We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why would anyone say this is a bad hotel?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Laurel Point

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Laurel Point to your Saves list
Inn at Laurel Point
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   680 Montreal Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1Z8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Why would anyone say this is a bad hotel?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I've stayed here and will again. This place is beautifully located on the water in Victoria. The property has recently had an upgraded wing added which is a terrific addition to an already nice place.
Staff are friendly and well organized.
They are dog friendly without a bunch of rules to make your stay with mutts difficult.
And, if you are a cancer patient, they have a special rate for you and your family that is a SIGNIFICANT reduction in cost!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Erickson Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy E, Executive Assistant to the Managing Director at Inn at Laurel Point, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Robert M,
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy day to post your comments about your most recent stay with us. And, thank you for making the Inn at Laurel Point your hotel of choice while in Victoria.
We know all too well how important our pets are to us, in fact, they are not just pets but important members of our family and I am so happy to hear that you found bringing your pooch along to be an easy process. You are right, there are not many rules for our four legged friends but our canine Ambassador, Ruby the Chocolate Lab, sends each and every one of our registered pooches their very own welcome letter outlining the house rules plus a map with great local places to walk "off leash". Upon check in, there's even a small welcome treat - house made doggie cookies!

It is unfortunate that you must come to Victoria for cancer treatments but being in calm surroundings must certainly be helpful to your recovery. And you are correct, we do offer special rates, based on availability for BC Vancouver Island residents travelling to Victoria for treatment at the BC Cancer Agency. providing, of course, that we have space available to accommodate you.

Thank you again for your lovely comments, we will hope that you will return one day cancer free..just for the fun of it!

All the best

Judy Elder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    344
    116
    39
    20
See reviews for
237
619
37
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We went over for our 30th anniversery and did a pachage deal with the Victoria Clipper. I am not a big fan of bundled trips but this one hit the mark. The clipper got there at in the morning and knowing check in was not til 3:00 we decided to leave the bags at the hotel while we went out. From the clipper termial it was a 5 min walk !
To our amazement the room was ready and we were in our room by 10:30 ! The room was fantastic with views of the harbor, mountians,seaplanes and the water taxis's running around like little waterbugs. We did not want to leave the room but the city in spring was calling us.
We will go back to this hotel and get room 558 again !!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy E, Executive Assistant to the Managing Director at Inn at Laurel Point, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear TacomaSquattie,
Great handle, by the way!
Thank you so much for posting your heartfelt thoughts about your recent stay with us!
I agree, sometimes package deals can be restrictive, but not so with this one. We have had a long standing friendship with our friends at Victoria Clipper in Seattle and we think this package is about as seamless as travel can be these days! What better that a scenic boat ride from downtown Seattle's waterfront to Victoria's downtown waterfront in 2.5 hours and then a 5 minute stroll to our Inn. It doesn't get much easier than that!
We cannot always offer an early check in such as you had, but we can always stow your bags and you can be off in minutes to enjoy all that Victoria has to offer.
Thanks again for chosing the Inn at Laurel Point for your getaway and do come back and see us again!

Sincerely,

Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Location really is everything. I upgraded to a suite room, which had a glass-walled balcony overlooking the harbor. Totally excellent for sitting in the room and watching the sea planes come and go.

Nice property, lovely gardens, great for walking everywhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile


Booked this hotel for a great rate on Expedia but then found out that , at that rate, we were going to be in the mediocre part of the hotel. For an additional $40 /night they allowed us to upgrade to the Erickson wing (main floor, walk out to the Japanese gardens) - the best $40/night upgrade cost I've ever spent !!

The rooms were spacious, well appointed, super clean, with a large lush bathroom and lots of space throughout. Outside the sliding doors we walked out to the Japanese gardens (which were quite nice and provided a serene space for reflecting on all that is good).

The restaurant at the hotel was more expensive than it should have been. That being said there were lots of other eating options near the hotel - and the front desk will shre with you some of their Favourites.

This hotel was the cherry on a fantastic Victoria cake :o)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swift current
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Our first impression of the Laurel Point was Wow! We did not change our minds
during our 5 day stay here. It was too bad that we had to leave!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Usually I prefer smaller hotels or Bed-and-breakfast type accommodation but this was the hotel selected by the conference organizers so I decided to go along and made a reservation…

In the larger hotel category this is an excellent choice. The room was beautiful and I enjoyed the view! The bed was extremely comfortable. Nice little touches: Aveda products (which are awesome) in the bathroom, and delicious teas! The staff was welcoming without being ostentatious.

Because when I travel I tend to be a light sleeper I had requested a quiet room and they made sure I got one away from elevators, outdoor fans etc.

The neighbourhood is somewhat soulless for my taste, but that also means it is very quiet and safe. It is also very conveniently located. By foot you can access the center.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy E, Executive Assistant to the Managing Director at Inn at Laurel Point, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear MeganJaneVictoria,

Thank you for your very generous compliments about our beautiful Inn. It is unfortunate however that you had to discover us due to a power outage but I am thrilled that you did discover our little piece of paradise here at the edge of the harbour.
We do get a lot of compliments on our comfy beds! I can honestly say that we have invested a lot of time and resources finding the very best quality of amentites for our guest rooms. We have THE very best bathrobes in the city and we are constantly selling out of them as our guests like to purchase them for home. Both our Aveda products and our Slik Road bath & body products are a hit with our guests as well.
And yes, we pride ourselves on being a very pet friendly hotel. We even have our own Chocolate Lab, Ruby, on our payroll. You see, she is our official Front Door Greeter. She is always ready for a pat on the head or a shake of the paw!
So, please do come back with your pooch anytime you like to your home away from home and you both will be welcomed with open arms (and possibly a wagging tail)

All the best

Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Staff friendly rooms clean although some furniture showing signs of age. Fantastic views over the inner harbour. Indoor pool good but no sauna or jacuzzi. Room did not include breakfast. Perhaps that is just an English thing. I would return because it was affordable clean with great views

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Laurel Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Laurel Point

Address: 680 Montreal Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1Z8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Victoria
#5 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#6 Business Hotel in Victoria
#8 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#10 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#12 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at Laurel Point 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inn at Laurel Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Laurel Point Hotel Victoria
Hotel At Laurel Point
At Laurel Point Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Laurel Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.