We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near the Clipper” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Towers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour Towers to your Saves list
Harbour Towers
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   345 Quebec Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Near the Clipper”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Got a great deal through Clipper vacations. Hotel is a short walk from the ferry and close to the inner harbour. They held our bags for us until our room was ready, and again after we checked out until we needed to pick them up to catch the evening ferry. I found the room spacious quiet and comfortable. Nice breakfast buffet with eggs, meat, waffles, cereal and juice & coffee was handy if a bit pricey at $15. TV channels were limited and weirdly difficult to navigate. There are so many good restaurants, attractions and shopping within walking distance.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Wonderful to read of your very positive experience ... and the team looks forward to welcome you back on your next Clipper voyage ... as we certainly appreciate our Clipper partnership.
sincerely,
Kay Koot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    338
    123
    46
    31
See reviews for
247
294
34
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The room rate seemed reasonable for off-season, but still not worth it.

The hotel is tired. We got a 1br suite as we had kids. The room looks like it was a throwback to the 1980s. The bathtub didn't drain very well, but the worst was the bedding - see pics. What's up with the blood stains on the pillow case? Then there was the something brown on the sheets. I used toilet paper to pick it up & flush it, but there was some staining left behind. Then the kids' sofabed's covers had holes, which wouldn't have been so bad, but that was the last straw.

We asked for the bedding to be changed, but they gave us a different suite instead. In the new suite, I couldn't turn on one of the lights in the bedroom because the knob was missing ... sigh :(

The room change was the right thing to do, but from a customer service stand point, they should have followed up. There wasn't even much of an apology other a "Sorry about that. We'll give a different room." Having said that, the lobby staff were friendly.

The bed however was very comfortable. The view from the relocated room (looking out into the inner harbour) was good. The complimentary breakfast at the restaurant was good.

Best to just spend your money elsewhere.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 8th floor or above with a view of the inner harbour - great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
I really do appreciate your comments, and am very sorry that we did not take the opportunity to address them while you were still with us. I can assure you that the situation you described regarding the bedding is not at all acceptable and our Housekeeping Manager is following up on it with our Laundry company and her Room Attendants. The Room Inspection Check List certainly includes elements such as ensuring that lamps can be turned on and bathtubs drain properly - and these must be reported to our Maintenance associates.
Happily you did appreciate the view of the Inner Harbour and our Buffet Breakfast, and found the bed to be comfortable. I do invite you to give the team the opportunity to redeem our reputation in your eyes, and return to stay with us should you return to Victoria.
sincerely,
Kay Koot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracebridge, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is a old and tired hotel, if the rooms wernt so clean I would rate it a 2 star with the old bedding, large tubular tv, and old carpets. The rooms were loud starting at 6am with doors slamming shut from the hallways, balcony was extremly small, our ocean view/harbour view room looked right into the hotel infront of it. Lobby and restaurant were nice although there was always a long line up to check in, check out and ask any questions :( Beds even though they are old are comfortable.

