enough from downtown for quiet but close enough to hop a 5 minute bus ride to down town. The price was on the lower end and made up for the generally out of date rooms.

Room Tip: With old wiring don't expect to be able to use a blow dryer during your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinHoodMotel, General Manager at Robin Hood Motel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Robin Hood Motel. We are very happy to hear that you found your room clean and comfortable and our staff friendly and helpful. I am sorry that you experiences some trouble with your hairdryer in the room you occupied. It is possible to use a hairdryer in our rooms however, on occassion if too many appliances are used at one time, it can cause the breaker to be tripped. We would be more than happy to give you a hand with this on future visits!
Kind Regards,
Karen Styba, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I just tried to reserve a room here, however I had a very weird interaction with someone named Kara over the phone. When I called with a couple of questions about an offer for a standard queen bed for July 25-28th for $236.77 on booking.com she argued with me that no such rate or offer exists even though I am still looking at the offer on my screen. She became offended and argumentative over something that I am not making up-I have decided to move on to find different accommodations. Too weird and poor customer service just trying to book a room!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinHoodMotel, General Manager at Robin Hood Motel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your reservation attempt. All feedback is valued from our guests and potential guests. I am wondering if it is possible that the rate you saw on line was in US funds or included the taxes? Our online rates are generally the same as the ones quoted over the telephone or in person provided the room type is available.
Kind Regards,
Karen Styba, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Robin Hood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robin Hood Motel

Address: 136 Gorge Road East, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 1L4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Robin Hood Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family owned business takes pride in offering clean and comfortable accommodation for excellent value. The Robin Hood is centrally located just 3 km from Victoria’s beautiful Inner Harbour and its attractions. Access to the Galloping Goose walking/cycling Trail is nearby. We offer a variety of different rooms including sleeping rooms (some with optional kitchens), kitchen suites with separate bedrooms, and large kitchen suites that can accommodate 6 persons. Wireless internet, local calls, parking and the lobby's guest computer are all provided at no charge. Other features include a picnic area, coin-operated guest laundry and bicycle storage. There are discounts available for seniors, AAA members, and groups. Weekly and monthly rates are offered in the off-season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Robin Hood Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robin Hood Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Robin Hood Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.