We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gem of Victoria BC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rialto to your Saves list
Hotel Rialto
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Parkes, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Gem of Victoria BC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

What a great find this little boutique hotel turned out to be. Wonderfully appointed room. Very plush and comfy bed. Great Service. Really great service. Couldnt be more helpful. And close enough to walk downtown every night for dinner and see the sights. Really a wonderful Hotel. Easy, and inexpensive breaky in the mornings watching the world go by.

Room Tip: The rooms towards the back are probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Mrs W,

Really appreciate your kind comments about our hotel. Thank you for taking a moment to share with others.

Sincerely,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    271
    44
    15
    7
See reviews for
146
497
62
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I was recently in Victoria for one night to celebrate my best friend's bachelorette party. My friend and I booked a double queen suite at Hotel Rialto since it was perfectly located in the heart of downtown Victoria and walking distance to all of the nightlife.

Check-in was quick and easy and the front desk staff was very friendly and accomodating to us. I know some hotels would feel nervous about a bachelorette party gathering in one of their rooms, but the two front desk clerks were excited to hear about our plans and offer us any assistance that we needed. Upon arriving to our room, we were pleasantly surprised with the beautiful decor and the cleanliness of the room. The room was also very spacious and was perfect for accommodating the five girls that we had for the party. The front desk also went out of their way to bring up extra champagne glasses as we mentioned that extra people would be joining us to toast the bride.

While we didn't spend too much time in the hotel as we had lots of partying to do, my friend and I both had a great night's sleep in the comfortable beds. Also, we were treated a complimentary beverage and pastry from the cafe downstairs, which was a nice touch.

Overall, this is an excellent choice for anyone looking to stay in downtown Victoria. They really haven't missed anything, and it is a good value for what you pay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Happy to hear your event was a success and thank you for sharing.

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The hotel is modern, zen, spotless clean.Staff was very friendly.We were really impressed with the restaurant.Food and drinks were incredible.The cheese tray and complimentary breakfast was a very nice touch.The half price tapas before 6p.m. were amazing!Minutes from waterfront. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to our friends.Thank you Rialto!

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor,but I think all the rooms are equally great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
You're very welcome and thank you for staying with us. Happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We just spent 4 days at the Rialto hotel to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and had a wonderful stay. The hotel has a very European feel. Our room was lovely and I loved the heated bathroom floor. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We had breakfast there every morning and it was very good as was the food at the tapas restaurant in the hotel. We would definitely stay there again if we are ever lucky enough to visit Victoria again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Happy Anniversary! 25 years, thats wonderful, so glad you chose to make us a part of the event. If we don't see you sooner, you must make us the destination for the next 25 year celebration ;)

Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. The room was spotless, had a great view, was blocks from the waterfront, and hotel staff was friendly and helpful. We had the king junior suite and it was so nice to have the extra room. The hotel has a modern, boutique style and a friendly atmosphere. We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Really appreciate you taking the time to help spread the word about our little property, it means a great deal to us.

Come back and visit soon.

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

A warm welcome and a lovely room made this a perfect stop for us. The hotel staff were very welcoming and helpful. The cheese tray was a nice touch. We also enjoyed the half price appies (though you have to get there in time!) and watching the bartender create drinks. Our room was small, but more than adequate for a one night stay. It was clean and tasteful. We booked through hotels.com at a discount rate which may be why our room looked out at a cement wall of windows and was close to the elevator. We were concerned that it may be noisy, but it was very quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for nice review of our hotel. Our 100 year old architecture offers some unique qualities and one of them is rooms that face a light well. While these rooms are a little smaller, (and lets be honest...view challenged) they are whisper quiet. Ah the silver lining ;)

I just wanted to thank you for your comments but also assure you that our rooms are assigned based on availability and not rate paid. We fill the hotel from best rooms down (but of course try to fulfill requests when made at the time of booking) So our smaller rooms are just the last to go generally.

We hope you come back soon and of course feel free to request a room on the outside of the hotel for some great city views.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The Hotel Rialto is a perfect hotel for your family vacation. The front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurant's food was delicious and the waitstaff was very attentive. The rooms were large, modern and comfortable. Free wi-fi was a plus. It is not right next to the Ferry but the walk was manageable even with suitcases.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Happy to hear you were pleased with your stay. Thank you for taking the time to let others know about us.

Hope to see you again soon...
Go Red Soxs.

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 58 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,556 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 58 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 stars 720 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#9 of 58 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 58 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,431 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#16 of 58 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 stars 2,472 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 58 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 stars 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rialto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.