We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rialto to your Saves list
Hotel Rialto
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free Upgrade!!!
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Franktown, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“LOVELY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed overnight at the Rialto in Victoria on our way to Tofino and what a delightful surprise. Its a small boutique hotel with a very large presence! The rooms are comfortable and spacious. The front desk staff are very cordial and professional. The hotel restaurant is TO DIE FOR! We were very travel weary so we just went downstairs for a bite. Just amazing food and service.

I will absolutely recommend this hotel and restaurant to all of my friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    213
    32
    12
    6
See reviews for
102
399
52
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
535 reviews 535 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
262 helpful votes 262 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This really is a great hotel... fabulous contemporary rooms with beautifully appointed bathrooms...

The staff are helpful and friendly and we really enjoyed our 1 night stay here, but were glad it was just a single night as we are light sleepers and the location is noisy (road noise and late night reveler noise!).

The hotel provides earplugs, but you need better ones (get the wax ones from a pharmacy) if you are a light sleeper... once we'd put in decent earplugs we slept fine :-)

Apart from the noise, this is a great hotel and we'd certainly recommend and would come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

You remember the 1980's and 1990's, when "boutique" hotels first appeared? They were a little small and quirky, had limited (but personal, smart, and caring) service, and were often in engaging, but not-quite-prime locations. They featured stylish design. Above all, they were about quality over quantity, and richness of experience.

In the U.S., the boutique hotel has been co-opted by the national chains, and/or moved to absolute top price points. We now have, oxymoronically, boutique chains. Quirkiness, hip design, and personal service have become standardized to corporate norms, and the current economic model largely blackballs the creation of any new actual boutique hotels.

The Rialto in Victoria is a fairly new hotel that is a throwback to the original boutique hotel. Perhaps this is possible because of differences in the Canadian economy, I can't say, but for me it was a welcome throwback.

An example: The breakfast voucher--good for a free pastry and coffee, or for $3 off a served breakfast--initially seemed a little cheap to me, but then I went the the gorgeous restaurant, with real silverware, linens, and table service. I ordered the granola, berries, and yogurt plus an espresso. All were flawless, and my bill ($3 off) was only about $3.50. If you treasure the big breakfast buffet that comes at no additional expense at many chain hotels, maybe this will seem expensive and unfulfilling, but for me it was perfect: quality over quantity.

The location is a couple blocks west and north of the main tourist center of Victoria. Initially, I thought, "A-ha! That explains the great price!" But it turns out that the immediate area, with the urban bustle of mostly locals, was interesting; and the pretty tourist center around the harbor only a couple blocks' extra to walk.

The room was on the small side, but with thoughtful built-ins that allowed it to function beautifully. In the basement meeting space lobby, there is an interesting little display about the hotel's past, as a Chinese-Canadian owned and operated hotel. One of the egress stairs discharges you into the restaurant--the kind of weird, charming thing you'd find in Europe. I loved everthing about it. My experience was rich, even though the hotel is small and the price of the room was very reasonable.

Room Tip: Our room faced into a courtyard/light well. No view, but it was quiet and dark, which suited us aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were surprised by the excellent service and assistance the front desk gave us in all matters we needed. They even refrigerated our salmon catch from our fishing trip to Campbell River the previous days.

Food was excellent, rooms were top quality and very clean. They are situated downtown next to City Hall.

We will definitely be staying at the Rialto every time we visit Victoria in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We were delighted with both the quality of the hotel accommodation that the Rialto provided and the price that we paid. Indeed, probably the best value hotel that we found in two weeks touring the North West. The rooms are comfortable and extremely well maintained. We were given vouchers for breakfast on our first morning at the really pleasant hotel cafe.

We took advantage of the secure parking offered by the hotel. There are cheaper options but, at $15 a day, it still represents a very good deal. Finally, I should add to the praises of Michael, the concierge. Both in advance of and during our visit Michael provided great advance. All of his recommendations were spot on.

A great hotel that provides real value for money. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Sure the noise from the street can be a little boisterous, but the AC will drown that out. The rooms are crisply modern. The beds are comfortable. And the green policy (when staying multiple nights) is a great deal. Give housekeeping a pass and get $10 off in the restaurant. You should head down to the restaurant anyways. It's delicious.

Great service as well - the staff work hard to make you feel at home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Fabulous boutique hotel in downtown Victoria, Well appointed compact rooms and great location. The service is outstanding!!! Try Veneto -delicious tapas especially the Old School Meatballs and Sezchuan Green Beans. Good wine selction

Room Tip: our room would be considered small by some hotel standards but you do not come to Victoria to be in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rialto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.