We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Victoria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Laurel Point

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Laurel Point to your Saves list
Inn at Laurel Point
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   680 Montreal Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1Z8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tigard, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best location in Victoria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Perfectly situation near Fisherman's wharf, an easy walk to the main attractions in Victoria. We stayed 3 nights and had a great view of sea planes and boats. Pool and secure, overnight parking garage were a plus. This is our 3rd stay there and would continue to return on our next visit to Victoria.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    344
    116
    39
    20
See reviews for
238
621
37
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this property for two nights on our recent visit to Victoria. While the location is pretty good our room was in the older part of this hotel which I would not recommend. The rooms were very noisy due to poor insulation and loud housekeeping staff and the wifi connection - while complementary - was so slow as to be unusable. We didn't eat at the hotel's restaurant so cannot comment on that. Bottom line - if you can get into the new wing (which is more expensive) I think you'll be happy.

Room Tip: Ask for new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy E, Executive Assistant to the Boss! at Inn at Laurel Point, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear RKDuke,
Thank you for posting your comments. I am truly sorry that you found our Laurel Wing and our housekeeping staff to be a bit noisy for your liking. We actually do have very good insulation but I must admit that during our peak summer months when we are constantly running a full house filled with vacationers, the corridors etc can and do become very energetic at times – quite different from our winter time schedule frankly. Our fall and winter guests are normally business people who are here to do just that- conduct business -sometimes we barely know they are here.
Now since we are on the topic of the summer traveler, I would like to explain the reason for the slow Free WiFi. We are now in the era of the IPAD and other electronic devices too numerous to count. Parents and others are using the Free WiFi service to access and run movies and gaming etc so you can well imagine how quickly the bandwidth gets used – not unlike any other free WiFi service, the bandwidth is not infinite and so it slows down. We do however have complimentary ethernet cables in all rooms in ready to access our pay WIFI service, if, you are in a hurry to get data like flt schedules, banking or other important data. Alternatively, we also do have a business centre with a computer and pay access to the internet if all else fails.
I do hope this sheds some light on your queries and would like to remind everyone that our Laurel Wing rooms are indeed older than our Erickson Wing rooms but they are priced accordingly and I think they provide great value for the price conscious traveler –afterall – everyone gets our same 10 star service from the friendliest staff in Victoria in the city’s most beautiful surroundings.

Enjoy the rest of your summer and I do hope you will return again one day.

Sincerely,

~Judy~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Inn and everything about the place was quality!! At a price that was below the service given. The staff was as helpful and friendly as any place we have stayed in our many travels. Rooms, dining and service is first rate.

Room Tip: Any room with a balcony will give you a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy E, Executive Assistant to the Boss! at Inn at Laurel Point, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear 1001Randy,

Thank you for posting such a lovely review. More importantly, thank you for chosing to stay with us. I am so glad that we didn't dissapoint!

All the best for a great "rest of your summer" and I do hope you will have an opportunity to return again one day!

All the best!

~Judy~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Lots of room, comfortable bed, bathroom and living area has sofa and comfy chair. Bathroom amenities were plentiful and appreciated. Everything was super clean.
The people here are really wonderful, helpful and pleasant, giving the place lots of charm.
The views of the garden and the harbor were very nice and the soundproofing in the room was perfect, couldn't hear any unwanted noises if there were any. It's close enough to the harbor for the ferries and the waterfront walk.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy E, Executive Assistant to the Boss! at Inn at Laurel Point, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hi cindeedee!

Love your handle!
Thank you so much for your kind words. Thank you for mentioning how quiet it can really get here dispite being on a small but busy working harbour. You see, all boat traffic ceases when the sun goes down and the harbour becomes as still as the night. It is absolutely magical to sit out on one's balcony,glass of wine in hand, watching nothing but the twinkly lights. Our double paned windows and glass patio doors ensure that the interior of your rooms are as soundproof as possible. And yes, we have the comfiest beds in the city - even if I do say so myself!!

I do hope you have an opportunity to return one day again!

Enjoy the rest of your summer!

~Judy~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at the Inn on my birthday, it was a big one!! We couldn't have asked for a better place for my big birthday!! The staff treated us so great!, from parking our car to loading things on a cart to take to our room! The room was beautiful, big and very clean. The baloney was wonderful overlooking the Japanese gardens they have and the outer harbor. The restaurant food was great, they gave us a voucher for my birthday. The wait staff were very attentive, very helpful.
The location was close to everything, we were able to walk everywhere we wanted.
We stayed four nights and wished it would have been more!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the outer harbor are the best, very quiet. The Erickson wing is the most quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy E, Executive Assistant to the Boss! at Inn at Laurel Point, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear DS1828,
Thanks for posting your wonderful review. So glad your "special" birthday was a memorable one!
Maybe you will make it an annual event???
Hoping this year will be your best year evar!!
Fondest regards,

~Judy~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed a night at the Inn at Laurel Point with my fiance and visiting parents - spectacular room, spectacular view, and spectacular service. The room we had in the Erikson wing was beautifully appointed, the bathroom extremely spacious and luxurious, and the large furnished patio with harbour views was the clincher. We will have to stay longer next time to fully appreciate the view and enjoy the spa services.
The front desk was extremely helpful with activities and directions, and let us have a late checkout and even park our car for the day after we left the hotel. I had lost a room key and was graciously assured that it was not a problem.
AURA looked like a great patio to have dinner on, but was unfortunately all full at the time of our stay, as we had not made a reservation. No matter, as it is close to a plethora of dining options and we took a nice stroll along the harbour. Would love to see a hotel bar/lounge in addition to AURA, though - we may have stayed in the whole night!
A fantastic experience for everybody in our party, and is definintely a great alternative to a chain hotel for appreciating the beauty of Victoria.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room in the newer Erikson wing, it's definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy E, Executive Assistant to the Managing Director at Inn at Laurel Point, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Cat F,
Thank you for posting such a wonderful review of your recent stay with us. You know, we can spend all the money in the world marketing the "Laurels" [groan] of our Inn but in the end it is the guest's opinion that we value the most.
You mentioned that you would love to see a hotel bar/lounge and that you would be prepared to stay all night. We do have a very sleek sit up bar in our restaurant AURA that is quite lovely - it's not a big space but it's a great little spot for a glass of your favourite beverage or, in the summertime you are always welcomed to spend the evening under the stars on our waterfront patio, again, sipping your favourite libation.

Have a great rest of your summer and yes, please make your stay a littel onger next time.

Cheers

~Judy~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We couldn't believe our eyes when we saw the view and deck from out 5th floor room in the Erickson wn g. We'd moved from a cramped 'boutique' hotel in Victoria and felt amazed by the beautiful room and location of the Inn at such a reasonable price. We've already tied to boom I again but they were fully booked up. Would definitely rank this as one of the highlights of our three week trip in B.C. I even bought one of their lush bathrobes!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy E, Executive Assistant to the Boss! at Inn at Laurel Point, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear DavenportsUK,
I am so happy that you enjoyed your family reunion here at the Inn. I am flattered that your family chose this location to celebrate such a wonderful affair. Our Inn really is a tranquil little oasis at the end of Victoria's charming harbour, isn't it? Just perfect for such occasions.

Thank you for posting such a lovely review and I do hope you will return this way again one day.

Have a great rest of your summer.

~Judy~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Laurel Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Laurel Point

Address: 680 Montreal Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1Z8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Victoria
#5 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#6 Business Hotel in Victoria
#8 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#10 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#12 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at Laurel Point 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inn at Laurel Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Laurel Point Hotel Victoria
Hotel At Laurel Point
At Laurel Point Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Laurel Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.