Room Tip: Try to find a quite floor near the end of the hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments, and although the age of the property is not something that we can change, we are working on other elements and a few of your comments are not really typical. All of the bedding has been changed and we will be installing the SilverBirch Hotels & Resorts television standard into the rooms, beginning this year on the top floors (this is a 42" flatscreen tv). Your stay must have coincided with a large group, to which I attribute the noise from early morning exits and line ups at the front desk. This is not at all typical, and I am sorry that you were inconvenienced.
i hope we might see you again at Harbour Towers.
best regards,
Kay Koot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckley
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel several times. It is only about a 5 minute walk from the Victoria Clipper Terminal and a comfortable walk to museum, parliament building, restaurants, shopping, etc. Staff is always friendly and helpful. Our room is always clean and the bed very comfortable. It is located in a very quiet area of Victoria so noisy night activity is not a problem. It is one of the most reasonably priced hotels in Victoria. We usually travel on the Victoria Clipper and because March is not the tourist season, our stay at Harbor Towers as part of the Clipper vacation package was very, very reasonably priced. Overall, it is not an elegant, pricey hotel, but a great place to stay. We will definitely stay there our next trip to Victoria, BC.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
We are very happy indeed to read such a positive review from one of our Clipper partner guests! You have named many of the features that we are proud of and look forward to saying "Welcome Back" on your next visit to Victoria.
best regards,
Kay Koot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Rooms were clean, and service was always helpful. The breakfast buffet at $15/person was standard buffet fare, but the fresh fruit was delicious, and the waitress was very courteous and attentive. We always came back to a clean room, and the location on the harbor's south side provided great walking access to the harbor and downtown while remaining on its quiet edge with a more neighborhood feel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thanks so much! You've identified all the positive elements that the team strives to continue to deliver. We look forward to welcoming you back to the James Bay neighbourhood!
best regards,
Kay Koot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here many times as the location is great, the room is always clean and comfortable, the staff is wonderful and it is a very quiet location for being in a city. We always stay in a 2 bedroom king suite to accommodate the 5 of us. This weekend was the first time we had a view of the harbour and it was a real treat. The suites have always been very spacious, the washrooms not but how much time do you spend in it. It is nice to have the full bath and the powderroom. We have had breakfast at Vic's most visits and did try the buffet this weekend it was ok not sure I would opt for it again the selection was very limited. What was offered was good but limited. When we first started to stay here the room rates were very reasonable and the parking was included. Since then the rates have gone up and parking is not included. The building does need a face lift and TLC as it is showing its age but it is still very clean and the location is wonderful. We will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for naming so many of the elements that we proudly market: great location, fabulous harbour views from clean and spacious rooms and wonderful staff. Please be assured that we do price ourselves within our competition and we look forward to welcoming you back.
best regards,
Kay Koot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Harbour Towers was a fine place for our family of 5 to stay on our trip to Victoria, BC. The hotel is not super fancy, but what drew us here was the 1000 sq foot 2 bedroom suite. With 3 kids, it is often difficult to find enough room for all of us. The suite was the perfect size. We also enjoyed the free breakfast (I think we got that by booking online?). It was great to have something easy and good to fill us up before all of the walking we did. The kids loved the waffle maker, and I appreciated hot food every morning, something you can't get at every hotel.

As other reviewers have said, the internet is sketchy at times. I usually was able to get internet access, but at times it was really slow. The television selection was terrible!!! Not that we spent a ton of time watching tv, but when the kids were tired and we needed a little down time, 6 channels (not accurately defined on the guide) was frustrating. Especially, when we thought we were getting 40 channels.

The staff were helpful and friendly, room was cleaned each day early and thoroughly. Overall enjoyed our stay in Victoria, but may try a different hotel on our next trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay-gm, General Manager at Harbour Towers, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
I'm really pleased to read of your satisfaction with the size of the suite for your family. The Harbour Towers does actually have the largest number of suites of any hotel in Victoria! Also glad that the waffle-maker was a hit with the kids. I'm really sorry to read that the television in your suite only received 6 channels and I wonder whether you reported it, because I can personally attest that there are indeed 45 channels to choose from - and I can do so being an actual guest in the hotel before I move into my own home in Victoria. Please don't hesitate to ask that the Maintenance team checks this kind of thing on a future visit.
best regards,
Kay Koot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
#11 of 58 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 933 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inner Harbour
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#15 of 58 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Towers

Address: 345 Quebec Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Victoria
#19 Family Hotel in Victoria
#20 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#21 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Towers 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites we believe "It's the little things that make the difference". From our professional front desk personnel to our dedicated room attendants, our ultimate goal is to provide the impeccable service and extra little touches that will make your visit memorable. The Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites offers some of the most spacious and comfortably appointed accommodations in Victoria. Most of our rooms and suites have balconies and many display breathtaking views of the vibrant Inner Harbour or the majestic Olympic Mountains and the Strait of Juan de Fuca. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, you can rest assured that at Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites, your comfort is our primary concern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Harbour Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Towers Hotel Victoria
Harbour Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.