We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value at Harbour Towers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour Towers to your Saves list
Harbour Towers
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   345 Quebec Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tacoma, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent value at Harbour Towers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I chose Harbour Towers from the Clipper hotel options. I paid $20 more / night for a "suite" and since I had two children with me, this was a very good decision. The suite is 2 legitimate rooms. 1 bedroom, 1 living room with a pull-out bed. The suite included a small kitchenette.

The location is about 15 minutes walk to the central business district. For my taste (with 2 kids) this was 5 minutes too long. However... there are other hotels even farther away. So all in all the location was pretty nice. It is, however, the closest hotel to the Clipper terminal. That is nice if you have kids.

The hotel itself and rooms themselves are dated - no way to ignore that. But the people are very courteous and helpful.

The hotel has a small indoor pool which was a big hit for our kids. I was very thankful for the small well-kept pool.

Overall, while the Pacific Hotel or Empress Hotels (etc) are closer and perhaps a bit nicer, the Harbour Towers is so much cheaper that it wins out. I would probably stay here again. The size of the room and the price are too good to ignore. And the hotel - although dated - is far superior to the even less expensive hotels in the neighborhood (I'm looking at you, nasty Days Inn -- although to be fair that is where you get the liquor - at Days Inn)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, from all the Clipper choices, which we greatly appreciate. Indeed, you can almost just let your luggage roll down the street directly into the Terminal building! My Team works hard and takes great pleasure in being courteous and helpful and the number of different sized suites we can offer do usually really satisfy the families.
We hope to welcome you back, taking advantage of our value and location,
sincerely,
Kay Koot, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    283
    111
    45
    28
See reviews for
206
245
28
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were looking for a hotel that had more than a 'room' since we knew that our granddaughter would be a frequent visitor with us while in Victoria. Our room was a 1 bedroom suite with king size bed and pull-out sofabed, a full balcony with bedroom and living room access and a fabulous view from the 11th floor of the inner harbour and downtown. The location is close to everything we wanted to see. There is a 'kitchenette' which we really never used but it was there if we wanted it. Full breakfasts were included in the room price which was very reasonable. Everything was clean and in good condition. The bedroom has a good size flat screen TV although the living room had an old model...but we rarely had either on so that was fine. There is an indoor pool and hottub that is always empty so it was like having our own pool and although we did not use it, the exercise room seemed adequate and again very few people using it. We will definitely stay there again next year! Great value for the $$$

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you so very much for highlighting so many of the aspects of our hotel that we are proud of ... and which equated your Harbour Towers experience to be more than just a "room". I myself stayed in one of the 1-bedroom harbour-view suites and can attest to the comfort, while our housekeeping and maintenance teams will be happy to read that you found everything to be clean and in good condition. We now do include our full Breakfast Buffet in the rate for all Suites and I'm glad to read your high $$$ value for money ... hoping to welcome you back again, so you can again enjoy your own pool & hot tub!
Sincerely,
Kay Koot, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We started off well, with a very friendly check-in agent who had a great sense of humour. She was helpful and efficient.

We were really pleased with our 1 bedroom king room, 11th floor, with a balcony and a super view of the inner harbour. It was very spacious - lots of closet space and moving around room (except in the bathroom). Windows that open in the living room and the sliding doors to the balcony in the bedroom were so welcome with the summer heat. The furniture is ready for an update for sure, but it's clean and functional. The bed was comfy; linen was OK. We had a kitchenette and made good use of the small fridge. The room also had a table with 4 chairs.

High floor rooms on the other side have cruise ship views - all lit up at night. Also a nice view; but we preferred the inner harbour.

We had our small dog with us and one of the housekeepers was so kind to her and insisted on cleaning our room, even with our dog in it. They got along famously. She stopped by on another day and was visiblly disappointed when we told her we didn't need service - so we invited her in just to spend a few minutes with the dog!

They have a great, open business centre with 4 or 5 full size desks with computers and print facilities. We had to scan some documents and the front desk staff didn't hesitate to help us with that.

The breakfast buffet is amazing; definitely something for everyone - hot and cold selections. We were impressed with the variety. Again, the staff in this busy location were helpful and efficient....and the place was really busy all 3 days we had breakfast here.

The location is great - an easy walk to Fisherman's wharf and maybe 2 blocks down to the Washington ferry and clipper docks. Easy walking to anything in the inner harbour.

