We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, convenient to ferry and walkable to downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour Towers to your Saves list
Harbour Towers
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   345 Quebec Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newbury, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, convenient to ferry and walkable to downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed one night here as an overnight accommodation from Clipper Vacations, a ferry side trip from Seattle. This hotel was only a few hundred feet from the ferry dock, and five minutes from the beautiful Victoria harbor and downtown. This was an upgrade to the basic package...the total for the ferry, hotel, and return was mid $400 for a couple...an extreme bargain in my opinion. The hotel is quiet, comfortable, and convenient. The bed was truly a pleasure. We had a very nice buffet breakfast in their restaurant. The food was appealing, tasty, and varied. They offer both a full or continental buffet. Very good coffee. The staff was helpful, offered to store our luggage until evening return on the Clipper. Free wi-fi was appreciated. This isn't the Four Seasons, but I'd certainly stay here again. Room was small with balcony...a view would have been nice, but oh well. There was a nice flat screen with many channels, refridgerator for late night leftovers and beverages, coffee service, and a user friendly heating/AC which included a ceiling fan...nice touch. You can open the window for fresh air and stir it a bit.

Room Tip: Room that faces harbor has no view except the hotel in front of it. Not sure this hotel has rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Always happy to read of our Victoria Clipper guests who appreciate how conveniently located we are to both the ferry as well as downtown! I love to read that you consider the package an extreme bargain, especially as you've also listed pretty well every one of the inclusions (full hot breakfast) and the other amenities.
Please take note for a future visit that we consider the rooms from 8th floor and up offer the view, of either the Inner Harbour or the Strait of Juan de Fuca and the Olympic Mountains - Oceanview!
Hoping we will welcome you back,
Sincerely,
Kay Koot, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    283
    111
    45
    28
See reviews for
206
245
28
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed here for five days on a business trip in early June.

PROS: Lovely location a mere short block away from Victoria's gorgeous and atmospheric inner harbour.

Excellent helpful and friendly staff.

Clean and quiet.

Comfortable bed with updated bedding.

The breakfast in the hotel restaurant was included in my room rate and was definitely a step up from the typical mediocre budget hotel breakfast. Offerings include an assortment of pastries and breads, eggs, sausages, bacon, a variety of fresh fruit, yogurts, a wide assortment of cereal, and so forth. Having said that, I'm not certain that the breakfast is included in every room rate and had it not been, I would not have paid the $14.00 plus dollars, not including taxes and tip. I say this only because I am a small eater and it simply would not be worth it for me.

Very good and spacious fitness centre.

CONS:

The hotel is definitely in need of a serious facelift. We're talking extremely dated here but certainly not in a charming heritage or historic way. The decor screams 70's through and through, from the ugly carpets and furniture to the peeling wallpaper and cheap fittings throughout the room.

Two personal pet peeves with regards to practicality: the bathroom sink/console is such that there is virtually no room to spread out one's toiletries and effects. Very annoying.

Similarly, particularly as a business traveller, I found the desk to be VERY small, with barely enough room for my laptop, with not even a pad of paper, and lacking a proper adjustable chair.

Wifi is iffy and slow and tends to default to hotels in the vicinity--also very annoying. There is an LG TV but TV reception is quite poor.

The design of the lobby is curious in that one has to go up a few stairs after checking in at the desk in order to get to the elevator--somewhat difficult with heavy luggage.

All in all, I would honestly have to say that if I was looking to book a hotel on my own for personal travel this would certainly not be my first choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the harbour side. My room on the other side overlooking a roof was nothing to writ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Well we were happy to accommodate you for 5 nights on your business trip and appreciate the positive notes regarding our staff, cleanliness and comfortable bed. I take this opportunity to announce improvements to 2 of the Cons: 190 ergonomic desk chairs have been ordered and we await the installation of a Server which will activate the HD aspect of the new 42" televisions.
thank you,
Sincerely,
Kay Koot, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

My wife and I upgraded on arrival to a suite which had great views out over the city and inner harbour. Well worth the modest extra cost too. Large lounge with kitchen facilities and good sized bedroom with small balcony off. A little bit tired maybe and ready for an uplift, but very adequate overall. Short walk to the attractions. Convenient and would re-visit.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
We appreciate your review and I salute you for mentioning that you were happy to have upgraded to what I believe is one of our 1-Bedroom OceanView King Suites.
Hoping to welcome you back.
sincerely,
Kay Koot, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We rented the penthouse and we were extremly disappointed !
There were slit of main thence issues that had been ignored ! Closet doors that wouldn't open ! Plastic bag stuffed on holes in walls , wallpaper lifting , doors delaminating , rusty old can opener. , missing dishes and cutlery ( called front desk and never brought up ) balcony and chairs full of bird pop !

