We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Inn to your Saves list
Embassy Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   520 Menzies Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2H4, Canada (James Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Hot Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Toronto
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great value for the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We opted for this hotel which was the most affordable of the options in the harbour area, and were not disappointed. We had forgotten that a buffet breakfast was included so that was a nice plus. The buffet has all the basics you will need--no thrills but it does the trick. The room we got was very big and was more like a small apartment with its own kitchenette. It did face the pool so in order to have privacy we had to keep the blinds down. Although the hotel advertised free wi-fi in the rooms we did not have any wi-fi reception in the two days we stayed. This was the only disappointing aspect of our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. Yes, all guests do receive a free hot buffet style breakfast. We are always adding items based on customer feedback. Please don't be surprised if there are more items the next time around. I'll be sure to check our wifi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    120
    32
    12
    5
See reviews for
68
113
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nakskov, Denmark
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The room was big, nice and clean and was facing the harbor side. But even though it was on the third floor, you still could not see neither harbor nor boats. But a few minutes walk takes you down to where it all happens in Victoria.
The rate is very fair for what you actually get in terms of cleanliness and location. Beds as well as bed linen were of superb quality.
Breakfast was included, but the variety was rather limited. Juice as well as other supplements could be bought in addition, but it was rather confusing what was already included and what was not.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the top floor, then you have a chance of some kind of view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear you found our new beds and bedding to be a good quality. As for the juice at breakfast, it is included. I will be sure that the serving staff are made aware there as some confusion. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

What's to fault with this hotel? Perfect location, great value, high standards of cleanliness, free full breakfast, friendly and helpful staff and a heated swimming pool to boot. Need I say more? Oh, faultless Wi-fi, non-smoking throughout, free parking on the premises.
My worry is that one day soon the groovy old motel-style wing and swimming pool will be bulldozed and replaced with a concrete tower. Someone, please, tell me this won't happen.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thanks to the writer for the review of your recent stay with us. Yes, our location is very convenient being close to all Victoria has to offer. The free breakfast, wifi and parking are a hit with many guests looking for value in their hotel stay. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to our staff. We look forward to you visiting our beautiful city again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

They accommodated our Gluten Free needs at the buffet which was included in price. Had nice room in Tower with a little balcony - nice surprise. Excellent location for walking to harbour and downtown; bonus of frer parking topped it all off.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. Yes, all 70 guest rooms in our Tower building have a balcony. Our one bedroom suites have two! Our new chef is very sensitive to the needs of our guests and is happy to provide many options for all. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We came on Victoria Clipper and had a 1 nice booking at this hotel. We found it very convenient to the port and downtown and museums. Our check in was very efficient although our poor guy was multi tasking. The room was clean, comfortable beds, and air conditioned...we were in tower 2. We had a complimentary hot breakfast in a very pleasant room, with the chef constantly checking on the buffet. The food was good with selections of scramble egg, bacon/sausage, potato, cereal, watermelon, and toast. Only drawback, the only time we saw our server is when she seated us, we had to flag down someone for coffee/tea and just went up to the buffet line, not getting a chance to order off the menu, and then saw the server again when we got our bill.
Other than this we enjoyed our stay here

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for the review of our hotel. We are pleased to be working with the good folks at the Clipper that provide ferry transportation from downtown Seattle to downtown Victoria. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will speak with our serving staff at breakfast thou. They should have provided a better level of service.
We look forward to serving you again on a future trip to Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Great place to be, very near all the things we wanted to see and right next door to the parliament building, which has a very interesting free tour. That's next to the museum which is really good well worth a visit.

The suite was clean comfortable and well furnished and equipped. Being a corner room we had three balconies.

Victoria is a beautiful city which can easily be explored on foot. We were in the tower building so the view towards the harbour was nice if you ignore the top of the hotels other building directly in front. The large double beds in the bedroom don't leave you much room to get to the wardrobe.

Kitchen area was great very useful if you want to prepare a snack for yourself. Laundry room also very handy and not costly.

Breakfast which was included in our package was good food nicely cooked not a huge selection but there was different fruit and pastries provided each day, so more than adequate.

Bring your own mugs if you don't like thick glass ones.

We had dinner there our first night good value freshly prepared and very tasty.

Friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for the detailed review of your recent stay with us. We are located close to all Victoria has to offer. And our free hot breakfast has been well received by our guests. We are currently offering a discount for hotel guests as well for dinner as we recently reopened for dinner. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Have been staying here since 1998 and have always experienced great service from the staff (especially Ron at the front desk) but the place needed inprovements. The new up-grades are just what the place needed. The breakfast is good, the new beds superior and heavenly water pressure!
It is the only place to stay when in Victoria.
Sharyn and BFFs

Room Tip: We always stay in the corner suite #413 - two small balconies and view of Parliament.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you found the new beds, bedding and free hot breakfast to be an added plus for guests. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to Ron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Inn

Address: 520 Menzies Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Victoria
#20 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.