We stayed 4 nights and will definitely stay here again when next in Victoria. Thank you for a great stay Harbour Towers!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Wow, really appreciate your in-depth review! And you've touched on most of our Selling Advantages: the super view of the Inner Harbour I can attest to (having stayed in a 10th floor 1-Bedroom King Suite for 2 months); ability to open the balcony window and door; the comfortable bed; large Business Centre; location. My Culinary and Food & Beverage Service teams will be thrilled to read how satisfied you were with our Breakfast Buffet, including how impressed you were at how efficient everything was, even though very busy. Finally, as you also stated, although the room could be updated, the friendly, helpful and efficient service provided by our front desk and housekeeping associates ... priceless!
The team looks forward to welcoming you back,
Sincerely,
Kay Koot, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. It was our Anniversary and we stayed in the Penthouse suite which had magnificent views. The suite was very large, clean and comfortable. Staff was nice, the restaurant downstairs (Vics) was excellent. Overall we had a very nice memorable stay. Thanks!

Vics Restaurant was very nice. We ate there one night and ate at another fancier more expensive restaurant the next night and we both agreed we liked Vics better.

I would easily recommend the Harbour Towers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you very much for the wonderful comments in your review! I will take great pleasure in sharing them with the appropriate departments: in particular our hard-working Room Attendants will be happy to be told that you found the large Penthouse Suite to be clean, and Chef Dustin and his culinary team along with Vic's Servers will be very proud that you liked your dinner experience better than the fancier more expensive restaurant!
Come back again!
Sincerely,
Kay Koot, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Our room was spotless. Very comfortable bed. The view was amazing. Won't find a better location. The dining room service was superior with friendly staff. Pool was clean as so was the weight room. We left car and able to walk every where downtown Victoria and museums.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
I really appreciate all of your so very positive and specific comments in your review. Our hard-working Room Attendants will be very proud when I share that you found your room to be spotless! Our service team in Vic's restaurant will also be given kudos for their superior service.
Many thanks! Come back soon!
Sincerely,
Kay Koot, general manager
250.480.6575
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel has a great location to all the major landmarks in Victoria. It is just a couple of blocks away from the parlament building or BC museum. The rooms are directing to a very quiet street and the beds were very comfortable. We skiped the breakfast and had a great break at Murchie's in Government street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and for your review, recognizing our great location (easy access to downtown yet in a quiet neighbourhood). And since comfortable beds are the most basic expectation when staying in a hotel - I'm happy that we succeeded.
Hope you return soon,
best regards,
Kay Koot, general manager
250.480.6575
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Harbour Towers is just a couple of blocks from the Clipper ferry, making it a very convenient place to stay. The pool and hot tub were good as well as the sauna. Our suite room had a great view of the harbor from our balcony. My only complaint is the breakfast buffet.

Perhaps the breakfast is good if it's included with the room, but it's certainly not worth paying for individually. The scrambled eggs definitely were not made from fresh eggs - they were the uniform color and texture you get from low quality industrial cafeteria food. Somehow they made the Yukon gold breakfast potatoes chewy. I would be very surprised if these potatoes were cut and prepared that morning. Moreover, the layout of the buffet is poor - it was too unnecessarily crowded. In the brief time I was there I saw a man bump into another and some hot coffee spilled on his hand and the floor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Oh Dear! Our Chef Dustin will certainly be following up on your comments expressing disappointment with the quality of the food produced by his culinary team ... I have personally never found the potatoes chewy and this will be further investigated. As for the layout of the buffet, we are indeed in the final stages of the design and ordering of a permanent buffet with induction heaters and a set up which should allow good flow.
Really happy that you enjoyed the suite, the pool area and of course our easy access to the Clipper location.
Hopefully we'll have addressed the breakfast setup, should you return, to give us another chance.
thanks
Kay Koot, general manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Towers

Address: 345 Quebec Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Victoria
#20 Family Hotel in Victoria
#21 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#24 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Towers 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites we believe "It's the little things that make the difference". From our professional front desk personnel to our dedicated room attendants, our ultimate goal is to provide the impeccable service and extra little touches that will make your visit memorable. The Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites offers some of the most spacious and comfortably appointed accommodations in Victoria. Most of our rooms and suites have balconies and many display breathtaking views of the vibrant Inner Harbour or the majestic Olympic Mountains and the Strait of Juan de Fuca. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, you can rest assured that at Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites, your comfort is our primary concern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harbour Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Towers Hotel Victoria
Harbour Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.