We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of NYC Soho in Victoria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rialto to your Saves list
Hotel Rialto
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free Upgrade!!!
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A bit of NYC Soho in Victoria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Fabulous boutique hotel in downtown Victoria, Well appointed compact rooms and great location. The service is outstanding!!! Try Veneto -delicious tapas especially the Old School Meatballs and Sezchuan Green Beans. Good wine selction

Room Tip: our room would be considered small by some hotel standards but you do not come to Victoria to be in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    212
    32
    12
    6
See reviews for
101
398
52
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yardley, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife I recently spent 2 nights at the Hotel Rialto. It is located on the edge of the tourist area, so we actually liked the area. (Also near Chinatown). We only had one problem....the Queen Deluxe room. I'm not kidding when I say that the room is 10x10. We literally couldn't walk around the room without bumping into each other. I would recommend the hotel, but not the Queen Deluxe. Order the larger rooms. The hotel was very clean, and the bathroom has been redone recently.The food was great too. All in all, a good value.

Room Tip: Again, stay away from the Queen Deluxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Hotel Rialto is a real jewel! The hotel has been beautifully updated and is impeccably clean. The lounge, award winning bartenders, knowledgeable staff and snacks are wonderful. Hotel staff are polite and very helpful. We had trouble figuring out how to get from Victoria to our next destination on the ferries and the staff went above and beyond to help us work out our route. The hotel location was very convenient; we walked everywhere from the hotel. We were traveling with another couple and it was everyone's favorite hotel on our 10 day vacation! We have and will continue to recommend it to everyone we know traveling to Victoria and even suggest it as a destination.

Room Tip: We loved the second floor; it was very quite and we could use the stairs to the lobby instead of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was a great hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was great as it is close to a lot to walk to. Our room was very clean and very updated and nice. We highly recommend staying here. Michael at the front desk is very friendly and helpful with restaurant suggestions. Loved the idea of going green and giving you $10 credit at the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow,UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We arrived from Seattle on morning ferry and although rooms were not ready Michael at front desk very friendly and welcoming. Went for lunch in Chinatown which is right next to hotel and returned in couple of hours when room was ready earlier than stated time.

Room fantastic great king size bed - very comfortable, with great tv, fridge , microwave and seating area. Hotel overall impresses with small but functional and well run reception and fantastic bar and restaurant which run into each other and have a great atmosphere. Michael advised about breakfast and gave us vouchers for each day of our stay, breakfast was not included in our rate but a coffee and a pastry are complimentary or alternatively the voucher can be used to offset the breakfast cost by $3. Each morning we were there we had a coffee and a muffin - muffins massive and were enough for us for a breakfast but cooked breakfasts looked and smelled great.

The hotel has a great "green" policy whereby if you elect not to have your room cleaned each day they will knock $10 per day off your final bill, thought this was very innovative and much better than the usual notice about not leaving your towels on the floor, although accepting it won't suit everyone we thought it was an excellent concept and one we used. Good toiletries and bathrooms and we had asked for a "quiet room" and we were given one -great.

Ken behind the bar is very welcoming and very capable, he made my wife a non alcoholic cocktail specifically to her tastes and his local knowledge of beers etc is very good. He's always smiling and openly helpful and also good at recommending other bars although we tended to stick to the hotel as it has a great atmosphere gets busy, especially at the weekends.

We found the restaurant to be very good and the welcoming complimentary cheese plate is well worth sampling - we paid for one the following night and enjoyed it even more, our waitress Lee-anne was fantastic and couldn't be more helpful.

Great location and can walk down to the Empress Hotel in about 10 minutes, theres a 7/11 store more or less across the road for goodies and many of the tourist tours can be booked direct from the hotel, great place and would recommend highly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel felt quite luxurious with its recent updating and great downtown location. Room was well appointed and spacious. Modern decor without being stark and comfortable bed. Soaking tub for two was nice touch. Great attentive service front desk staff.
Coupons provided by front desk for Veneto lounge and cafe were nice extras and we enjoyed meals at cafe for breakfast and tapas bar for dinner (wondrous food!).
Parking is a block off site but gated and locked with key fob in/out access. Would have been cheaper to park on street though as Victoria parking is free from 6pm to 9am and one can pay for AM parking the night before from street machines - didn't quite understand all that until later - but the ease and availability of hotel parking was nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Lovely boutique hotel in gorgeous Victoria. We were given a complimentary upgrade to a junior suite which was beautifully decorated and very well equipped. Staff at the hotel were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rialto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.