We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Inn to your Saves list
Embassy Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   520 Menzies Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2H4, Canada (James Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Hot Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Located about a block from the waterfront and just near the Parliament building. Easy walking distance to everything. We had booked a room with two queen beds for my son and myself. Hotel is in beautiful condition - I actually asked if it had been recently refurbished and was told 'no', although new beds and linen were installed earlier this year. Spotlessly clean, best shower, fridge in room and a wonderful cooked breakfast. We've stayed in 9 hotels in Canada in the last 12 days and this was by far the best for comfort, cleanliness, shower and breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for the recent review of your stay with us. I am happy you were pleased with our location. We are close to just about everything Victoria has to offer. I am pleased as well that you found your room clean, comfortable and functional. And yes, we do provide a free hot breakfast to all guests. We hope to be able to accommodate you again on a future trip to Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    134
    33
    12
    5
See reviews for
71
129
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We travelled to Victory for sight seeing and we stayed in the hotel for one day. The location is great. It's not water front but almost. The room is plain but I won't complain since it serves the purpose and the price is reasonable comparing with others. The front desk is friendly and helpful. We lost our voucher for the breakfast and they re-issued one for us very quickly. The included breakfast isn't bad at all. There are 2 choices, buffet or order your own. I couldn't order my own because they're very busy to serve a large group at that time.

In short, I recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for the review of your recent stay in Sunny Victoria. We are pleased you found the location and price met your expectations and am glad the staff looked after your needs. We look forward to your return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed here for the Victoria marathon and found it perfect for what we needed. Not only was it right at the start line but they had set up a "runners-table" with water bottles and maps and pace charts and running quotes. I realize most people will be staying here at other times of the year but I just really appreciated the extra touches that were added in. Regardless, it is in a perfect location for anyone wanting to stay downtown.

The beds were quite comfortable and the room was clean and quiet.

Breakfast is included and you can either choose the buffet (hot but basic) or order off the menu.

The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope your marathon was a PB, (Personal Best for those non runners out there). We enjoy looking after everyone who stays with us and if we can find something just a little more special such a free, all you can drink water for the runners attending the annual Victoria Marathon, we will do what we can. The additional maps and pace charts were well received. We look forward to your return visit for another road race!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, BC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Centrally located adjacent to the Legislature Building and one short block from the Harbour, this was an ideal location. The room was a good size and the free internet and breakfast each day were welcome value adds. The hotel was clean with staff who actually created their own favourite places to eat list which categorized by types of restaurants - this was very helpful. The staff were very responsive to requests for assistance and had a thorough knowledge of their town and how to get around. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review. I will be sure to pass on your comments about the staff. We do have a great group of people that are eager to make sure guests enjoy their stay with us and in Victoria. We look forward to serving you again on a future trip to Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed here in June 2013. The hotel was fine and in a good location. Just a five or ten minute walk from the bus station and whale watching tours. The free breakfast was a very welcome bonus, although it would have been good to have one or two healthier options. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. I will be sure to speak with our Chef about adding some additional healthy items to the free hot breakfast. And yes, we are located very close to everything Victoria has to offer. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Suggest paying the extra ~$10 per day to stay in the Tower (newer) side. We stayed in the Harbourview side and although the room was very clean/neat/tidy there was an "old" smell in the room and some of the fixtures made it obvious as well that this was older. The bathroom and small kitchen were giveaways as well as they weren't as well maintained as the rest of the room. It certainly did the job but we went out of our way not to spend extra time in the room given that we just weren't comfortable there. TV reception was horrible -- the worst TV in any hotel we can recall. Location, free parking, and breakfast included in the price made it quite economical. I would stay in this hotel again only if I were on the newer side.

Room Tip: Book the tower rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you to the writer for the review of your recent stay with us. I truly apologize for our shortcomings. The Embassy Inn has 2 buildings. The Tower, (3 diamond level) and the Harbour Wing, (2 diamond Level). Both are priced according to their respective amenities however, it does not excuse bad TV reception and other items. Please know that we will address these right away. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I chose to book into the Embassy Inn because it was where my cousin was staying on his trip to B.C. Rather than dash down and back I decided to take it easy for a change. I was surprised at how reasonable the room rate was if booked online which I usually do anyhow. What really impressed me was how helpful the staff was at all times. They even opened up the lounge early so I could have a rum & coke. Rooms were plush and I loved the above ground parking which enabled me to do a visual check on my car occasionally. Thanks to all the staff for making me feel special.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks to the writer for the review of our hotel. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to all the staff. We have a great team here at the Embassy In that are committed to ensuring our guests enjoy their stay. We look forward to being of service again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Inn

Address: 520 Menzies Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Victoria
#20 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and EasyToBook so you can book your Embassy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.