We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“uncomfortable beds” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Inn to your Saves list
Embassy Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   520 Menzies Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2H4, Canada (James Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Hot Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Hamburg
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“uncomfortable beds”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2006

The location of the hotel is great. The room itself is ok, we had a room with a kitchen which was surprising (didn't need it because we only stayed one night). I did not like the beds and didn't sleep very well because I could feel every spring in the mattress. The furniture also looks rather old, the sheets had some wholes in it. I would not recommend this hotel, I am sure there are better hotels for the price (129 CAD).

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — quality/price, beds
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    120
    32
    12
    5
See reviews for
68
113
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2006

The Embassy Inn is indeed a Best Buy in Victoria. The rates are extremely reasonable, and I can't imagine a better location. Despite being a block or less from Parliament, the Museum, Thunderbird Park and the Habor, it is very quiet and relaxing. We stayed in the newer part of the hote, and the suites were very nice and large. The staff was helpful when we had a family emergency, and equally adept at helping tourists new to their city. This is not a luxurious accommodation, but it is much better than basic.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2005

My husband and I took a Ghost Tour of Victoria and were booked into the Embassy Inn for the Tour. What a pleasant surprise! Although the hotel is older and the rooms small, the staff goes out of their way to make hotel guests feel very welcome. The restaurant had great food and the Sunday Brunch was every bit as good as the larger hotels. When a one day transit strike threatened to ruin our plans to visit Butchart Gardens, the nice people at the reception desk went out of their way to find a tour bus that could take us to Butchart and bring us back. I would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a quieter stay in Victoria. The location is perfect - just one block from the harbor, and next to the Parliment building.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
356 helpful votes 356 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2005

My wife and I stayed at this place for 1 night in July and our experience was largely pleasant. The Inn is in a central location close to all the major museums and right next to the Parliament buildings. The accomodations were clean and the front desk staff helpful. Rooms are small, but not a big deal considering the location. We stayed in the new building and I'm not sure how the accomodations are in the old building. Our only gripe was that there was no steam iron in the room and were asked to use the one in the laundry room on the 1st floor. Would definitely stay here again though.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2004

we travelled in west Canada with a tour company and although all the hotels were supposed to be similar we felt this one to be far superior than the rest. We actually had two queen beds instead of one double and still plenty of room to spare. Ate dinner in the restaurant, food was very good with first class service. Central location but far enough not to be noisy. Would have liked to stay there longer

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2004

Reserved 2 rooms online, viewed pictures and they were very misleading. Our rooms were very small, the furniture and the linens were shabby. The bed was extremely hard. We would not stay there again. We paid $150 per nite. If we could of found other rooms we would of. Thank You, Sharon

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2004

My family and I frequently stay here for Thanksgiving. The room we rent is a large suite with a full kitchen, bedroom with two beds, large living room, and wonderful view of the Parliament building. It is only one block from the harbor, and is within walking distance to the Royal BC Museum and the European style downtown area. The value is great in the fall/winter. The staff is very friendly as well.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Inn

Address: 520 Menzies Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Victoria
#21 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.