We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas party stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour Towers to your Saves list
Harbour Towers
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   345 Quebec Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
GreenLeadersSilver level
Moncton, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Xmas party stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had our Xmas party here and we had a very nice stay, We booked a 1 bedroom suite which was very spacious The balcony had a beautiful view of Victoria's inner harbour, The king bedroom was very nice. The kitchenette was a little dated but clean and functional but enabled us to entertain 10 or so friends after the dinner & dance finished. There is underground pay parking and vending machines on the 1st floor. The pool is not overly large and has a deep end.

Room Tip: We also attended a party in the penthouse. It has 2 floors and is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Popovich_RM, Manager at Harbour Towers, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear George M

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback and comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We are very fortunate to have suites that are spacious. Thanks again for your comments and we hope you have a great start to the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    304
    113
    46
    30
See reviews for
223
271
31
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I've stayed here a lot - mostly in two bedroom suites with 4 of my children. The hotel has been looking tired and outdated the last few years but its very clean and in a great location. This last stay (over New Years) will be my last due to some admittedly petty issues but when combined with the outdated look it made it not worth it. The problems - the coffee was for one person - who rents a two bedroom suite and only wants to make one cup of coffee at a time? Really annoying when I was trying to make breakfast for 6 people and I thought it was another sign of the downward trend of the hotel. The bathrooms in this unit were much smaller than in other suites I've rented in this same hotel - a real problem to only have one tub/shower when you have two teens with you. The restaurant isn't what it used to be = very limited and very expensive menu. Vic's Steakhouse used to be fabulous but not any more. All in all, it was a disappointment for what we had hoped would be a very special couple of days. Victoria has lots of hotels and we'll try others next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Popovich_RM, Manager at Harbour Towers, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback; I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments even though you did not enjoy your stay. We were surprised about your comments about our 2 bedroom suites as we generally hear good things about them. I do agree with you it would be annoying making one cup of coffee at a time if having a family of 6. I will bring up this concern with the team and see if we can get this changed. I do apologize for this inconvenience. Concerning Vic’s we are currently working on a new menu which should be launched in the near future. We are all very excited about it.

Thanks again for your comments and I do wish you give us another opportunity the next time you visit our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Rooms were clean and quiet, but older. I didn't try the shower, but couldn't get anything warmer than luke-warm water with the sink. Great location, near parliment and the beach, and safe, comfortable neighbourhood. Worked well, but nothing fancy.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Popovich_RM, Manager at Harbour Towers, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback; we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. Concerning the water issue, I do apologize for the water situation. I will be sure to let maintenance know about this concern. Thanks again for your comments and we wish you all the best in the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

we booked this hotel through pricesline.com here are the problems.

we are a couple with 2 young kids

when we got there, they asked $15 additional for parking which i have no problem but $35 additional for a choice of two beds in room, i argued with them.

the worst case happened for the breakfast.

NO body tell me there is a charge
no sign showing there is a charge
no menu showing the price
terrible food, we barely eat anything

guess what ? the guy send me a bill $52 for this terrible breakfast!!!!

PLEASE ASK BEFORE YOU TAKE BREAKFAST!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Popovich_RM, Manager at Harbour Towers, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear jswangcanada

Thank you very much for your feedback; I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments even though I was saddened to read of your disappointment with what was included with your room rate. When we receive a Priceline reservation we take the information they provide to us. I do apologize that you did not have a positive experience and for the lack of communication. I will let the team know about this situation. Thanks again for your comments.
We do wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My family and I just got back from a New Years weekend trip to Victoria. We booked the package through the Victoria Clipper and were very pleased. We had booked a 1 bedroom suite and were upgraded to a 2 bedroom one on the 7th floor with a view of the harbor. They said it was a partial view, but we thought it was a fine view. Very convenient to the Clipper dock, waterfront, etc. It was very easy to walk to everything we wanted to see and do.
The staff was very helpful and friendly. The only complaint is you can hear people in the hallway and also street noises, but it wasn't really a problem.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Popovich_RM, Manager at Harbour Towers, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear CaroD1961

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback and comments. We were excited to hear you had a great weekend trip. We are very fortunate to have a great relationship with the Victoria Clipper. We do think we make an excellent pair. Thanks again for your feedback and have a great start to your year. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

An excellent choice for a relaxing short stay getaway in an excellent location. Easy to locate, free parking, no frills, but rooms well equipped. We are seniors, living in Parksville, and this was perfect for us. We were able to enjoy the great view, walk to everything, the Museum, The Empress, The James Bay Tearoom, and along the waterfront path. The beds were comfortable, and the room was clean. We will definitely return. Next time would watch for a special offer, so could enjoy the amenities offered in a one bedroom suite facing the harbour. This time we were in a one room, and altho' it was spacious had only one comfortable chair for taking in the view.

Room Tip: We stayed in a one room, but had a peak at the one bedroom suite, and wished we had chosen that, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Popovich_RM, Manager at Harbour Towers, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback; we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. We were glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Victoria. We are lucky to be so close to many things to do in Victoria. We do hope you come see us again soon. A little tip for you, check out our web special, includes buffet breakfast. Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We recently stayed at the Harbour Towers, just down the street from the parliament buildings. It was a great city-centre location, and the two bedroom suite was fantastic for a family of five. While it isn't luxury accommodations, we traded that for space for our two-day stay. The rooms were clean, and view of the harbour comes automatically with a suite.

Unfortunately, the hot tub was closed but the pool was fine for the kids. Windows also howl in the wind, so we were woken up a few times... part of the price of an older building. The hotel could use a renovation, but if that comes at the expense of room rates, I say hold off.

Room Tip: I suspect the higher you are the better the view, but also the windier, resulting in rattling window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Popovich_RM, Manager at Harbour Towers, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback and comments. We were glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in our 2 bedroom suite. We are lucky to have this room type. Like you said they are great for a family as they provide additional space. I do apologize for the rattling of the window keeping you up. With being an older building this is one of the challenges we have. Our maintenance team does try their best to avoid this situation from happening. I will let them know of this situation. Thanks again for your feedback and we do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Towers

Address: 345 Quebec Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Victoria
#19 Family Hotel in Victoria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#20 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Towers 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites we believe "It's the little things that make the difference". From our professional front desk personnel to our dedicated room attendants, our ultimate goal is to provide the impeccable service and extra little touches that will make your visit memorable. The Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites offers some of the most spacious and comfortably appointed accommodations in Victoria. Most of our rooms and suites have balconies and many display breathtaking views of the vibrant Inner Harbour or the majestic Olympic Mountains and the Strait of Juan de Fuca. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, you can rest assured that at Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites, your comfort is our primary concern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbour Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Towers Hotel Victoria
Harbour Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.