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
I am very sorry to read all of these items and quite surprised at all, except for the evidence of seagulls. The communication between our front desk and housekeeping teams is recorded on a Log, so that all opportunities can be recorded when fulfilled and I do apologize for any inconvenience and your disappointment.
As for the seagulls, our HousePerson can scrub and clean a balcony prior to a blocked reservation, and their work can be for nothing within minute! We do continue our efforts to deal with this however.
Thank you,
Kay Koot, general manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Nicely located for both business and pleasure, one-bedroom self-catering suite is clean and spacious and decently equipped, extremely accommodating staff at the front desk and the restaurant (great breakfast, pretty basic evening menu). Only drawback: no room service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thanks for your comments, noting the positive for both business travel as well as leisure - as the largest independent conference hotel in Victoria we do comfortably accommodate both! I also agree with comments about our 1-Bedroom King Suites (having lived in one for 2 months while waiting to move into my condo). Full hot Breakfast Buffet now included in the price when reserving any of our 84 suites.
see you again,
Sincerely,
Kay Koot, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This was our second stay at the Victoria Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites. We stayed in the one-bedroom suite again, this time with an ocean view instead of the harbour view.

Let's get this out of the way first; if you're looking for modern, stylish rooms you should adjust your expectation. The rooms and hallways are dated but very clean. However, there's something about this subtle look that feels more like home than a hotel.

The staff are incredible as usual, and the included breakfast buffet at Vic's although nothing out of the ordinary was quite good and the setting was very nice. We loved staying here again and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Careful with Ocean View rooms as there's an apartment on the south-east side of the tower that c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Appreciating your straightforward honesty about what I cannot change at this time but especially appreciative of your commendations of the Housekeeping team's efforts at cleanliness as well as all the incredible staff!
Awaiting your 3rd return visit!
Sincerely,
Kay Koot, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We just hosted a conference at the Harbour Towers. I would not hesitate to return to this site, again hosting an event or as a personal vacation. We brought our pet and he loved it as much as ourselves. We had a great room with comfortable beds. Lots of hot water in the morning and a great shower head, nice full spray. We had the complimentary breakfast every morning. Lauren was always cheerful and quick to get you seated and into the breakfast, which was amazing. I overdosed on fresh fruit! We hosted training seminars and were well looked after by Theresa, Dan and Roger. They all made sure our event was a huge success. The catering was done by the hotel and for the first time in all the years we have been putting on these events we didn't hear one unsatisfied word about the the meals. The deserts were far from the norm and we were very impressed. Our conference is not to come back to Victoria for another 4 years, which is too bad because the Harbour Towers Hotel and Suites exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
I am so proud of my Team for so exceeding your expectations! Those you named will be recognized and Chef Setso will celebrate with his culinary team how for the first time you heard not one unsatisfied comment!
Counting on welcoming your conference back in 4 years time!
With thanks and Most Sincerely,
Kay Koot, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Towers

Address: 345 Quebec Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Victoria
#20 Family Hotel in Victoria
#21 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#24 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Towers 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites we believe "It's the little things that make the difference". From our professional front desk personnel to our dedicated room attendants, our ultimate goal is to provide the impeccable service and extra little touches that will make your visit memorable. The Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites offers some of the most spacious and comfortably appointed accommodations in Victoria. Most of our rooms and suites have balconies and many display breathtaking views of the vibrant Inner Harbour or the majestic Olympic Mountains and the Strait of Juan de Fuca. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, you can rest assured that at Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites, your comfort is our primary concern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Harbour Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Towers Hotel Victoria
Harbour Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.