We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rialto

Save Saved
You added Hotel Rialto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Comp Cheese Plate!
Ranked #4 of 57 hotels in Victoria
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The staff were very welcoming on arrival and we loved the voucher for the cheese tasting plate and the breakfast vouchers too - a great idea.
The room was modern, spacious, light and had good facilties.
We ate in the rstaurant one night - to use the cheese tasting voucher and it was lovely having a selection of small plates of good food.
It was easy to walk to all the attractions and i would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Recently updated so all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    446
    174
    21
    11
    5
See reviews for
80
339
45
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had not intended on staying another night in Victoria, but as it was pouring rain and didn't want to ferry back we decided to find a hotel. We just happened upon the Rialto, walked in and were given a great room with a soaking tub, yummy cheese plate at a decent rate. The aesthetics are lovely, with upscale furnishings and a great lounge. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I recently celebrated our 5th anniversary in Victoria and we decided on the Hotel Rialto after reading the reviews here on Tripadvisor. It was a wonderful, romantic experience -- perfect for our anniversary! We booked a king suite which was a great deal -- it was spacious with beautiful furnishings, super comfortable bed and we loved the heated bathroom floors. The staff was very helpful with any questions we had and the location was excellent. The whole experience was like a little mini-luxury retreat in a beautiful European city but much closer to home (Seattle)! We highly recommend it!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

What a delightful find. The remodel has resulted in a classy, sleek property whose owner has forgotten nothing. Even the bathrobes are exceptional. We enjoyed the double queen room which had a spacious bath, fabulous toiletries, comfy beds, plenty of plugs for all the gadgets, a mini microwave, fridge (and not filled with minibar crap), coffee and plenty of surfaces for suitcases and all the other stuff we haul around while traveling. Would definitely stay here again. Only thing is that street frontage does bring some amount of noise but not enough to interfere with sleep. Good location for walking nearly everywhere.

Room Tip: This is only a four story building so perhaps a room that doesn't face the street would be quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights recently on a short weekend trip to Victoria from Seattle. The hotel is away from the main hotel areas that are closer to the inner harbor, but still within easy walking distance from the Coho and Victoria Clipper ferry port. We liked its location because it felt less touristy and a little off the beaten path. Plenty of shopping and restaurants within a short walk or (if its raining) cabs are quick and cheap.

We stayed in room 403, which we were told by 2 staff members is their favorite. Its a corner room so you have a very good city view from 2 sides. The room was clean and bright. It featured a large king bed that was very comfortable. The only complaint, as others have noted, is the street noise. During the day it can be very loud, but we did not have a problem getting to sleep. We were awoken on one of the nights to a large contingent walking by on the sidewalk below screaming the Canadian National Anthem! If you are a light sleeper, buyer beware.

We enjoyed breakfast all 3 days at the Cafe Veneto restaurant. Excellent coffee, pastries and breakfast specials. For dinner make sure you check out the Veneto Tapa Lounge. It was one of our favorite dinners during our stay. Amazing cocktails! We split the hamburger which was cooked perfectly - probably one of the best burgers we've had. We also tried the artisan mixed green salad with a cheese plate. Everything tasted amazing and we were still talking about it the next morning.

Overall, very pleased with the hotel - great rooms, great food, great service - what more can you ask for!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

A return visit to the Rialto and it didn't disappoint. Great boutique hotel. Great for anyone who wants to try something other than one of the large hotel chains. Excellent in every way! Great service, friendly staff, very clean and comfortable environment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is really a gem in otherwise quite expensive Victoria. It is such a great summer city and there are so many vistors strolling downtown. This hotel is within easy walking distance to the harbour, the Royal Museum, the shopping streets etc. Victoria has many older hotels. This hotel is modern and clean. Fairly small rooms, but plenty of space still. The breakfast room is very nice and you can also get a great espresso there. For evening meals is the adjoining restaurant. I have stayed in Victoria many times, but find that this hotel is really nice and affordable and small enough for the boutique feeling. And the staff are extremely nice, helpful and accomodating. Thanks everyone for helping with luggage, bookings to venues etc.

Room Tip: We were advised to ask for an inside room, as the hotel fronts the busy Douglas Street and the outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 57 hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rialto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.