We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the extra space” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour Towers to your Saves list
Harbour Towers
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   345 Quebec Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
GreenLeadersSilver level
Grants Pass, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the extra space”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I got a great deal on the Harbour Towers with a package on the Victoria Clipper. As other reviewers have said, the hotel is dated. But we were travelling with our kids and booked a one-bedroom suite, and the tired decor didn't matter ... we all really enjoyed having the extra space. The fitness room is by far the largest I've seen for any hotel with quite a few different bikes, treadmills, weights, TVs, etc. There's also a small hot tub, dry sauna and a pool (which the kids loved). The hotel is an easy walk from the Clipper terminal (about 2 blocks). We had dessert one night at Vic's restaurant and the breakfast buffet one morning. It was convenient, tasty and the service was friendly and helpful, but I'd recommend walking a few blocks to the James Bay Tea Room for breakfast if you have the time. The buffet just wasn't worth $15 unless you're pinched for time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Lovely to read a review from another one of our Clipper guests and especially so when it is so positive. Being new to the city myself, and not yet familiar with how the Harbour Towers compares to the hotels in our market, I'm very happy to read that you and your family appreciate the recreational facilities and in particular the size and scope of our Fitness Centre.
Ready to welcome you back on your next voyage on the Clipper,
sincerely,
Kay Koot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    278
    111
    45
    28
See reviews for
202
241
26
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Got a great deal through Clipper vacations. Hotel is a short walk from the ferry and close to the inner harbour. They held our bags for us until our room was ready, and again after we checked out until we needed to pick them up to catch the evening ferry. I found the room spacious quiet and comfortable. Nice breakfast buffet with eggs, meat, waffles, cereal and juice & coffee was handy if a bit pricey at $15. TV channels were limited and weirdly difficult to navigate. There are so many good restaurants, attractions and shopping within walking distance.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Wonderful to read of your very positive experience ... and the team looks forward to welcome you back on your next Clipper voyage ... as we certainly appreciate our Clipper partnership.
sincerely,
Kay Koot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The room rate seemed reasonable for off-season, but still not worth it.

The hotel is tired. We got a 1br suite as we had kids. The room looks like it was a throwback to the 1980s. The bathtub didn't drain very well, but the worst was the bedding - see pics. What's up with the blood stains on the pillow case? Then there was the something brown on the sheets. I used toilet paper to pick it up & flush it, but there was some staining left behind. Then the kids' sofabed's covers had holes, which wouldn't have been so bad, but that was the last straw.

We asked for the bedding to be changed, but they gave us a different suite instead. In the new suite, I couldn't turn on one of the lights in the bedroom because the knob was missing ... sigh :(

The room change was the right thing to do, but from a customer service stand point, they should have followed up. There wasn't even much of an apology other a "Sorry about that. We'll give a different room." Having said that, the lobby staff were friendly.

The bed however was very comfortable. The view from the relocated room (looking out into the inner harbour) was good. The complimentary breakfast at the restaurant was good.

Best to just spend your money elsewhere.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 8th floor or above with a view of the inner harbour - great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
I really do appreciate your comments, and am very sorry that we did not take the opportunity to address them while you were still with us. I can assure you that the situation you described regarding the bedding is not at all acceptable and our Housekeeping Manager is following up on it with our Laundry company and her Room Attendants. The Room Inspection Check List certainly includes elements such as ensuring that lamps can be turned on and bathtubs drain properly - and these must be reported to our Maintenance associates.
Happily you did appreciate the view of the Inner Harbour and our Buffet Breakfast, and found the bed to be comfortable. I do invite you to give the team the opportunity to redeem our reputation in your eyes, and return to stay with us should you return to Victoria.
sincerely,
Kay Koot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracebridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is a old and tired hotel, if the rooms wernt so clean I would rate it a 2 star with the old bedding, large tubular tv, and old carpets. The rooms were loud starting at 6am with doors slamming shut from the hallways, balcony was extremly small, our ocean view/harbour view room looked right into the hotel infront of it. Lobby and restaurant were nice although there was always a long line up to check in, check out and ask any questions :( Beds even though they are old are comfortable.

Room Tip: Try to find a quite floor near the end of the hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments, and although the age of the property is not something that we can change, we are working on other elements and a few of your comments are not really typical. All of the bedding has been changed and we will be installing the SilverBirch Hotels & Resorts television standard into the rooms, beginning this year on the top floors (this is a 42" flatscreen tv). Your stay must have coincided with a large group, to which I attribute the noise from early morning exits and line ups at the front desk. This is not at all typical, and I am sorry that you were inconvenienced.
i hope we might see you again at Harbour Towers.
best regards,
Kay Koot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckley
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel several times. It is only about a 5 minute walk from the Victoria Clipper Terminal and a comfortable walk to museum, parliament building, restaurants, shopping, etc. Staff is always friendly and helpful. Our room is always clean and the bed very comfortable. It is located in a very quiet area of Victoria so noisy night activity is not a problem. It is one of the most reasonably priced hotels in Victoria. We usually travel on the Victoria Clipper and because March is not the tourist season, our stay at Harbor Towers as part of the Clipper vacation package was very, very reasonably priced. Overall, it is not an elegant, pricey hotel, but a great place to stay. We will definitely stay there our next trip to Victoria, BC.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
We are very happy indeed to read such a positive review from one of our Clipper partner guests! You have named many of the features that we are proud of and look forward to saying "Welcome Back" on your next visit to Victoria.
best regards,
Kay Koot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Rooms were clean, and service was always helpful. The breakfast buffet at $15/person was standard buffet fare, but the fresh fruit was delicious, and the waitress was very courteous and attentive. We always came back to a clean room, and the location on the harbor's south side provided great walking access to the harbor and downtown while remaining on its quiet edge with a more neighborhood feel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thanks so much! You've identified all the positive elements that the team strives to continue to deliver. We look forward to welcoming you back to the James Bay neighbourhood!
best regards,
Kay Koot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here many times as the location is great, the room is always clean and comfortable, the staff is wonderful and it is a very quiet location for being in a city. We always stay in a 2 bedroom king suite to accommodate the 5 of us. This weekend was the first time we had a view of the harbour and it was a real treat. The suites have always been very spacious, the washrooms not but how much time do you spend in it. It is nice to have the full bath and the powderroom. We have had breakfast at Vic's most visits and did try the buffet this weekend it was ok not sure I would opt for it again the selection was very limited. What was offered was good but limited. When we first started to stay here the room rates were very reasonable and the parking was included. Since then the rates have gone up and parking is not included. The building does need a face lift and TLC as it is showing its age but it is still very clean and the location is wonderful. We will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for naming so many of the elements that we proudly market: great location, fabulous harbour views from clean and spacious rooms and wonderful staff. Please be assured that we do price ourselves within our competition and we look forward to welcoming you back.
best regards,
Kay Koot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Towers

Address: 345 Quebec Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Victoria
#21 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#21 Family Hotel in Victoria
#24 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Towers 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites we believe "It's the little things that make the difference". From our professional front desk personnel to our dedicated room attendants, our ultimate goal is to provide the impeccable service and extra little touches that will make your visit memorable. The Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites offers some of the most spacious and comfortably appointed accommodations in Victoria. Most of our rooms and suites have balconies and many display breathtaking views of the vibrant Inner Harbour or the majestic Olympic Mountains and the Strait of Juan de Fuca. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, you can rest assured that at Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites, your comfort is our primary concern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel, TravelClick and Tingo so you can book your Harbour Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Towers Hotel Victoria
Harbour Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.